We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
David W
Auckland, New Zealand
For the quietness and open space and distant view of mountains
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Jan 2020
High quality, superbly quiet, and so relaxing.

Note that it is 6km along a gravel road, in case that is a consideration. And no wifi, but honestly, you don't need it. We found it so therapeutic to just sit on the deck, eat dinner, and watch the clouds go by as the sun got lower.
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
6.5 km from Hurunui River Retreat
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
5.6 km from Hurunui River Retreat
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$191
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
9.9 km from Hurunui River Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$320
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $320
  • Lol.travel
  • eDreams
    $320
31.1 km from Hurunui River Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$294
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $228
  • Hotels.com
    $235
31.6 km from Hurunui River Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
36.9 km from Hurunui River Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Alpine views
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
  • Booking.com
36.0 km from Hurunui River Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
37.5 km from Hurunui River Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
37.6 km from Hurunui River Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hurunui
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
25
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
25
0
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

We had the most relaxing few days at Flax - it was the ideal spot to recharge after a long international flight and before a long drive up North. The cottage was spotlessly clean , warm, well equipped and stylishly furnished with high quality bedding and towels. Waking up to amazing uninterrupted views and the occasional bunny rabbit in front of our room was an added treat. It was blissfully quiet and peaceful with the only sound being that of birdsong .The kids loved feeding Cheese and Crackers, the resident alpacas, and just running around the grounds. Tina told us about a little walk down to the river and , although it was too cold to swim, we had great fun paddling and skimming stones. Not a soul in sight. Perfect. Tina was warm and great w the kids not to mention a great cook. Do order an evening meal from her- best pannecotta ever! Thank you Tina for and hoping your lovely home was not damaged by the recent quake :(. Regards Tara and family

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Tara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Lovely place , great decor & amenities. Peaceful surroundings with good view. Extremely good all round & wonderful breakfast options provided. Everything you could want for a weekend away to recharge the batteries. Also great option for a group of friends. We will be back in summer to enjoy the outdoors.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank JBubbles50
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 January 2016

The moment we arrived for our 1 night stay in the Tussock cottage, it was luxury! The impeccable presented cottage oozed 5 Star – the decor, setting, furnishings, linen, the supplied breakfast (home made muesli and apricots were amazing) and the divine platter that Tina prepared for us. The best 20 hours away in a long time for us to celebrate our 10th Wedding Anniversary. We came away from our ‘Hurunui Rive Retreat’ experience feeling very special for having staying there. Definitely will repeat – however, don’t know that I can wait until our 20th wedding anniversary to repeat.

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank VickiL66
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 January 2016

We stayed two nights at the cottages and had a wonderful time. Everything was perfect. Tina (owner and chef) cooked dinner for us one night and it was great. This is a very restful, quiet, retreat that certainly helped recharge our batteries. Its close to Hanmer Springs and the Waipara vineyards.

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jack5516
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 October 2015 via mobile

It's taken a few months to write this review, what a little treasure these cottages are. The hosts are so hospitable and the breakfasts left for in the cottage was amazing, beautiful yoghurt, muesli, farm fresh eggs. I cannot wait to go back to this wee slice of paradise

Date of stay: May 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 468vickyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews