We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely birthday treat”
Review of Slattery's

Slattery's
Ranked #2 of 58 Restaurants in Whitefield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$21
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Slattery's The mouth watering business John Slattery and his family have created is the only one of its kind in the country and attracts visitors from far and wide. Dubbed "That Wicked shop in Whitefield" Slattery creates bespoke wedding and celebration cakes, handmade Belgian chocolates, gateaux, desserts and chocolate gifts and hampers. The three storey Victorian building that is home to Slattery Patissier and Chocolatier features a ground floor wedding cake showroom and large retail shop. You can also watch the chocolatiers at work, making a wide range of different styles of chocolates. We are specialists in creating chocolate wedding cakes and also offer traditional styles and more contemporary designs. Your own ideas and features can be incorporated to ensure that we create a cake that perfectly suits your special day. Masons Dining Room Situated on the first floor of the building, the Masons Dining Room is our elegant air-conditioned 140 seat dining room. Serving breakfast, lunches, afternoon teas, snacks and cakes this is the perfect place to relax and unwind. House specialities include Lancashire Afternoon Tea, homemade Welsh Rarebit and delicious hot chocolates made with real liquid Belgian chocolate. Are you a chocoholic? Then why not take the famous "Slattery Chocolate Challenge"? A large piece of hot chocolate fudge cake, two chocolate pots filled with liquid chocolate, a portion ice-cream and a portion of fresh cream and a generous helping of chocolate sauce. This is all served with a glass of hot chocolate. If you manage to eat all this (without the help of your friends!) You will receive a chocolate medal and a 100g box of handmade chocolates! School of Excellence - International food skills The Slattery School of Excellence is a purpose built teaching facility situated on the second floor of our building, offering both practical and demonstration courses to suit people of all abilities and skill levels. Many different areas of chocolate work and sugar craft are covered by the courses, some of the titles include: Essential skills for working with chocolate. Chocolate Artisan Course. Chocolate Wedding and Celebration Cakes. Advanced Chocolate Wedding Cakes. Easy to make Chocolate. Chocolate Desserts and Individual Cakes. Chocolate Workshop Half Day Course. Sugar Paste Modelling. Human Figure Modelling Advanced Human Figures. On-line Store Can't make it to us for a visit? We also have an on-line shop filled with a range of our goods; including hampers, chocolates and gift vouchers. All shipped to you by courier.
Reviewed 24 April 2017

dined here for birthday treat. opted for the afternoon tea and it was excellent, cant wait to return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sarahkenny1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo B, Manager at Slattery's, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Slattery, it is nice to read you found the afternoon tea excellent and we look forward to your return.
Kind Regards,
Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,061)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

252 - 256 of 1,061 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2017

Had to book as 5 of us going. Think there were only 2 of us that had been before. Quite awhile since my last visit and so noticed improvements downstairs.
The service was good and the young staff very attentive and polite.
We decided on a brunch type menu, the food was served quickly and was very tasty.
We shared a couple of cakes (most are huge) between us.
Quick browse downstairs with a couple of takeaway purchases before going on to enjoy the rest of the weekend.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LynneTravis2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo B, Manager at Slattery's, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review Slattery, it is lovely to read about your visit to us, we hope you all enjoyed your time with us and visit us again soon.
Kind Regards,
Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017

Just a quick review, this is one of my favourite lunch/afternoon tea places. The food and service is always fantastic, you do get value for money and I have not had a bad experience so far.

You do need to book on certain days, but they do have some tables they allocate to diners on a first come first served basis. Also on-site parking is an issue, but there is a metrolink stop within a short walking distance.

Overall would recommend this eatery if you are in the area.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank happi_guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo B, Manager at Slattery's, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Slattery, it is nice to hear we are one of your favourite lunch places, and you find the food and service fantastic, we hope you continue to visit us.
Kind Regards,
Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

I was taken here for a birthday treat.

We went for afternoon tea. The food was delicious, could not fault any aspect of the food, service or the experience overall.

We will definitely be returning.

You do need to make a reservation as it is constantly busy.

Thank LiamV73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo B, Manager at Slattery's, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Thank you Liam for taking the time to write a review for Slattery, it is great to read you enjoyed your visit to us for a Birthday treat. I have passed on your lovely feedback to the dining room. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind Regards,
Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

Chocolate overload, you could really indulge yourself. Very pleasant place, some tables I found were very close, but like the booths. I had a sandwich. But the afternoon teas looked very nice.

Thank karentW2364FS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo B, Manager at Slattery's, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Slattery, it is nice to read you find your visit very pleasant. I have took on board your feedback regarding some of the tables too close together and will look into this. We hope to welcome you again soon and you enjoy your visit with us.
Many Thanks,
Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Slattery's also viewed

 
Bury, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Slattery's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing