We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bayswater
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beresford B&B
Ranked #1 of 2 Bayswater B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Just like being at home in this very comfortable B & B. Everything clean and crisp with an excellent hot or cold breakfast in the morning. The warm welcome from Lesley - she is the one who bakes the yummy tea cake for you to eat and Gordon who makes sure your WiFi is working are the extra special touches that make for a lasting impression. Handy to interesting spots on the northside of Auckland but also an easy ferry ride to downtown Auckland. Thanks for your hospitality!

Room Tip: Perfect place for 2 couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stongee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesleyB_NZ, Owner at Beresford B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. We're pleased to hear that you found our place welcoming and the location convenient. Apart from all the things that a good B&B should provide, we believe the extra touches are very important so it is very good to hear that they are appreciated. Thank you! Hope to see you again when you're in Auckland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2013

Wonderful stay, just what I was looking for. Nice quiet place, lovely People, Nice clean rooms, beautiful breakfast........could not ask for more. I needed a break from hotels in Auckland, only 10 minutes with the ferry and I was picked up by Lesley; my first impression was Right, a lovely person as her husbond Gordon. I had this Nice feeling during the 4 days, I stayed here. It was so good that I decided to Cancel my hotel in Auckland. I Will be back:-) Best wishes from the Danish tourguide Lone Jakobsen

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoneAarhus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesleyB_NZ, Owner at Beresford B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Hello Lone! Thank you! We're very happy that we were able to provide you with the quiet respite you needed in Auckland. A pleasure to meet you and have you stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again next time you're in Auckland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Beresford was perfect for our needs:
- quiet location;
- very kind hosts who received us even in the middle of the night and had a open ear for all our questions;
- not to near, not to far from the city;
- a gourmet-breakfast;
- all in all a perfect start to be on holidasy in New Zealand

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorthe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesleyB_NZ, Owner at Beresford B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2013

So glad we were able to contribute to making your first days in NZ a welcoming experience and your stay in Auckland enjoyable. Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We spent three nights with Lesley and Gordon in their delightful home on the north shore a mere 10 minute walk from the ferry to the Bayswater ferry terminal and a 12 minute trip across the harbour to central Auckland.

The Bayswater ferry is not as frequent as that from nearby Devonport but there was always the option of being dropped off in Devonport so we took the opportunity to be dropped here, explore this picturesque town before going across to the central ferry terminal. Returning we scheduled the Bayswater link so there was no need for a lift and didn't present a problem.

We were treated as long lost friends and even shared a meal and the 7's rugby final with them ... accompanied by a welcome beer or two.

The breakfasts were more than adequate - wholesome and a work of art whilst the bed boasted crisp cotton sheets and in the shower - big fluffy white towels.

In a way it was sad to leave such a welcoming atmosphere but rest assured we will call again when we come back to Auckland.

Well done and thanks Lesley and Gordon and remember you know where we live.

Room Tip: Research and book early. check the ferry times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mic L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesleyB_NZ, Owner at Beresford B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review - we're very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us. We do aim to provide outstanding hospitality and service so it's very good to hear that we've succeeded! Thanks for staying here with us - it was lovely to meet you and hope to see you again one day. Warm regards, Lesley and Gordon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

This bed and breakfast was within walking distance or an easy bus ride to sites we wanted to see. The ferry to Auckland and some of the closer islands was convenient from the location. The hosts were very helpful, providing maps, guide books, bus and ferry schedules. They even provided transportation to Devonport early one morning after we arrived, as one of our bags did not make it on our flight and my husband needed to purchase some clothing. We were very impressed with the lovely breakfast--fresh fruit, the best muesili, juices, baked goods--more than satisfying. Very clean rooms and bathroom, private sitting area and in a quiet neighbourhood, but within easy distance to busier Devonport and the sites, restaurants, etc. We would stay again on a return visit.

Room Tip: Private room ,with bathroom--soaker tub,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cburns99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Beresford B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beresford B&B

Address: 46A Beresford Street | Bayswater, Auckland, Bayswater, Auckland 0622, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Bayswater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bayswater
Price Range: $116 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located centrally in AUCKLAND CITY. Bayswater is a small suburb across the harbour on Auckland's North Shore - a 10 minute ferry trip away from Downtown Auckland. We warmly welcome travellers to our comfortable, modern home here in peaceful Bayswater. Relax and feel at home, away from the hustle and bustle but within such easy reach of all Auckland City and the wider area has to offer. Easy walk to ferry, downtown Auckland 10 minute trip away. 5-10 minute drive to motorway, Devonport or Takapuna, restaurants and shopping. On bus route. Two light, airy, upstairs bedrooms next to private bathroom accommodating one group (or single person) of up to 4 people at any one time. Your own TV lounge, tea & coffee making, internet, laundry, spa pool, generous continental breakfast included. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing