We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Tom210
Shinjuku, Japan

A fun alternative to the regular beach resort!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 Apr 2024via mobile
We enjoyed our stay at Ikurangi very much. The grounds are beautifully kept with a lovely pool area that we used frequently. The tents make a really fun change to the usual resort set up.
Vicki and Alan were super helpful and friendly and the breakfast they produced each morning was delicious as well as different each day. Thanks guys!
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
View with ocean to my back
$159
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
    $159
  • eDreams
    $159
  • Agoda.com
    $159
2.2 km from Ikurangi Eco Retreat
Free parking
Pool
$230
  • Expedia.com
    $229
  • Vio.com
    $200
  • Hotels.com
    $229
2.5 km from Ikurangi Eco Retreat
Free parking
Pool
$621
  • Expedia.com
    $475
  • Vio.com
    $470
  • Hotels.com
    $475
4.1 km from Ikurangi Eco Retreat
Free parking
Pool
$725
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $725
  • Vio.com
    $619
  • Hotels.com
    $659
4.2 km from Ikurangi Eco Retreat
Free parking
Pool
$468
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    $468
  • Official Site
4.2 km from Ikurangi Eco Retreat
$164
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $164
  • eDreams
    $164
  • Vio.com
    $164
4.1 km from Ikurangi Eco Retreat
Free parking
$6,277
  • ZenHotels.com
    $405
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
5.0 km from Ikurangi Eco Retreat
$450
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $405
  • Hotels.com
    $380
  • Priceline
    $450
5.3 km from Ikurangi Eco Retreat
Free parking
Pool
$1,200
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $1,200
  • Vio.com
    $1,087
  • Booking.com
    $1,200
6.1 km from Ikurangi Eco Retreat
Free parking
Pool
$420
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $378
  • Hotels.com
    $378
  • Vio.com
    $420
6.1 km from Ikurangi Eco Retreat
Free parking
Beachfront
View more hotels in Matavera
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveller rating
184
24
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
184
24
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free bikes every morning outdoor bathroom back roads out door bathroom provide advice second honeymoon would recommend hiring a car an amazing place to stay delivered breakfast the salt water pool real highlight daily breakfast muri beach a short scooter ride no air con thoroughly enjoyed our stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 210 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2024

We had a wonderful relaxing and re-energising stay in our beautiful glamping tent! We were surrounded by gorgeous scenery of lush garden and mountains in the distance. We loved our outdoor bathroom. Showering in the sunshine is the best!!! Our hosts were so friendly and welcoming, helping us to organise things to do and places to go. They delivered the yummiest breakfast to our tent door each morning❤️ We rode the free bikes and swam each day in the pool which we had practically to ourselves! Loved every moment, would definitely book again!!! 🥰

Room tip: Great to hire a car at the airport and then drop off when you leave- very easy!!!
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dean and Adele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 March 2024

We stayed for four nights here. We loved the outdoor bathroom, but hopefully, there were no midnight and dawn rooster crows. The daily breakfasts were different, yummy, fresh, and healthy. Viki and Alan were very kind. Thanks for everything.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Flyer53808185088
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 January 2024

We absolutely loved our stay at Ikurangi Eco Retreat. The location was exactly what we wanted - convenient to get the bus / cycle to main areas, but away from the main road and off the beaten track for more of a secluded feel. I grew to enjoy the roosters in the morning!

We stayed in the safari tent which, along with the outdoor bathroom, provided a unique experience - cosy with everything needed for a comfortable stay. We looked forward to the deliciously fresh breakfasts every morning delivered to our deck, perfect start to a day in paradise. Vicki & Alan could not have been more accommodating, even dropping us home from our Christmas day lunch.

We were appreciative of the bikes and got great use of them. Had some minor issues e.g.loose chain, stiff breaks but they are completely free to use, so no complaints. A suggestion could be to have some upgraded bikes available for a rental fee.

Coming from life in a big city, it took us a while to get used to not having the option to 'lock up' when out during the day like you would in a hotel or home. However, the location (and Raro in general) felt super safe so wasn't much of a concern. A small padlock for the zips would have added to sense of security.

You can really feel the love Vicki & Alan put into the retreat and their commitment to sustainable tourism is much appreciated. A wonderful stay and we are already planning a return trip!

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Eilis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 November 2023 via mobile

An amazing place to stay, in a great location. Easy to get around on the bus or by the free bikes. Vicki and Alan were the best hosts, they helped me with my lost luggage and with tours in Aitutaki. They were so warm and friendly and made me feel like this was a home from home (I was here solo). The gourmet breakfasts were an experience in themselves. I will definitely be back and highly recommend this place to stay!

Room tip: You have to stay here!
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Travelling Circ... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 November 2023

Amazing accommodation, wonderful hosts, highly recommend the luxury tent with the outdoors bath and shower!🙂
Jump on the bikes and ride straight to On the juice for a tropical juice or local coffee!

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Brett B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews