We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8)
Filter reviews
8 results
Traveller rating
3
2
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
2
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews franz josef bedroom motel accommodation dion
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 8 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2018 via mobile

We were looking for accommodation near Okarito and were pleased to find this motel available and at a good price (much cheaper than anywhere in Fox or Franz). Comfortable bed, good shower, large accessible bathroom though the bed was in the way to gain access to the bathroom.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank KaritaneMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

We made this booking via an ‘i-site’ Tourist Office and were told that this was the only unit available that night. It was sold as a ‘Studio’ but turned out to be their smallest, grossly overpriced, single room whose bed took up 75% of the space and the kettle, toaster and microwave were crammed claustrophobically on a bench the size of a child’s desk.

Where to eat? Outside was a circular table but the weather precluded its use so we had to jam it into the room.

The walls are thin so we had an interesting evening catching up on the events of importance in the lives of Madge and Mick in the unit next door plus the various friends they invited to extend their biography.
It was also the only motel in extensive travel throughout New Zealand which does not provide a hair dryer – a minor point of course but why not follow the trend?

The problem here was only discovered the next morning when we noticed that the well-set up two-bedroom units next to us remained empty all night while the ‘Vacancy’ sign on the highway flashed the whole night also. So much for being ‘full’! We tackled the youngish male running the office, presumably the son, Dion, who argued that the adjacent empty units were ‘not ready’ for guests and that the Motel was, in fact, full that night.

This was a lie as we looked at the adjacent units and noticed they were fully set up for occupancy with towels on the beds etc. He was abrupt to the point of rudeness and complained that the booking services (in this case ‘i-site’ at Greymouth) charged him a commission and that we would have been better served if we had rung him direct. Since we are from Australia with no workable local phone this was impossible.
We were penalised by him for this ‘charge’ and suffered unknowingly so need to warn others with operators like this who don’t care about their guests – just filling rooms. He actually stormed off saying “I have no time to listen to that”!

Well, Dion, any operator dealing with the public who has no time to listen to them doesn’t care about them either and others may wish to avoid your establishment.

Room Tip: Book direct or you get their cheapest room. There is an undercurrent of deceit in this motel.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hanoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

It's just a jump to the left...
The place you might have stayed in when you were very young, in the best possible way.
Dion gave us Room 1, which was simply huge, 2 very large bedrooms, big bathroom, kitchen, dining room, living room, potbelly stove, front and back doors, carport, big verandah to sit on and whittle. Everything you could have wanted, and definitely in a time warp.
It rained a lot, and inside we were very comfortable. Wi-Fi only functioned on the verandah, which meant it was cold keeping up, but there was no Mb limit, unlike many other places, which was an enlightened policy.
The herons weren't at home, and Whataroa doesn't have much to commend it. Surprisingly, petrol at the one and only service station was about 15c a litre cheaper than Franz Josef.
Well worth staying here, much better value and only about 20 minutes back to Franz Josef.

Room Tip: Room 1 for space if available
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigRedAl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

Very friendly and helpful staff. One of the cleanest motels I have stayed in. Beds were comfortable. Kitchen facilities had plenty of equipment and utensils. Flexible room options. I booked for most of my family and everyone was happy with this Motel. Highly recommend this accommodation.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank sherynatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017

The owners were so friendly & helpful it seems churlish to be negative but the unit is quite old fashioned with flowery decor - classic kiwi motel. We all slept well & cooked a basic meal on the hob, so no complaints apart from the internet hardly made it out to the unit.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank markhb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews