We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Location & View”
Review of VR Takapuna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
VR Takapuna
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bayswater
Reviewed 13 August 2017

What a wonderful place, great service, friendly people & awesome views. The rooms were a great size with full Kitchen, washing machine , all you could want . You could have a full breakfast or continental Breakfast in the ground floor resturant & lovely meal at night in the Resturant which is situated at the top floor of the hotel with the most Spectacular view of the Harbour bridge & the Auckland Skyline . The ferry was great & could take u to Auckland City . This hotel was in a perfect location. I would Highly Recommend

Room Tip: room 310 great views
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank noelmclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear noelmclean,

Thank you for your fantastic feedback on your recent stay at VR Takapuna. We were delighted to read that, you had a great experience and enjoyed the delicious meal at our Sunset Lounge and the service you received from our team. I will most certainly share this comments with our team.

Once again thank you for this wonderful feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again in future travel.

Warm Regards,
Hotel Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (616)
There are newer reviews for VR Takapuna
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 616 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2017

A last minute booking that was brilliantly dealt with. The hotel is in a fantastic location with great views, plenty of parking and great value for money.
The room was clean and tidy and had everything we needed with plenty of room.
The staff were particularly welcoming and served us a great meal even though it was only a few minutes before the resurant was due to close.
I would highly recommend the hotel.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank mrsjbarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Dear mrsjbarton,

Thank you so much for your fantastic feedback on your recent stay here at VR Takapuna. We were delighted to read that, you had a great experience with us. A positive guest experience is something our team take great pride in so we value your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you in future travel.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

Great location if you're looking to use the ferry. Great views of Harbour bridge and Auckland Skyline. Easy access to Takapuna and Davenport. 5 minute walk for a ferry crossing. Rooms warm, comfortable furnishings, beds comfy, spacious bathrooms, kitchenette. Breakfast was well priced and served in the downstairs dining room. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again and recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Dear Rex S,

Thank you so much for your amazing review! A perfect score of 5, we are absolutely thrilled and very much appreciative of your kind words for VR Takapuna Hospitality and staff. We were delighted to know you enjoyed your stay and hotel facilities.

I have shared your comment to my team and we all very much look forward to welcoming you again to VR Takapuna in the future travel.

Warm Regards,
Hotel Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

This hotel was a perfect choice for many reasons. Firstly our daughter was staring AUT Uni close to Takapuna and secondly easy access to Downtown Auckland, both of which can be done from this location. The ferry at Bayswater is a ten min walk and only takes ten mins to Auckland, with no hassles. The bus to Takapuna stops virtually across from the hotel and takes 20 mins to the town where there are shops and restaurants and the beach. The room was spacious and well equipped and the staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over the marina at Bayswater, great view of Downtown Auckland
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamela1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Dear pamela1967,

Thank you for your review and compliments regarding the team on TripAdvisor. We are glad to read that, you had a fantastic stay with us. The location is indeed very convenient with the bus and Bayswater ferry terminal only few steps from the hotel.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future,

Kind Regards,
Hotel Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

Very nice room, great view from room, lovely location, friendly staff.
Sadly it ends there. We were there over the night of the last Lions/All Blacks match when this hotel and some other hotels price gouged atrociously. The worst problem is that the internet didn't work 95% of the time. I called reception and he rebooted the modem. No change at all. It was nearly useless.
The bed was old and saggy. The bathroom products were of the lowest possible quality. The soap was scratchy(!) and the shampoo was a thick gel which was very reluctant to leave the bottle. Room refurbishment was spotty.
The included breakfast was very minimal, nothing much but vegemite to go with toast. After two or three days pastries appeared, hurrah. The coffee at breakfast was foul.
It wouldn't have cost much to make the service and facilities much better. Being really cheap on inexpensive items like toiletries seems to be very poor business.
Four star building and location but way below four star on other things.

Room Tip: Ask for room with harbour view, but I think most do.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elimatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

Dear elimatta,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you like our nice apartments and fiendly team.

However, we are sorry to learn that you had a disappointing stay, please accept our sincerest apologies. We normally pride ourselves in providing high standard of service and facilities. Please be rest assured that this is not of our normal standard. I understand how frustrating this would have been for you with unstable internet. We have recently updated all of our hardware, having the latest technology installed throughout the building with more options for WIFI from minimum to unlimited.

We are sorry to learn that, on this occasion, we have fallen short of your expectations. Please know that we take all such constructive feedbacks very seriously and your comments will help us in our continuing drive for improvement.

We will be discussing your experience as a team and I am sure that, should you decide to return VR Takapuna in the future, your experience will be overwhelmingly positive.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayswater
3.3 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,858 reviews
2.6 km away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,316 reviews
2.9 km away
The Spencer on Byron Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,211 reviews
4.6 km away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland Central
4,349 reviews
3.7 km away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Bayswater

Been to VR Takapuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VR Takapuna

Address: 1 Beresford Street, Bayswater, Auckland 0622, New Zealand (Formerly Auckland Takapuna Oaks)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Bayswater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bayswater
Price Range: $135 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — VR Takapuna 4.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience 5 Star luxury by the sea in the newest Takapuna Hotel accommodation site. Situated oceanside between Takapuna and Bayswater, this new, fully serviced, boutique apartment hotel will exceed all your expectations. Auckland Takapuna Oaks offers fully self-contained 1 and 2-bedroom luxury apartments, just 10 minutes by complimentary ferry from Auckland City Center / VIADUCT HARBOUR. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the property as well as continental breakfast per person. Lounge access with stunning views across Auckland Harbour is its true unique factor. All guests have complimentary gym usage and a Shuttle Service - to and from the Bayswater Ferry Terminal. Our property is truly something special in Auckland.Auckland Takapuna Oaks offers unique, spacious conference facilities. Offering flexibility and a range of accommodation and catering options to make your next event stand out from the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your VR Takapuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Takapuna Oaks Hotel Bayswater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing