We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great jet boat trip - lovely spot to view herons”

White Heron Sanctuary Tours
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Whataroa
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
556 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Great jet boat trip - lovely spot to view herons”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

Very laid back kiwi team to look aftet you - fun jet boat trip - easy walk to the hide and then pleasant 30 to 40 minutes viewing the herons breading area

They provide waterproof jackets and binoculars and a good overview of the herons breading habits, etc

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank kiwi-traveller-PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    12
    1
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic trip. Totally recommend to all ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Awesome. We had a great time. Professional and friendly operators. Jet boat driver and tour guide was knowledgeable and was great with my ASD son. Birdlife and viewing fantastic. Recommend to tourists and Kiwis. Special place to visit

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Sanctuary surrounded by 1,000 year old trees (kakiatea)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2016

The White Heron Sanctuary is protected by the Dept. of Conservation and the only way to see the nesting White Herons is by taking this tour. We were lucky and only had 3 people on our tour. The boat ride itself was great fun. It is a jet boat that flies down the river making sharp turns as the river bends. Once you get to the rookery you can view the herons, Little Pied Cormorants and Royal Spoonbills behind a blind. Great trip for photographers and all nature lovers.

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank kwren4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Not enough superlatives for this stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2016

Best value Accommodation I can ever recall here or overseas, coupled with the stunning experience with the White Herons tour, made this stay one I will always remember. Fantastic, Superb couple of days. .

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefferson, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
“Amazing wildlife experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2016

The boat ride was really fun, but the real excitement came when we got to the nesting area! Not only were there White Herons, there were Royal Spoonbills, And several varieties of Shags. There were White Heron nests with downy white chicks, right next to a nest of downy black shag chicks and Royal Spoonbills chicks. The blinds were an easy walk through the rainforest from the boat landing, with many of the flora identified by Dion. A must do adventure!

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank Jolene N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed White Heron Sanctuary Tours also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Whataroa, West Coast Region
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to White Heron Sanctuary Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing