We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
cruizee

Excellent!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Jan 2024
Stayed for one night prior to taking the White Heron Sanctuary Tour the following day. These motel units are great! Adjacent to the tour office, they are spotlessly clean, comfortable beds and full kitchen so you cater for yourselves or family for all meals. The motel is also directly opposite to the one and only cafe and store in Whataroa. Contact White Heron Sanctuary Tours directly for availablility and the best rate.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Mount Adam Lodge
    7.3 km from White Heron Sanctuary Tours Motels
    $385
    • Priceline
      $385
    11.5 km from White Heron Sanctuary Tours Motels
    $222
    • Priceline
      $222
    • Agoda.com
    15.7 km from White Heron Sanctuary Tours Motels
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    $119
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Expedia.com
      $118
    • Hotels.com
      $118
    • ZenHotels.com
      $118
    16.9 km from White Heron Sanctuary Tours Motels
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    $119
      17.0 km from White Heron Sanctuary Tours Motels
      Glacier View Villa
      $219
      Fully refundable
      • Priceline
        $219
      • Hotels.com
        $219
      • Expedia.com
        $219
      17.9 km from White Heron Sanctuary Tours Motels
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      $210
      Fully refundable
      • Priceline
        $210
      • Agoda.com
      18.0 km from White Heron Sanctuary Tours Motels
      Easy and fast booking
      • Vio.com
      • ZenHotels.com
        $88
      18.4 km from White Heron Sanctuary Tours Motels
      $156
      Fully refundable
      • Agoda.com
      18.9 km from White Heron Sanctuary Tours Motels
      $570
      Fully refundable
      • Priceline
        $570
      • Agoda.com
        $552
      • Hotels.com
        $560
      19.1 km from White Heron Sanctuary Tours Motels
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      View more hotels in Whataroa
      Reviews (14)
      Filter reviews
      14 results
      Traveller rating
      9
      2
      2
      1
      0
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      Traveller rating
      9
      2
      2
      1
      0
      See what travellers are saying:
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      1 - 6 of 14 reviews
      Reviewed 9 April 2023 via mobile

      Very comfortable accommodation. Confortable bed, warm and dry unit.
      Everything is very clean. The kitchen is well equipped.
      Dion was also very welcoming.
      Situated in the quiet town of Whataroa, you are only 20 minutes from Okarito for some fantastic kayaking and 20 min from Franz Josef glacier.

      Date of stay: April 2023
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank PaulineBZH
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 26 July 2021

      Great family unit, well equipped, immaculately clean and toasty warm winter nights. Dion and his team are welcoming and have a “can do “ attitude to hosting. It wasn’t white heron season but we will be back again to check it out

      Date of stay: July 2021
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      Thank Bridget L
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 3 January 2020 via mobile

      You know you're on a good thing when the guide mentions he's taking out just the two of you. To find a family business prepared to turn the key at what must be break even point, just to share their passion, is rare.

      Dion gave us a professional and personal experience which was a stand out of this South Island visit. We saw Kotuku (lots of them, and chicks by the dozen), Royal Spoonbills, Harriers, Paradise ducks and forest birds.

      Oh, and the jet boat ride was worth the entry price on its own.

      Thanks

      Date of stay: January 2020
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      2  Thank Oldnslow46
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 4 April 2019

      This accommodation is very clean and comfortable and is in a great location. We had a small kitchen area, small dining table, settee, a good size shower and toilet area and a decked area outside with table and chairs. Very good value for money in the Franz Josef location. There is a shop/cafe across the road and a hotel which is currently closed for renovation. The nearby road is quite busy but we were not disturbed at night by traffic noise.

      Date of stay: March 2019
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Location
        • Rooms
        • Service
      Thank Mgldon
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 18 October 2018

      Excellent though basic accommodation - one large room with a queen and single bed.

      Great bed, huge bathroom, lacked a kitchen sink however bathroom sick plenty large enough if you're OK with that.
      Bring food you can microwave - no hob.
      Very clean and fresh look and smell, nice towels, good shower.
      Covered deck outside the room means you can get wet gear off outside.
      We had a great nights sleep without any lights shining outside the room.
      Stunning views.

      Date of stay: October 2018
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank AngevahnA
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews