We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect romantic getaway!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The White Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hilton, Cambridgeshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

lana1803
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Perfect romantic getaway!”
Reviewed 20 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We stayed in this quaint little accommodation in November 2013. It was our 1 year wedding anniversary and we decided to go to Cambridge for a weekend, simply because it was only a one hour drive away and we didn't want to waste most of our weekend travelling. We cane across the 'White Barn' on holidaylettings.co.uk and got in touch with the owner Claire. She was extremely helpful and answered any questions we had so we decided to book. The barn is situated right next to their home but is completely detached. It looks very small from the outside but once you go inside it's all you could ever need in a compact space. It's not cramped at all and we were amazed with the facilities provided. There is a very cosy kitchen/dining/living area. A seperate bedroom with an en-suite bathroom with bath and shower. It was like being home from home, there's even a washer/dryer in the bathroom. They have provided a hair dryer, essential toiletries and we even found a vacuum cleaner. We stayed for 3 nights and couldn't have been happier. We went to the local Chinese restaurant on the same road,it was a little more expensive than what we usually pay but thoroughly enjoyable. We went into the town centre for a bit of shopping on the Saturday and went punting on the river on Sunday,followed by afternoon tea at the museum (which was lovely and included in the punting package). There is so much to see and do in and around Cambridge but our intention was just to relax so we cooked and stayed indoors one evening which was lovely. The barn is very warm (not at first)as it's not a large space it warms up very quickly.
Highly recommend this property for a relaxing break or an activity packed sight seeing break.
I would suggest travelling by car if you want to go out and see the local area, as it is a fair way into Cambridge. There is a pub walking distance away and a convenience store just along the road.
Whatever your intention we would definitely recommend the White Barn.

Date of stay: November 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Nov 2013
I'm so glad you had such a lovely stay. Thanks for a great review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah E
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great warm holiday home”
Reviewed 19 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We had wonderful weekend break at the White Barn. Such a beautiful, bright and warmly decorated flat with lots of natural light. I loved the fact that the barn is completely self-contained which made it very tranquil and private - even the lovely patio space is completely separate from the Walsh's garden. Claire (the helpful, but non intrusive owner) showed a lot of attention to detail and the flat was immaculate and well stocked. We came by car and enjoyed the remote village location as a contrast to our hectic London lives. However, I didn't see much in the way of local shops/restaurants, so if you don't have your own transport, that could potentially pose a problem. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely come back.

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail and peaceful environment
Liked least: Location by the main road of the village (but very quiet)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2013
We're really glad you enjoyed your stay. There is a post office-shop in the village and small pub, but your right that a car is essential for reaching the excellent restaurants and pubs in surrounding villages.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesleymay...
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“simply excellent - but vehicle is essential”
Reviewed 8 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Absolutely superb, welcoming yet not intrusive owner Claire on hand if needed, everything provided for a short or longer stay, have already rebooked for 2 more breaks next year and would recommend without any reservation at all.

Good food at The Poacher in Elsworth (approx 3 miles away)

Vehicle is essential for this let, only found one shop and a pub that doesn't appear to do evening food in Hilton village itself.

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2013
Thanks for a great review. Look forward to seeing you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
241stuart...
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed 28 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

If there are only two of you and you have a car, then this is an excellent place to stay. The place is immaculate and very warm. We had a three day break in October when the East winds were blowing. Everything seems to be brand new and there is everything that you need for a short break or week's stay. There are local supermarkets and a village shop and pub.The are many places to visit in the surrounding area.

The only reasons I gave it a 4 star is that even though you can get to Cambridge and back by bus during the day it is more difficult at night. It is possible but you need to go to St Ives via a taxi. We did it easily on one day so we wouldn't want to do that more than once. Also there is no WiFI which we didn't mind but some people may.

We would stay here again and have recommended it to our friends already.

Date of stay: October 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the place itself is immaculate
Liked least: Lack of bus services and wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Feb 2013
Thanks very much, I'm glad you had such an enjoyable stay. The good news is that we have put in an extra router, and WI-FI is now UP AND RUNNING!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
US$USD
New Zealand
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.