We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special dinner not so special”

Shelly Beach Golf Club
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a seafood platter for two for my birthday this week, and was very disappointed.
The prawns were frozen and so watery. This is not acceptable as there are prawns available at seafood outlets that are freshly caught on the day. The plate filled with that horrible octopus is cheap and nasty. We have had a seafood platter there previously and it was lovely, but they dropped the ball this time. The fish was cooked nicely, oysters were very small. How about changing what is on this platter, it is time for a revamp. Otherwise the venue and view is amazing.

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2021

I had the worst fish I've ever eaten. My husband had the pork belly salad, which I think was made 2 weeks ago. Pork belly was like rubber, and the cashews were soggy and unedible. The only good thing there is the view. Won't be eating there again

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank Companion563589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2020 via mobile

I had prawn and smoked salmon pasta, which had very weird flavour and almost inedible. It costs almost $30 but I even couldn’t eat half. Such a disappointment.

Date of visit: October 2020
1  Thank francescays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2020

we have been visiting the restaurant for a couple of years but the last visit was very disappointing.
Bad service in fact the head waiter who we have known from previous visits was rude to us when we asked to sit by the windows where there were vacant tables it was a straight out No there reserved yet they weren't going to be used for over an hour we were shunted to the back of the room had our lunch which was overpriced and very ordinary finished eating.the table's by the windows still empty we left and will never return
I would never recommend this place

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank Mraverage1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2020 via mobile

The restaurant at the Golf Club is called Aqua. Had a lovely lunch with friends the battered fish look huge I had chicken parmigiana whic was vey nice and filling. Social distrance ect was implemented. This restaurant pover looks the golf ⛳️ course and sea

Date of visit: June 2020
1  Thank T7451AEsharonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shelly Beach Golf Club also viewed

Toowoon Bay, New South Wales
 
Toowoon Bay, New South Wales
Long Jetty, New South Wales
 

Been to Shelly Beach Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
New Zealand
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.