We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beresford B&B
Nearby Hotels
VR Takapuna(Bayswater)(Great Value!)
US$122
US$101
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Esplanade Hotel(Devonport)(Great Value!)
US$138
US$132
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Spencer on Byron Hotel(Takapuna)(Great Value!)
US$124
US$103
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton Auckland(Auckland Central)
US$180
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$205/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anzac Court Motel(Takapuna)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
M Social Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$176
US$143
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
17
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
2
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 19 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Wonderful stay, just what I was looking for. Nice quiet place, lovely People, Nice clean rooms, beautiful breakfast........could not ask for more. I needed a break from hotels in Auckland, only 10 minutes with the ferry and I was picked up by Lesley; my first impression was Right, a lovely person as her husbond Gordon. I had this Nice feeling during the 4 days, I stayed here. It was so good that I decided to Cancel my hotel in Auckland. I Will be back:-) Best wishes from the Danish tourguide Lone Jakobsen

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoneAarhus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesleyB_NZ, Owner at Beresford B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Hello Lone! Thank you! We're very happy that we were able to provide you with the quiet respite you needed in Auckland. A pleasure to meet you and have you stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again next time you're in Auckland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Beresford was perfect for our needs:
- quiet location;
- very kind hosts who received us even in the middle of the night and had a open ear for all our questions;
- not to near, not to far from the city;
- a gourmet-breakfast;
- all in all a perfect start to be on holidasy in New Zealand

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorthe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesleyB_NZ, Owner at Beresford B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2013

So glad we were able to contribute to making your first days in NZ a welcoming experience and your stay in Auckland enjoyable. Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We spent three nights with Lesley and Gordon in their delightful home on the north shore a mere 10 minute walk from the ferry to the Bayswater ferry terminal and a 12 minute trip across the harbour to central Auckland.

The Bayswater ferry is not as frequent as that from nearby Devonport but there was always the option of being dropped off in Devonport so we took the opportunity to be dropped here, explore this picturesque town before going across to the central ferry terminal. Returning we scheduled the Bayswater link so there was no need for a lift and didn't present a problem.

We were treated as long lost friends and even shared a meal and the 7's rugby final with them ... accompanied by a welcome beer or two.

The breakfasts were more than adequate - wholesome and a work of art whilst the bed boasted crisp cotton sheets and in the shower - big fluffy white towels.

In a way it was sad to leave such a welcoming atmosphere but rest assured we will call again when we come back to Auckland.

Well done and thanks Lesley and Gordon and remember you know where we live.

Room Tip: Research and book early. check the ferry times.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mic L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesleyB_NZ, Owner at Beresford B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review - we're very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us. We do aim to provide outstanding hospitality and service so it's very good to hear that we've succeeded! Thanks for staying here with us - it was lovely to meet you and hope to see you again one day. Warm regards, Lesley and Gordon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

This bed and breakfast was within walking distance or an easy bus ride to sites we wanted to see. The ferry to Auckland and some of the closer islands was convenient from the location. The hosts were very helpful, providing maps, guide books, bus and ferry schedules. They even provided transportation to Devonport early one morning after we arrived, as one of our bags did not make it on our flight and my husband needed to purchase some clothing. We were very impressed with the lovely breakfast--fresh fruit, the best muesili, juices, baked goods--more than satisfying. Very clean rooms and bathroom, private sitting area and in a quiet neighbourhood, but within easy distance to busier Devonport and the sites, restaurants, etc. We would stay again on a return visit.

Room Tip: Private room ,with bathroom--soaker tub,
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cburns99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

This would be the perfect B&B if it was in Devonport. Unfortunately all the good restaurants are just too far to walk to, but it's only a five minute drive. Beautiful bathroom, and perfect private sitting room.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stella317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belle289, Owner at Beresford B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2011

We are very pleased to be located right here on the beautiful Bayswater peninsula on the North Shore in Auckland. Most of our guests choose us precisely because of our convenient location and have commented on how ideal it is.
A fast ferry ride to Auckland City operates from the marina, just a short walk to the end of our road. We are also on the direct bus route to Takapuna and Auckland City. The main North Shore town centre of Takapuna Beach, and also Devonport Village, are both just 5 minutes drive away. There is a multitude of good restaurants in these nearby centres and their surrounds, as well as shopping and theatres. Beaches and pleasant walks are all around; very close and easy to get to.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews