We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lol.travel
Agoda.com
Easy and fast booking
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
kaidia2017
Brisbane, Australia

Worth the stop

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 Jan 2024via mobile
Decided to stop here for a bite to eat on our way home from a day in Hanmer and glad we did.

Food wise we ordered Wedges, Sweet Chilli & Sour cream for $14 which was tasty and good value for money. Then two others orders The Stonegrill Experience Steaks. They were very impressed.

We chose to sit outside then it started to rain but with the umbrella over our table we didn’t get wet. Staff where very friendly and accommodating. Even took advantage of the happy hour drinks.

Would recommend to others.
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
0.9 km from The Hurunui Hotel
Free parking
Booking.com
$170
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
30.5 km from The Hurunui Hotel
Tripadvisor
$256
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Hotels.com
34.4 km from The Hurunui Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$69
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
36.8 km from The Hurunui Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Alpine views
Tripadvisor
$199
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $199
38.8 km from The Hurunui Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
40.9 km from The Hurunui Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
40.4 km from The Hurunui Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front Entrance
Contact accommodation for availability.
40.5 km from The Hurunui Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
39.5 km from The Hurunui Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hurunui
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
26
17
2
0
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
26
17
2
0
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews historic hotel north canterbury schnitzel one night cottage stonegrill hanmer nz accommodation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2023 via mobile

Very Pleasantly greeted upon arrival and made to feel most welcome.
A way more comprehensive menu than expected but then we had very recently heard great reviews of the restaurant food and lovely decor.
He chose Ribs and really enjoyed them and Salads served with.I did the Stone Grill as I love a Steak!
Our small dining partner said her Burger was great and enjoyed the mini donuts and ice cream.
All our meals were served promptly and on well thought out Crockery.
My Steak was spectacular and trust me I know my Steaks!
So good to be able to eat a hot Steak very Rare!
We are lucky to have The Hurunui in our area and will certainly be back.

Room tip: Easy parking,family friendly and heaps of dining available outside under trees on a hot summer day. Fabulous staff
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank petals356
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 December 2023 via mobile

Stopped in after leaving Hanma Springs for a little look but ended up staying because the staff were beautiful and friendly. We ended up sitting down for a meal and it was 10/10 food! Beautiful scenery and an all round great vibe. Loved it so much, will definitely stop in in the future when we’re in the area

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Brittany E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 March 2023

This Hotel has an amazing camping ground attached. It is in a fantastic location. Powered sites with a reasonable ablution block and kitchen area. The bar and restaurant are fabulous and the staff are wonderful.

Room tip: First in first served for the camping ground. The hotel rooms are lovely as is the general surroundings. The food is really great.
Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Daydream322529
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 December 2022 via mobile

We stopped in at the Hurunui Hotel on the way north from Christchurch, and stayed in their beautiful Jesse's Cottage. A delightful mix of old world stone cottage charm with well appointed modern fixtures in the kitchen and bathroom.
The historic hotel bar and restaurant has a warm cosy pub atmosphere, and I can highly recommend the home smoked stonegrill ribeye for dinner! Wonderful people, great hospitality, and awesome NZ find!

Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank kiwifraser3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 December 2022

We stayed in Jesse's Cottage, which was clean and comfortable and nicely combined old-world charm and modern convenience. Lovely peaceful location surrounded by fields and grapevines - the only sounds were from the cattle and the birds. We chose to have dinner at the hotel both nights of our stay because the stone grilled pork and lamb meals were so tasty. Quality meat and fun to cook it ourselves on the hot stone at our table. Accompanied by good sides and drink selection - with very decadent desserts! The service was friendly and efficient, even though the staff were clearly very busy on one night. Couldn't have asked for more.

Room tip: Jesse's Cottage is wonderful
Date of stay: December 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EvyCoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews