We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning sunsets, peace and nature”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Petaloutha

View over pool to Skiathos Island
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View over pool to Skiathos Island
Villa Petaloutha Sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
View over pool to Skiathos Island
Villa Petaloutha
Sitting room
Sitting room
Perivoliou - closest beach to house
View of Skiathos from lower terrace
Main bedroom
Main bathroom
Gallery bedroom - lower floor
Gallery bedroom - upper floor
Third bedroom
Terrace
Sunset over pool
Outside dining area
Villa Petaloutha
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Glossa, Skopelos, Sporades

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Charlesp5...
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning sunsets, peace and nature”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The house is positioned right at the top of a hill, with views across to Skiathos. We were fortunate to bring binoculars to inspect passing boats, birds - bee-eaters, peregrines, kestrels and swifts, and butterflies. Rooms are comfortable, with a great family room. Pool is very welcome after a hot day on the beach (uncrowded one, nearby). Glossa has some good restaurants. serving traditional Greek fare and something a bit more. Recommended.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick T
Doha, Qatar
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Two Fridges! Oh as well as amazing views, amazing house and a pool”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Seriously two fridges are a godsend esp when traveling with a 19-month old boy and when friends keep dropping by. We stayed for ten days. The villa was chilled (as was the wine) and we could relax even with a baby. Everything we needed was there inc a baby cot and on the one occasion we needed fresh sheets for two mates that dropped by unexpectedly these were delivered by the super efficient house managers Sarah and Matt. The views are outstanding across to Skiathos and surrounding isles. The beaches are great and we ate well. We were one large extended family during those ten days but you could also make it a wonderful romantic getaway or you could write your novel. And don't forget, two fridges!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T4kay
1 review
“Heaven and hell”
Reviewed 24 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Got to loutarki got the car and was lead to our villa. Up the hill we went bend, hill, bend, hair pin bend, hill and on and on we went higher and higher and after about twenty minutes we got the villa gates.
Sarah the villa caretaker told us to "put it in first and don't take it out" and off we went again hill climb, hair pin bend, bend on the edge of a drop, another hill and another drop and on we went for 4 or 5 times until the the last turn and most probably the most Frightening one of all.

We got out of the car and felt like we were on top of the world, the view was AMAZING!!
The villa looked like we had seen it on the Internet, but as we were shown around we found things out that the blurb had not mentioned, the third bedroom was down 13 steep steps and was not part of the inside of the villa and a hand rail would be very useful on these stairs, along with the stairs around the rest of the house. There are 5 winding staircases throughout this property with out hand rails, there are approximately 62 steps in and around this villa.

If I had know about the steps and the third bedroom not being part of the villa
I WOULD NOT HAVE BOOKED THIS VILLA!!

Also if six adults are staying in this villa there are not six comfortable chairs, one sofa that at a push could seat 4 and one chair after that its old wooden chairs.

I found other things that I didn't like about our stay,
I didn't like the shower head hanging from the celling in the main bathroom, there could be one more shower holder Put in on the wall, and a hand rail to hold on to when you get out of the shower/ bath would be handy, the loo in the main bathroom was badly stained and had a bad smell about it, I did clean it but it would just come back.

The beds could do with some new lining as our sheets were well used.
The kitchen was small, one small fridge and no freezer, for six people you need
MORE fridge space + the washing machine had Broken, though Sarah did a wash for me and she did offer to do more.
There was a leak under the sink and the water was being collected in a pot and had to be emptied every day by us,
the beds and chairs around the pool had seen better days + I did sit on one and it broke and I finished up on the floor, luckily I didn't hurt myself.

But there were good things to the views are stunning. Two of the bedrooms have air con, loads of books to read, lovey big china bowls for food, the use of beach towels and the cupboard outside with snorkels, beach shoes and loads of other things. The use of the phone for local calls, the larder with left over food from other guests e.g. salt sugar oil and much more.
John the taxi man was very helpful, he came up most nights and took us out to glossa and loutaraki for dinner and brought us home. And to know that if there was ever a major problem Sarah and Matt were all ways on hand to help.

So my heaven was the views and my hell was the roads and stairs.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose_G368
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful views, beatifully designed villa”
Reviewed 6 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This is our second time at Petaloutha and as previously we had a fabulous time. The villa is on the top of a hill and is isolated enough if you want to be away from everything. On the other hand if you want to go to places everything is of easy access and the driving didn't bothered us. The views are amazing and I could stay there for hours just staring at the views and the shooting stars ... A perfect place to relax. The villa is designed with the traditional Greek design in mind but it is very unusual and interesting. It has all the comforts of modern life and you do not feel shut from the world. We loved staying there and happily would return at any time. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: As the property is surrounded by lots of trees and is in the countryside, be prepared to face some insects, but it's nothing that a good repelent will not resolve.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpudDoyle
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Keep going back”
Reviewed 30 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Just back from our third holiday at this unique villa. We love it. The setting, villa, location and the island of Skopelos are all very special. It's one of those few places you get to and can immediately relax. The property owner and the managers are so helpful and friendly. Prices have come down on the island too and so long as you remember some reef creepers, the beaches are wonderful. G&Ts at sunset here cannot be beaten.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing