We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8)
Filter reviews
8 results
Traveller rating
3
2
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
2
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews franz josef bedroom motel accommodation dion
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 8 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2018

It's just a jump to the left...
The place you might have stayed in when you were very young, in the best possible way.
Dion gave us Room 1, which was simply huge, 2 very large bedrooms, big bathroom, kitchen, dining room, living room, potbelly stove, front and back doors, carport, big verandah to sit on and whittle. Everything you could have wanted, and definitely in a time warp.
It rained a lot, and inside we were very comfortable. Wi-Fi only functioned on the verandah, which meant it was cold keeping up, but there was no Mb limit, unlike many other places, which was an enlightened policy.
The herons weren't at home, and Whataroa doesn't have much to commend it. Surprisingly, petrol at the one and only service station was about 15c a litre cheaper than Franz Josef.
Well worth staying here, much better value and only about 20 minutes back to Franz Josef.

Room Tip: Room 1 for space if available
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigRedAl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

Very friendly and helpful staff. One of the cleanest motels I have stayed in. Beds were comfortable. Kitchen facilities had plenty of equipment and utensils. Flexible room options. I booked for most of my family and everyone was happy with this Motel. Highly recommend this accommodation.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank sherynatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017

The owners were so friendly & helpful it seems churlish to be negative but the unit is quite old fashioned with flowery decor - classic kiwi motel. We all slept well & cooked a basic meal on the hob, so no complaints apart from the internet hardly made it out to the unit.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank markhb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

I chose to stay in one of their 5 cabins and utilise the common toilet / shower block available to the cabins. Easy car parking right next to each cabin, great bed and I enjoyed two very good night's sleep.

Each cabin has it's own cooking facilities and sufficient cutlery and crockery for all. My cabin had a double bed plus a single in one room, and a sofa bed in the other room.

I chose to have lunch at the shop over the road and tea at the local hotel, each within walking distance.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
2  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016

Due to a mix up, our original accommodation at Hokitika was given away and we were left stranded during the peak holiday season in NZ. Fortunately, the White Heron had space available.

The rooms were clean and had everything you would expect. The town is a one pub town but is very close to Franz Josef. We had a look at the menu for the pub, but decided to drive down to Franz Josef for dinner.

At sunset, we had a great view of the snow covered Mt. Adams from the motel. We would certainly be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank KJules123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews