We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
JBubbles50
Christchurch, New Zealand
Super
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Aug 2016via mobile
Lovely place , great decor & amenities. Peaceful surroundings with good view. Extremely good all round & wonderful breakfast options provided. Everything you could want for a weekend away to recharge the batteries. Also great option for a group of friends. We will be back in summer to enjoy the outdoors.
Date of stay: August 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$101
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
  • Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
6.5 km from Hurunui River Retreat
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
$240
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
5.6 km from Hurunui River Retreat
Free parking
Bedroom 1 - Queen bed
Booking.com
$150
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $150
  • eDreams
    $150
  • Lol.travel
15.6 km from Hurunui River Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$188
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $188
  • Hotels.com
    $188
  • Expedia.com
    $190
9.9 km from Hurunui River Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Our lovely spacious room
Booking.com
$340
  • Priceline
    $340
  • Agoda.com
21.7 km from Hurunui River Retreat
Priceline
$240
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
    $240
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
22.5 km from Hurunui River Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$406
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
17.3 km from Hurunui River Retreat
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$240
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $240
  • eDreams
    $240
  • Vio.com
    $240
31.3 km from Hurunui River Retreat
Free parking
Secluded historic farmhouse set in established leafy gardens, easy to find right on the highway.
Booking.com
$207
    30.7 km from Hurunui River Retreat
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    $192
    Fully refundable
    • Agoda.com
    33.9 km from Hurunui River Retreat
    View more hotels in Hurunui
    Reviews (25)
    Filter reviews
    25 results
    Traveller rating
    25
    0
    0
    0
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    25
    0
    0
    0
    0
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    5 - 10 of 25 reviews
    Reviewed 20 January 2016

    The moment we arrived for our 1 night stay in the Tussock cottage, it was luxury! The impeccable presented cottage oozed 5 Star – the decor, setting, furnishings, linen, the supplied breakfast (home made muesli and apricots were amazing) and the divine platter that Tina prepared for us. The best 20 hours away in a long time for us to celebrate our 10th Wedding Anniversary. We came away from our ‘Hurunui Rive Retreat’ experience feeling very special for having staying there. Definitely will repeat – however, don’t know that I can wait until our 20th wedding anniversary to repeat.

    Date of stay: January 2016
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    2  Thank VickiL66
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 12 January 2016

    We stayed two nights at the cottages and had a wonderful time. Everything was perfect. Tina (owner and chef) cooked dinner for us one night and it was great. This is a very restful, quiet, retreat that certainly helped recharge our batteries. Its close to Hanmer Springs and the Waipara vineyards.

    Date of stay: January 2016
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Cleanliness
    Thank Jack5516
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 26 October 2015 via mobile

    It's taken a few months to write this review, what a little treasure these cottages are. The hosts are so hospitable and the breakfasts left for in the cottage was amazing, beautiful yoghurt, muesli, farm fresh eggs. I cannot wait to go back to this wee slice of paradise

    Date of stay: May 2015
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank 468vickyb
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 13 September 2015 via mobile

    We visited with old friends for a good catch up. Serene and magnificent setting and perfectly well appointed cottages. We were able to relax straight away and enjoyed Tina and Grant's wonderful hospitality and food! A special time. Will be back. Thank you Tina and Grant.

    Date of stay: September 2015
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    Thank Nashi47
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 18 August 2015

    Our Book Group of 7 shared the 2 well equipped villas for a weekend and had a wonderful relaxing time. Fabulous views with fresh snow on the hills (and a sprinkling on the ground). Breakfast was included with delicious farm fresh eggs, muesli, yoghurt, toast, compotes. A highlight was a fabulous dinner cooked by Tina at her house comprising beetroot cured salmon, duck confit and a perfect panna cotta with whisky soaked raisins and a hazelnut brandy snap biscuit – all v delish and ably assisted by the delightful Susan! No need to go anywhere else but enjoy the amazing scenery and food.

    Date of stay: August 2015
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    2  Thank pjm_10
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews