We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Eric J

The Barn at Killin - Lake Ohau is a Welcome Oasis

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 Apr 2024via mobile
The Barn @ Killin - Lake Ohau is a welcome oasis whether you’re on the Alps 2 Ocean (A2O) cycling adventure, stopping off to spend a couple of days checking out Mt. Cook and the Hooker Valley Track or pausing to enjoy Lake Ohau and the nearby salmon fishing. Hugh and Dwayne are exceptional hosts who go out of their way to make you feel like you are right at home. The beds are are amazing! My wife and I look forward to returning in the future and we encourage you to check them out!
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $162
  • Priceline
17.8 km from The Barn at Killin B&B
Free parking
$198
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
20.3 km from The Barn at Killin B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
Sunset and beautiful gardens at the Mackenzie Country Hotel in Twizel
$236
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
20.5 km from The Barn at Killin B&B
Free parking
Restaurant
$1,425
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
24.0 km from The Barn at Killin B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
$1,025
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $1,025
  • Hotels.com
27.6 km from The Barn at Killin B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
$214
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
25.4 km from The Barn at Killin B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
Spring at the motels
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $119
  • Hotels.com
26.0 km from The Barn at Killin B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
New BigSky Motels and entrance area
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $220
  • Hotels.com
26.0 km from The Barn at Killin B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
Grandview Suite
Contact accommodation for availability.
69.3 km from The Barn at Killin B&B
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Lake Ohau
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
27
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
27
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews best places i have ever stayed a2o hugh hosts guests bedroom nz
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2023

The perfect hosts in the most beautiful location! Hugh and Dwayne have created something really special! The thought and care that they put into making our stay so welcoming, was truly amazing. Luxurious room, food that could grace any top hotels table, delivered with a cheeky charisma, that will want you coming back for more. The guys really do know how to entertain!
Hopefully we will get a chance to be in their company again.
A top place to stay for sure….

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 November 2023

Unanimously agreed that Hugh and Dwayne took the top spot in location, comfort, beauty and hilarity on our A2O journey. Where do I begin... the ride to this remote location is breathtakingly gorgeous, alongside Lake Ohau. Then the greeting is warm and hilarious, then the Barn is straight out of a design magazine, exceptionally tastefully done. Iced tea on arrival as you are shown around Hugh and Dwayne's home is a lovely touch. The rooms are extremely comfortable, bathrooms brand new, everything is spotlessly clean. These two know how to host, dinner was SUPERB! Absolutely delicious and very accommodating of the celiac in our party. Very comfortable beds, lovely shower, another restaurant quality meal for breakfast - and I say restaurant quality, not buffet breakfast styles. All presented beautifully in gorgeous china. A packed lunch is waiting for you on a silver platter as you leave - delicious egg and salad wraps, little treats scattered throughout the lunch packs plus checkered napkin. The attention to detail did not go unnoticed. It was perfection in every way, we most certainly will be back - stay terrible Muriel ;-)

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Number9NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 October 2023

Immaculately clean, amazing decor, attention to destabilise and our comfort was paramount. Hugh and Dwayne are the perfect hosts. We would definitely stay again and bring others back with us. Restaurant quality meals. Thank you so much!!.

Room tip: Just relax and enjoy being totally indulged. These guys know how to host.
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 March 2023 via mobile

Our overnight stay with Hugh and Dwayne at the Barn was a highlight of our A2O bike ride. We were treated to genuine kiwi friendly hospitality, delicious meals including hors d’oeuvres on our arrival and a packed lunch on our departure, a fabulous French themed bedroom with very comfy bed and loved the cosy, inclusive feel of the eating and sitting area. A very special place with wonderful hosts and a poignant history

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Scenic55494348647
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hugh Spiers, Owner at The Barn at Killin B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2023

Thank you, it was a pleasure to look after you & share our home, come back any time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2023

Hugh,Dwayne and Chris thank you so much for helping us out while we were on the A20 you were amazing.
You have created a fantastic place to stay, we throughly enjoyed your company the glorious food the warm and very comfortable rooms.
It was by far the best place we stayed on the A20
Look forward to the next time we visit.
Diane & Bevan Baker 🌺

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank bevanbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews