We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent self catering accommodation for groups...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ashwood Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
7 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 17
Romaldkirk, County Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Joyce W
Wallsend, England
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Excellent self catering accommodation for groups - we've been coming here for 20 years !”
Reviewed 10 March 2020 for a stay in March 2020
2
people found this review helpful

Ashwood Lodge is a well equipped self catering accommodation in the lovely village of Romaldkirk, not far from the town of Barnard Castle. It has seven bedrooms (including 1 on the ground floor which would be ideal for the less mobile visitor), ample kitchen facilities and large lounge and dining rooms.
The owner is very helpful and there is a wide range of up-to-date tourist leaflets to help you enjoy your stay here. We enjoy spending time in the surrounding countryside. The Teesdale Walking Route passes near to the Lodge and there is also a disused railway line that has been converted into a walking / cycle and horse riding route. Bowes Museum in Barnard Castle is well worth a visit, as is Raby Castle, just a little further away
We have been staying here with friends for the past twenty years - that shows how good the accommodation is!

Date of stay: March 2020
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malpacas
Consett, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“ideal accommodation for large parties”
Reviewed 2 October 2019 for a stay in September 2019

12 adults and 3 children under 2 visited for a long weekend and we found there was plenty of space for all. Plenty of amenities provided such as dishwasher, tumble drier cots etc. Close to Romaldkirk village centre where buses run to Barnard Castle and Middleton.

Date of stay: September 2019
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DayTrip82...
1 review
“A house to suit everyone”
Reviewed 2 August 2019 for a stay in July 2019

What a fab place! Out in the countryside with beautiful views from the back patio. Two pubs within a few minutes walk. Barnard Castle with all its amenities, shops, castle and the amazing Bowes museum and high force waterfall about 10 minutes drive. The house is vast with everything you need. Well equipped kitchen. Huge lounge with more than ample seating for a large group. Dining room that seats about 20 people! The bedrooms are plenty big enough with very comfortable beds. 3 bedrooms are en-suite, ( one ground floor) and another shower room and a further bathroom upstairs. We felt so at home here. A small dog was allowed and the pony’s in the paddock adjoining the back of the house were a great hit with the children.

Date of stay: July 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
14 Aug 2019
Hi, Glad you all had a brilliant time, The Wall family have lived here for over 100 years our grandchildren are the 5th generation to live here.
We have always thought it very special and are very pleased when our visitors think so too. Regards Gwen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
515stuart...
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“I could have lived here forever ”
Reviewed 29 April 2019 for a stay in April 2019

What an amazing property and location. Village is lovely, Hamsterly Forest is only 11 miles away (great for MTB). Loads of bathrooms, en-suites, 2 fridges, freezer, utility room, cooker, microwave and enough cutlery for 100 people never mind 17. We filled this lodge and had a memorable weekend. Gwenn the owner lives nearby and is on hand if you need anything. Lovely people, gorgeous place, would definitely go back.

Date of stay: April 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
15 May 2019
Hi Stuart, Glad you all had a fantastic time at Ashwood lodge

I hope the wedding goes well

Look forward to seeing you again in the future
Best Wishes Gwen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davewp93
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Ashwood Lodge is a wonderful place for family celebrations”
Reviewed 2 November 2018 for a stay in October 2018

The size of Ashwood Lodge is perfect for large family get togethers.. Care had been given by the owners to provide everything we may need to make our stay perfect. Our age range was 15 months to 75 years and .we all agreed we could not have chosen a better place for a celebration.

Date of stay: October 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.