We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Pango Kiwi

Peaceful, beautiful and serene

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Feb 2022via mobile
Serene, nature filled, calm, beautiful, natural. We loved our stay at Ikurangi. You can see and feel the genuine passion and care Vicki and Alan have for hosting people in their slice of paradise.
Vicki was always so happy to help with organising things like activities and booking dinners, and Alan makes the best tropical breakfasts we’ve ever had.
If you’re not into staying at resorts and keen for a quiet and peaceful stay, this is the place.
Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vicki and Alan C, Owner at Ikurangi Eco Retreat, responded to this review
Responded 11 Feb 2022
Kia Orana Bonnie, now that the border is open again, we are so happy to welcome lovely guests like yourself and Sam. Thank you for choosing to stay at Ikurangi in our little paradise. Kia Manuia, Vicki & Alan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
0.6 km from Ikurangi Eco Retreat
View with ocean to my back
$139
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
    $139
2.2 km from Ikurangi Eco Retreat
Free parking
Pool
$257
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $234
  • Expedia.com
    $286
2.5 km from Ikurangi Eco Retreat
Free parking
Pool
external
$298
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $298
  • eDreams
    $298
3.4 km from Ikurangi Eco Retreat
Free parking
$300
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • StayForLong
3.8 km from Ikurangi Eco Retreat
Free parking
Pool
$238
Fully refundable
No fees just great deals
  • Booking.com
  • Destinia.com
3.8 km from Ikurangi Eco Retreat
$725
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $724
  • Agoda.com
    $626
  • Hotels.com
    $725
4.2 km from Ikurangi Eco Retreat
Free parking
Pool
$164
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
    $164
  • Vio.com
4.1 km from Ikurangi Eco Retreat
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
4.3 km from Ikurangi Eco Retreat
Free parking
Beachfront
6.2 km from Ikurangi Eco Retreat
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Matavera
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveller rating
184
24
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
184
24
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free bikes every morning outdoor bathroom back roads out door bathroom provide advice second honeymoon would recommend hiring a car an amazing place to stay delivered breakfast the salt water pool real highlight daily breakfast muri beach a short scooter ride no air con thoroughly enjoyed our stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 210 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2022 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We had a wonderful view of the jungle and mountain from our room. Daily breakfast was delicious and the hosts took a genuine interest in our stay making us feel welcomed. The bikes made getting around fun and convenient and when we got back from exploring rhe island the pool helped us cool down. Cuddles with their animals was a bonus!

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Rom592
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vicki and Alan C, Owner at Ikurangi Eco Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2022

Kia Orana Romain, thanks for your review - we especially appreciate it having been closed until recently due to COVID. We always enjoy guiding couples like you and Libby, a little bit, then leaving you to enjoy the romance of Rarotonga yourselves. Kia Manuia, Vicki & Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2021

I stayed here for three nights as a solo female traveler after a few nights staying at Muri Beach. I felt extremely safe and looked after. The property is just beautiful, as are the tents/units to stay in. Breakfast is a treat; tropical food being served to your room by Alan. It was such a relaxing stay, though a bit on the pricey side, I would overall recommend it for solo travellors and couples wanting to experience the nature of Rarotonga.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TajGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vicki and Alan C, Owner at Ikurangi Eco Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2021

Kia Orana Dushi, thanks for taking the time to write a review, it was lovely to meet you. We often have guests travelling on their own as Ikurangi is a safe haven away from the bustling crowds. We hope next time your partner can make it too! Kia Manuia, Vicki & Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2021 via mobile

Our trip to Rarotonga was amazing and it was truly made by our stay at Ikurangi. Ikurangi is the perfect place for a relaxing, tranquil getaway. The handmade breakfasts every morning were a huge highlight and it was the best food that we ate on the island.
The hosts Alan and Vicki are wonderful hosts who go above and beyond and organised everything we needed. We can’t wait for our next stay there and would absolutely recommend!

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank alexbU1468GC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vicki and Alan C, Owner at Ikurangi Eco Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2021

Kia Orana Alex, thanks so much for your review and recommending Ikurangi! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you and Stuart again in the future. Kia Manuia, Vicki & Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2020

Ikurangi was a great base for my stay in Rarotonga. The flight from LA arrives very early in the morning, and Ikurangi offers an option for early checkin so I was able to go directly to the property and settle in. Later that morning Alan brought breakfast and showed me around the property, as well as giving me information about the island and getting around. The breakfasts were always excellent, taking full advantage of the amazing fresh fruit available on the island :)
There ended up being some nasty weather while I was there, and I had to redo my schedule. Vicki and Alan were incredibly helpful, and got me sorted out with new reservations and activities very efficiently so I was still able to do and see a lot in my time there. During the bits where there was heavy rain, I enjoyed sitting on my deck and watching the weather!
It's located about halfway between Avarua and Muri, with both being about and hours walk or a quick bike (bikes are available on the property for free). It's well back from the main road, so it's quiet except for nature sounds (like roosters!) and there's a lot of greenery around. It's a very pleasant location and I slept fabulously

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zymm658
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vicki and Alan Candish, Owner at Ikurangi Eco Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2020

Kia Orana Anne, we appreciate your review. We always say there’s as much or as little as you want to do in the Cook Islands and you got the balance just right. As Ikurangi is set in nature, keeping dry and warm on your private deck watching the moody weather over the mountains is certainly relaxing. Kia Manuia Vicki & Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2020

We originally set off for a Fiji holiday with our 2 adult daughters but became stranded in Auckland after our Fiji flights were cancelled due to Cyclone Sarai. In a snap decision, we decided to divert our holiday and try Rarotonga for the first time and we are so glad we did.

We booked into Ikurangi Eco Retreat for 9 nights and always up for trying something different, we chose "glamping" in their African safari tents complete with comfortable beds, fridge, electricity, tea/ coffee, eco-toilet, private outdoor shower, outdoor deck for dining, set in beautiful tropical surroundings with a pool. Our tents had a beautiful mountain view (see attached pic) and we used the beautiful covered decking area for evening drinks, eating in and a couple of game evenings when we didn't want to go out. On one of these nights, we ordered the "platter" which Vicki and Alan organise with a local business to be delivered - superb is the only way to describe this platter (see pics)

This is not really out of the way - its a nice distance from the road, a short walk or ride to good coffee and a comfortable ride to Muri. We hired a small car to be able to travel to all the different beach spots and restaurants each night.

We loved the complimentary and healthy breakfast - something different every day and delivered to our deck each morning.

Vicki and Allan (retreat owners) are great people and wonderful hosts, they give guests a full briefing of things to do, places to go and where to eat (Allan is a chef so knows his food and all the best restaurants).  He also ran us into Muri to pick up and drop off the rental car.

So if you are up for something a little different, we highly recommend you try Ikurangi Eco Retreat. 

Having been staunch Fiji supporters for many years, we will now be splitting out pacific holidays and coming back to Raro - its such a welcoming place.

Thanks for a wonderful experience - Marty, Liz, Emily and Charlotte from NZ.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizbeth3055
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vicki and Alan Candish, Owner at Ikurangi Eco Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2020

Kia Orana Legge family. Thanks for taking the time to write a detailed review and sharing your photos. It was our pleasure hosting you and we are so glad you enjoyed your special holiday together at Ikurangi. See you next time you visit Rarotonga! Kia Manuia Vicki & Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews