We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this!”
Review of Adventure Puketi

Adventure Puketi
Book In Advance
More Info
US$111.91*
and up
Bay of Islands Shore Excursion: Puketi Rainforest Guided Walk
More Info
US$57.02*
and up
Puketi Rainforest Guided Walks
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Okaihau
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

Since it's still off season, I reached out to Barbara to ask about availability. She was kind enough to host us at their B&B despite not being open yet for the season! So nice! The accommodation is lovely - clean, spacious, cozy. Bathroom is really nice. Jacuzzi outside was amazing to soak in after our night walk. Breakfast the next morning was filling and delicious, stocked with homemade or locally sourced goodies.

Speaking of the night walk... WOW. What an experience. Definitely worth doing (and no need to stay at the B&B to sign up as the walking tours can be done separately.)

Ian, our guide, and the other owner of the place, grew up playing in this forest as a kid so he knew everything about it and was really passionate about maintaining it and protecting it. The walk is what you make of it... the more interest you have, the more you will see. It was amazing seeing the nightlife come out as it got darker. We saw lots of weta, walking sticks, snails, spiders, plus some Kauri trees, of course!

Overall a really unique experience and definitely worth checking out!

Thank Sara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KAURITREE, Owner at Adventure Puketi, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thank you so much for your review.
We loved having you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2017 via mobile

What a fabulous experience! We did the night walk with Ian and what a knowledgeable and nice person. We learnt all about the forest, the birds (didnt see any but it was pitch black), the bees and everything inbetween. We also saw lots of creepy crawlies. Not once did i feel unsafe during the walk. We were even lucky enough to hear a male Kiwi calling. I would recommend this to anyone in the bay of islands. P.s wear good walking shoes.

Thank Julialeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KAURITREE, Owner at Adventure Puketi, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Thank you for the Review.
The Night walk is our Signature walk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017 via mobile

Even though our ship was late Ian was there waiting and greeted us with a smile. While all the passengers were herded like cattle onto buses, we jumped in Ian's vehicle for a scenic ride to the forest. We avoided all tourists and enjoyed our hike thoroughly, best of all is we didn't see any other people the entire day. We had the entire forest to ourselves and Ian's knowledge of the plant and animal life was the icing on the cake!

Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KAURITREE, Owner at Adventure Puketi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2017

Thank you for the review.We are very lucky the Forest has trails that are unknown to the Tourists.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

The hike was great and having Ian as a guide was the best. He is so knowledgeable about the entire forest. His knowledge of the Flora, fauna, management of the forest made the hiking experience so worthwhile. The Kauri trees were fabulous. Birds are plentiful and Ian is an expert to call and identify.
The management of the tour was efficient. They have one goal, to make your hiking experience the best it could be, including Barbara's homemade muffins.
Talk about service, I lost my sunglasses on the trail. They responded back immediately. They went back on the trail, found my glasses and mailed them back to me.
Wish we could hike there regularly!

Thank recresllc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KAURITREE, Owner at Adventure Puketi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2017

Thank you for the review.Awesome that you had the best hiking experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2017

I am a solo traveller so a well organised , informative tour was my need. This was fulfilled in every way from the moment I was met by Barbara and Ian and taken to meet Helen , my guide for the forest walk. Helen 's knowledge of the trees , plants and vegitation was fantastic as we stopped and examined the plants she explained their uses. She knew the history of the trees . We heard the bird song and saw fantails, Tom tits and a robin. We moved from the main forest track and took a trail deep down into the forest where I had the priveledge of seeing the second oldest Kauri tree in NZ. I was amazed at its size. Here we had a scrumptious picnic lunch provided by Barbara and then the trek back. Although it was a 6 hour walking trip and we covered about 20km it was so interesting that the time flew by. Helen set her walking speed to suit mine and was happy to stop whenever necessary. I can highly recommend this forest walk.

Thank Joan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KAURITREE, Manager at Adventure Puketi, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2017

Thank you for your review, our guides are well versed in the flora, fauna and history of the Pu.keti forest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Adventure Puketi also viewed

Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
Northland Region, North Island
 
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
Okaihau, Northland Region
 

Been to Adventure Puketi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing