We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Dream-like destination for an unforgettable...”
other traveller has booked this property
Twilight and 800 years of history comes to life
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Twilight and 800 years of history comes to life
Breakfast on the terrace whilst the Housemartins dance overhead . And the view ...
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Twilight and 800 years of history comes to life
Breakfast on the terrace whilst the Housemartins dance overhead .
And the view ...
How we look from the other side of the valley
chapel from apse end
Lola escapes from Tuscan sun to the cool stone flags of our restored 13th century chapel.
Movies projected in the chapel
New doors for the chapel designed and made by the owners
upstairs in the chapel- library and seating
Once the cantina , now a professional kitchen
Breakfast inside.....
open fire cooking
Double ensuite with dawn views
double with pool view
family room or double
twin or king size
All rooms ensuite with bath or shower
Swi with the sun coming up
Pool yoga
To infinity and beyond .....
inspired? view from the ceramic workshop
Throw a pot in Tuscany
courses in glass casting
15th century Fabbriche di Vallico is a walk away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chateau -
8 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
HThompson...
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dream-like destination for an unforgettable weekend away with friends”
Reviewed 20 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

When we first booked I Romiti, we knew it was going to be an amazing place. But nothing can quite prepare you for the sheer scale and beauty of this restored monastery which has been so tastefully renovated. It manages to retain the history and presence of the building, whilst creating modern and elegant living spaces within with all the mod cons and comfort you could wish for. With all the heating fired up, despite the space being large it was warm with hot showers for all despite the chilly February weather.

I was lucky enough to celebrate my 30th birthday here and what an unforgettable experience it was.

With stunning artwork displayed around the house, we felt as if we were in our very own corner of the V&A! The kitchen is quite simply of dream-like qualities and equipped with all kinds of utensils and appliances you could wish for (including 2 dishwashers!). Whipping up multiple feasts for 20 hungry tummies (including a last minute chocolate birthday cake) became part of the fun of the weekend. Everyone could help out in the spacious kitchen which also served as the perfect breakfast spot.

With nooks and crannies tucked around I Romiti, including the fireside entrance and suspended library with porthole window with views across the valley, there are a fantastic variety of spaces for people to socialise or just have some down time with a blanket and a book to suit everyone in your group.

However when it comes to entertaining on a grand scale, it is the chapel which is the only space that can serve this function! It is to die for, and the perfect space for hosting aperitivo and dancing (as we did on the Saturday); equally it steps up to the occasion for a multiple course feast to impress a table full of guests.

If you want a break from cooking (as we did on the Saturday evening) the local restaurant within easy walking distance of I Romiti and pulled out all the stops. It was a great addition to our weekend. We would highly recommend them if you're looking for some fantastic local food in epic proportions. Word of advice - go there hungry.

Finally, despite I Romiti being tucked away at the top of some seemingly impossibly steep hills banked by stunning waterfalls when it rains, we made it there in a convoy of multiple cars and a 10 seater minivan late at night. We may have pushed the van up the final stretch (much to the excitement of our guests!) but we made it! If we made it, anyone can!

Lindsay and Steven, you made our weekend holiday dreams come true, were the perfect hosts and we look forward to our return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The uniqueness of the monastery and location
Liked least: A little chilly to start with, but once the heating was on fully it was toasty warm
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2016
Helen- we are always rather nervous about our winter guests, as it is then that the building really has to deliver ;in the summer months it is rather a cheat as Tuscan lifestyle and sun drenched days do so much of the job for us. Having let ourselves fall in love with all the cranky details, the rich and sometimes improbable history , it is hard to step back and see it through the eyes of our osptiti for what it truly is-- and so it is an enormous reward to send you home with the memories you describe. Makes us feel we are not mad after all . Your party were delightful , we really hope that some or all of you will return -just don't leave it until the next milestone !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anna108cp...
Copenhagen Region, Denmark
1 review
“A Tuscan dream”
Reviewed 18 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had an unforgettable weekend at this exceptional place, located in the indisputably most beautiful part of Tuscany.
We enjoyed the peacefulness of the house, the stunning view, the alluring saltwater pool, and not least the unsurpassed company of the hosts and our fellow guests - over amazing dinners and breakfasts – everybody contributing with so much humor and wit, it feels like you brought your own favorite crowd with you.
Though the nearby town of Lucca is among the finest in Italy, and a must visit, it is hard to find motivation to leave the monastery once there - there is simply no place you’d rather be!
We will be back as soon and as much as possible!

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lucyrob20...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful holiday and wonderful hosts - i'll be back!”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We all had a fantastic holiday at Romiti and can't wait to come back next year. Steven and Lindsay are the perfect hosts, and made the trip so special. They cooked us delicious dinners and gave us lots of advice on the area. It is a beautiful and relaxing place, with lovely big rooms and a stunning pool.
Even my 4 year old nice cried on the way home because she didn't want to leave!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeroenOud...
Oudewater, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Something to look forward and look back to.”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in August 2014

First of all my apologies for this late review. We stayed with Stev and Lindsay in august 2014.

We found this place by accident on www and it turned out to be the suprise of that year. It contains of aold monistry with surrounding buildings in a whole different Tuscany we experienced up untill that time. Since it is northern Tuscany the surroundings contain mostly woods and beautiful mountains wher you can hike, fish or bike. The medival village of Fabbriche di Vallico is at 700 meter down hill, a nice hike with several shops and restaurants. The property itself is absolutely stunningly renovated, with nice and comfortable rooms. Breakfast and diner were homemade with lots of love.

Close to Lucca and Pisa. thanks so much Steve and Lindsay for a marvelous week and all the laughs at the kitchen table. Hope to see you next year in May!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The surroundings the company and the food
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A delightful recently opened hidden gem.”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Artists, Glassblowers, and Potters Steven Newell and Lyndsey Henderson have lovingly renovated this amazing historic property, and are finding their feet as hosts and entertainers. We descended on Romiti, ill and in need of recuperation, planning to stay 5 days, and stayed 10. Great food round the enormous kitchen table, entertaining conversation, good wine and local produce. Relaxing by the pool, and walks to Fabriche Di Vallico. Stunning views, and cinema in the deconsecrated chapel in the evening, whilst admiring Steven and Lyndsey's recently installed glass windows. Potting, art and glassblowing are ever present. Let's just hope it retains it's enormous charm, as it catches on, as a great value place to relax.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing