We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Part of Trip home to Coast

This has been on bucket list for a while. The Jet Boat trip alone is worth the money. Dion the... read more

Reviewed 20 November 2018
clarkesmail
,
Christchurch, New Zealand
via mobile
Fantastic experience

Very professional operation. Decades of experience and knowledge and it shows. Very informative... read more

Reviewed 19 November 2018
timmora
,
Greymouth, New Zealand
via mobile
Read all 105 reviews
  
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
89
12
1
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
89
12
1
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nesting area jet boat beautiful birds the river short walk new zealand wet weather gear franz josef great trip nature reserve eggs professional operation nesting season bucket list guide dion great viewing bird watching
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2016

The White Heron Tour begins about half an hour away from Franz Josef and well worth doing at the right time of the year. The advertising leaflet does say September to March although we went February and some white herons had already dispersed. However, the jet boat ride up the river is really good and then there is a short boardwalk to the hide. We got brilliant views of royal spoonbill, white herons, shag and the guide also explained about the flora and fauna. Plenty of time in the hide and not hurried at all. Would definitely go again.

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank Suegofar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2016

I didnt do the tour but I did spend a lovely night at the attached hotel, run by the same folks. There seemed to be two parts to this hotel, the original next to the tour office and the old hospital down the road. I was in the old hospital - dont worry, there are no hospital beds and no bed pans, the only give away is the (excellent) disabled bathroom facilities.

Like just about every other hotel in this part of NZ, the owners think of everything: there's a toaster, kettle, microwave, cutlery, bowls, cups and - the real winner - a can opener! You can pick up some supplies at the On The Spot across the road, though dont leave it too late, they close around 5/6pm.

A great option for cyclists and anyone unable to find a bed in Franz Josef (which seemed to be quite a few people when I was there).

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank Lily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2016

Whether or not you are an avid birder (and I am), this is a spectacular tour that allows you to see the only white heron breeding site in NZ. These statuesque birds breed in the summer and we were lucky enough to get there shortly after most of the chicks had recently hatched. There are fewer than 150 nesting pairs of White Herons in all of NZ and this is the only place you can see them. What a show they put on! You observe from across the river where there is a blind- perfect for taking photos. Getting there is half the fun as well. You start with a short drive in a van while getting the history of the area and information about the local flora. Then you get into a jet boat to head up the Waitangi Taona River into the Waitangiroto Nature Reserve. After a short easy walk along the boardwalk and through the rainforest you arrive at the sanctuary where we saw not only the white herons, but also nesting Royal Spoonbills and little shags. See my photos to see why it was such a high point of our South Island visit

Date of experience: November 2015
Thank yummyrib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2016

Arrived about 5.30pm for an overnight stay. Room clean and tidy, Internet very good.
I could not get the television to work so rang the proprietor at 7pm. They were at my motel room within 5 minutes and very happy to help.Before she left she told me if i had any other problems just ring. Very accommodating.
SERVICE WITH A SMILE--TOP MARKS.

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank Denise2159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2016

The jet-boat trip down the river was great fun with many wishing to take the wheel!
All the birds, White Heron, Royal Spoonbill and Little Shag were there and also a view of a rare canopy orchid. The Swamp Harrier was around a few times.The board walk through the rain semi-tropical forest was fascinating. Dion new his stuff and ensured safety throughout including making us don the life jackets. Worth every penny and met its promises with a little extra in the orchid.

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank Chrisbeeoxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews