We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Part of Trip home to Coast

This has been on bucket list for a while. The Jet Boat trip alone is worth the money. Dion the... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
clarkesmail
,
Christchurch, New Zealand
via mobile
Fantastic experience

Very professional operation. Decades of experience and knowledge and it shows. Very informative... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
timmora
,
Greymouth, New Zealand
via mobile
Read all 105 reviews
  
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
89
12
1
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
89
12
1
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nesting area jet boat beautiful birds the river short walk new zealand wet weather gear franz josef great trip nature reserve eggs professional operation nesting season guide dion great viewing bird watching worth the trip
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2017

What a great trip! Dion is a first class guide, very knowledgeable, friendly and laid back and the herons are a spectacular sight. We saw about 30 odd nesting pairs in full plummage. The trip in to see the birds in a Hamilton jet boat is in itself quite fun and very pretty and the hide’s positioning, very close to the nesting birds provides for great viewing. Dion was also able to arrange accommodation for us at their motels. The motel was perfect - spotlessly clean, warm, really comfy beds and with the added advantage of covered parking so we didn’t get wet packing the car in next morning’s rain!

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank oamarugirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

After a scenic jet boat ride down the Waitangitaona river,under stunning views of Aoraki/Mt Cook and Mt Tasman, we entered the nature reserve that is the only New Zealand nesting site of these beautiful birds. A short walk through Kahikatea rain forest (with some Royal Spoonbills nesting above) and suddenly there they were.....dozens of Kotuku wearing their courting plumage -thrilling. Watching from the hide we observed the courtship, nest building and some antics as they stole nest building materials from the shags. Our thanks to Dion who provided us with an informative and entertaining experience throughout the tour. We cannot overstate this unique, 1st class wilderness activity. no better way to spend 2 hours.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank LynneB63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

The kotuku have arrived back to the only breeding site in nz and are starting to pair up. Other birds here are the little shag and royal spoonbill. Dion took us on a magic trip and was very willing to share his extensive knowledge. Thanks! The journey to the colony is great too.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank RichardH7459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

We have just spent the most magical afternoon with White Heron Sanctuary Tours visiting the hide opposite the only kotuku (white heron) nesting site in New Zealand. Our guide Dion was very knowledgeable about the birds and the area. We were privileged to be there on only the second day this season that there have been kotuku at the site. We also saw Royal Spoonbills, kereru, little shags,grey warblers, tui and piwakawaka. We highly recommend this tour to everyone. It's breathtaking!

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

Dione took us out to the white heron's nesting site, including a fantastic jet boat down river to the lagoon near the coast. He was a great guide, and well informed.

Unfortunately, New Zealand had a lousy summer 2016/7 (except for the time we were there!) and the white herons had up and left early. Nothing they could do about that, and we still enjoyed the tour enormously.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Yorkshirelad64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews