We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
VR Takapuna
Nearby Hotels
US$76
US$59
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Esplanade Hotel(Devonport)(Great Value!)
US$129
US$123
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Spencer on Byron Hotel(Takapuna)(Great Value!)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton Auckland(Auckland Central)
US$409
US$170
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$194/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anzac Court Motel(Takapuna)(Great Value!)
US$115
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
US$113
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
M Social Auckland(Auckland Central)
US$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$142
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
Beresford B&B(Bayswater)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (650)
Filter reviews
650 results
Traveller rating
322
194
78
36
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
322
194
78
36
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsferry ticketsauckland citynorth shoreferry servicewashing machineharbour bridgecontinental breakfast was includedseparate bedroomshort drivequiet locationcooked breakfastnew zealandfull kitchenthe ground floorliving areayogurtspacious room
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 650 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2017

A last minute booking that was brilliantly dealt with. The hotel is in a fantastic location with great views, plenty of parking and great value for money.
The room was clean and tidy and had everything we needed with plenty of room.
The staff were particularly welcoming and served us a great meal even though it was only a few minutes before the resurant was due to close.
I would highly recommend the hotel.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank mrsjbarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Dear mrsjbarton,

Thank you so much for your fantastic feedback on your recent stay here at VR Takapuna. We were delighted to read that, you had a great experience with us. A positive guest experience is something our team take great pride in so we value your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you in future travel.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

Great location if you're looking to use the ferry. Great views of Harbour bridge and Auckland Skyline. Easy access to Takapuna and Davenport. 5 minute walk for a ferry crossing. Rooms warm, comfortable furnishings, beds comfy, spacious bathrooms, kitchenette. Breakfast was well priced and served in the downstairs dining room. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again and recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Dear Rex S,

Thank you so much for your amazing review! A perfect score of 5, we are absolutely thrilled and very much appreciative of your kind words for VR Takapuna Hospitality and staff. We were delighted to know you enjoyed your stay and hotel facilities.

I have shared your comment to my team and we all very much look forward to welcoming you again to VR Takapuna in the future travel.

Warm Regards,
Hotel Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

This hotel was a perfect choice for many reasons. Firstly our daughter was staring AUT Uni close to Takapuna and secondly easy access to Downtown Auckland, both of which can be done from this location. The ferry at Bayswater is a ten min walk and only takes ten mins to Auckland, with no hassles. The bus to Takapuna stops virtually across from the hotel and takes 20 mins to the town where there are shops and restaurants and the beach. The room was spacious and well equipped and the staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over the marina at Bayswater, great view of Downtown Auckland
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamela1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Dear pamela1967,

Thank you for your review and compliments regarding the team on TripAdvisor. We are glad to read that, you had a fantastic stay with us. The location is indeed very convenient with the bus and Bayswater ferry terminal only few steps from the hotel.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future,

Kind Regards,
Hotel Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

Very nice room, great view from room, lovely location, friendly staff.
Sadly it ends there. We were there over the night of the last Lions/All Blacks match when this hotel and some other hotels price gouged atrociously. The worst problem is that the internet didn't work 95% of the time. I called reception and he rebooted the modem. No change at all. It was nearly useless.
The bed was old and saggy. The bathroom products were of the lowest possible quality. The soap was scratchy(!) and the shampoo was a thick gel which was very reluctant to leave the bottle. Room refurbishment was spotty.
The included breakfast was very minimal, nothing much but vegemite to go with toast. After two or three days pastries appeared, hurrah. The coffee at breakfast was foul.
It wouldn't have cost much to make the service and facilities much better. Being really cheap on inexpensive items like toiletries seems to be very poor business.
Four star building and location but way below four star on other things.

Room Tip: Ask for room with harbour view, but I think most do.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elimatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

Dear elimatta,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you like our nice apartments and fiendly team.

However, we are sorry to learn that you had a disappointing stay, please accept our sincerest apologies. We normally pride ourselves in providing high standard of service and facilities. Please be rest assured that this is not of our normal standard. I understand how frustrating this would have been for you with unstable internet. We have recently updated all of our hardware, having the latest technology installed throughout the building with more options for WIFI from minimum to unlimited.

We are sorry to learn that, on this occasion, we have fallen short of your expectations. Please know that we take all such constructive feedbacks very seriously and your comments will help us in our continuing drive for improvement.

We will be discussing your experience as a team and I am sure that, should you decide to return VR Takapuna in the future, your experience will be overwhelmingly positive.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

Have stayed at the VR Takapuna a few times over last few months. Rooms are always presented to a very high standard. But best are the staff - Ishneet on reception is always friendly, helpful and profesional a great start after tiring day traveling. Dinning room team always greet with a smile and great service. Nice, modern, clean and quiet accomodation.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JASOCEANIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

Dear JASOCEANIA,

Thank you for your amazing reveiw. It certainly sounds as though you had a very comfortable stay with us again.

We are thrilled and appreciate your kind word about the hotel and staff. We have a great team who genuinely love looking after our guests, and your feedback is so valuable to continue the inspiration to strive to deliver the fabulous level of service we are known for.

It will be always our pleasure to welcome you to VR Takapuna again. We hope to see you soon!

Kind Regards,
Hotel Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews