We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant!”

Review of La Ferme de Forge

West part of the cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
West part of the cottage
Living room with open fire Part of the kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
West part of the cottage
Living room with open fire
Part of the kitchen
Living room with open fire
Kitchen
Part of renovated dining room (2014)
Downstairs bedroom (14 m2)
Impressionnistes bedroom
Downstairs showerroom
Children's bathroom (2014)
Downstairs showerroom
Children's bedroom (2014)
Impressionnistes bedroom
Large Tintin bedroom (2014)
Bedroom n° 5 (10 m2)
Large Tintin bedroom (2014)
Bedroom n° 5
Showerroom en-suite
Vue du ciel
Typical timber framed wall.
Back side with Zoom
Close neighbours
Gervaise + calves on owner's farm
Chicken house on owner's farm
Internet salon beside owner's house (open Wi-Fi, news, parlour games, DVD...)
Internet salon.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Calvados, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
KFW
Plymouth
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed 17 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Le Ferme de Forge is an old farmhouse in a country setting. The property is clean and nicely decorated. Furnishings are typical French farmhouse, eclectic but comfortable.
We were welcomed by Isabelle and a roaring open log fire with a plentiful supply of logs to keep it going. The accommodation was ideal for us, 3 family groups including 3 young children. Plenty of space to share but also big enough to provide privacy.
Isabelle, the owner speaks very good English and was superb when we needed help following a car breakdown, she couldn't do enough to assist and I am not sure how we would have managed without her help.
We had a really lovely stay, despite the car. Its a lovely region with plenty of interest for everyone.
We would really highly recommend this for a great family get away from it all holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location, really helpful owner
Liked least: Liked it all!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie123...
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Great farmhouse in the Normandy countryside”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The five bedroom farmhouse was spacious for our family of nine. The kitchen was well supplied and the dining area comfortable for a large group. Our host was a wonderful person and very helpful with all holiday information required. The grandchildren loved the animals.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The farmhouse and countryside
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel M
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful week in Normandy”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Just returned from a week at this farmhouse, it is in the heart of the countryside with only the owner Isobel and her farm as neighbours, we had an amazing time the farmhouse is typically french and rustic with a lovely open fireplace we used every evening with plenty of logs in supply, our children aged 7 and 10 had the most wonderful time and freedom with confidence they were safe they fed the lamb by bottle everyday and we had visits from the Bassett hound dogs and sheep on a regular basis which made it even more fun, the garden was safe and backed onto fields as far as you can see, we used the BBQ and all slept very well in the spacious rooms and twin rooms the kids loved their room in particular, the kitchen is well equipped and the house had an overall comfortable and cosy feel, we have stayed in several places in Normandy but would without doubt recommend this one, Isobel is so lovely and helpful and not at all overwhelming but on hand if required. The house is 5 minutes from a fabulous zoo and only 20 from the lovely deauville and trouville, Would def return thank you Isobel for a lovely week.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013 for a stay in May 2012

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We were made very welcome and the property was very cosy.
Liked least: Probably the weather - as we had a fair amount of rain.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing