We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wow! Lovely stone cottage with stunning views”

Review of Pian di Luca

Unbeatable view - swim in the mountains!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Unbeatable view - swim in the mountains!
Just relax! Wood oven - make your own pizza or ask the owner to come and do it for you!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Unbeatable view - swim in the mountains!
Just relax!
Wood oven - make your own pizza or ask the owner to come and do it for you!
Extensive gardens - great for children as gated
Fantastic backdrop!
Dine al fresco in the shade
'Pian di Luca'
Romantic stone cottage viewed from pool area
Infinity style private pool
Pool with relaxing area
Swim in the reflection of the mountains...
Kitchen diner - traditional Tuscan, but well equipped
Dining area
Living/kitchen/diner with fireplace and beamed ceilings
Double bedroom
Shower room
Shower room
Local town of Careggine
Pania della Croce
The Fortress of Mont Alfonso
Market town of Castelnuovo di Garfagnana
Local festas during the summer season
Hill top town of Barga
Visit the stunning Marble Quarries
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nic592
Cheshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow! Lovely stone cottage with stunning views”
Reviewed 19 July 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Pian de Luca is a little gem! From the moment we arrived we knew we were going to love the place. The setting is so beautiful and the views are absolutely stunning. We were met on arrival by our host, Paolo, who left us a very generous gift of wine from the family vineyard. We spent most evenings relaxing by the pool, surrounded by the beautiful scenery, enjoying the wine while the sun disappeared behind the hills – a very relaxing end to the day. Our stay was middle to end of May so the pool was still chilly but it was lovely to lounge beside and dip a toe! The cottage was very comfortable and had everything we needed and I’m sure that had we had any issues Paolo would have rectified these. The large garden has plenty of places to sit, either in the shade or the sun and admire the view. It is off the beaten track; a car is absolutely necessary, but the roads, though windy, are fairly quiet and the area is really not touristy. In the local restaurants there were few English menus to be found - some restaurants had only verbal menus, but everyone is very friendly and the language barrier was not a problem. There are plenty of pretty towns and villages to visit locally, if you can drag yourself away from the cottage. Pian de Luca is definitely a place to which I would love to return and I have wonderful memories of our time spent there.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
949Philan...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical - exceeded all our expectations”
Reviewed 27 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We have stayed in some wonderful places in Europe, but this cottage and its location beat them all. The friendly welcome we received from Paolo and Paola was a perfect start to our two week stay, as was the welcome gift of excellent local wine. The cottage is spacious and comfortable with a large kitchen, including a marble topped table, perfect for kneeding dough to make bread and pizza. We barbecued many times and made use of the pizza oven which was a lot of fun.
The pool was spotlessly clean and larger than the photograph gave it credit. The views were outstanding as was the tranquility accented by daylong birdsong. The weather was perfect and the pool area catered for lounging in the sun or sitting and eating in the shade. The garden is an exciting and safe place for children to have fun and invent their own adventures (we'll have to return with Grandchildren in the future!). Relaxation came naturally and stress was forgotten in moments.
Every evening fireflies came out to play and we were entertained by dozens of Tinker Bells. The local roads were very quiet, making it easy to walk and admire the stunning scenery and local villages. The wild flowers were so beautiful and the wild strawberries a nice surprise. The 20 minute drive into Castelnuovo di Garfagnana made shopping and eating out easy. Other local historical and scenic sights were within a comfortable drive with something different to see around every corner. Barga is beautiful as is Luca, which we travelled to by train from the station in Castelnuovo.
We had the most amazing holiday and cannot recommend Pian Di Luca enough. You have to stay here; it will amaze you and on your return you will very quickly run out of superlatives when describing it to family and friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool with the stunning view
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
truantone
Torphins, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A tranquil cottage with stunning views and beautiful surroundings in the Apuan Alps”
Reviewed 22 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My son (aged 4 and a half) and I spent two very happy weeks in Pian di Luca in July 2016. From the warm welcome from our hosts (including a gift of some of their own wine) to the 3.45am departure for Pisa, we were able to relax and enjoy this very untouristy corner of Tuscany.
The cottage is excellent; comfortable and easy to manage; the gardens extensive and fenced all round. The swimming pool is the obvious feature and it is even better than the photographs in the ads showed!
The property is off the beaten track at around 900m - about 300m above the Serchio valley and Castelnuovo the nearest town, yet only around 1.5 hours from Pisa airport. It is set in a magnificent location however, surrounded by chestnut forests, with very quiet roads, ideal for an evening stroll. My son was delighted to find wild strawberries growing on the roadside and this discovery gave him a further incentive to walk.
There are many interesting and varied places to visit and explore within easy reach; all very laid-back and relaxed. Lucca is within easy reach so a must for fans and disciples of Puccini. Mostly everything is in Italian, very welcoming and, as I mentioned already, this not a 'tourist' area. But wherever you travel, you are aware of the Apuan Alps; every day they are different and everyday they are stunningly beautiful.
Perhaps not for everybody but if you welcome and relish being somewhat off the beaten track, if you are seeking tranquillity in stunning surroundings (with a swimming pool!) and a cottage in Garfagnana that is comfortable and homely, well cared for by welcoming hosts, then this could be the one for you.
My son and I would certainly and absolutely recommend it without a second's hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and tranquility
Liked least: The notice board in the garden with local info. Would be improved if removed.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2016
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We are glad to hear you love this wonderful place as much as we do! it is very popular for all the reasons you have detailed. Fantastic that you enjoyed the countryside together! Best wishes Lorraine at Tuscan-retreats.co.uk and Benito at housesintuscany.net
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The remote location and the views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 September 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Sep 2015
Thank you for your review. We are glad you loved this special place! The owners would love to have you again...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing