We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Alex B

Wonderful hosts, wonderful place.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Jul 2021via mobile
Our trip to Rarotonga was amazing and it was truly made by our stay at Ikurangi. Ikurangi is the perfect place for a relaxing, tranquil getaway. The handmade breakfasts every morning were a huge highlight and it was the best food that we ate on the island.
The hosts Alan and Vicki are wonderful hosts who go above and beyond and organised everything we needed. We can’t wait for our next stay there and would absolutely recommend!
Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vicki and Alan C, Owner at Ikurangi Eco Retreat, responded to this review
Responded 1 Sept 2021
Kia Orana Alex, thanks so much for your review and recommending Ikurangi! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you and Stuart again in the future. Kia Manuia, Vicki & Alan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
View with ocean to my back
$139
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $139
  • Vio.com
    $139
  • Agoda.com
    $139
2.2 km from Ikurangi Eco Retreat
Free parking
Pool
$278
  • Expedia.com
    $305
  • Vio.com
    $241
  • Priceline
    $331
2.5 km from Ikurangi Eco Retreat
Free parking
Pool
$208
Fully refundable
  • StayForLong
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
3.8 km from Ikurangi Eco Retreat
Free parking
Pool
$208
Fully refundable
No fees just great deals
  • Booking.com
  • Destinia.com
3.8 km from Ikurangi Eco Retreat
$725
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $725
  • ZenHotels.com
    $521
  • Hotels.com
    $725
4.2 km from Ikurangi Eco Retreat
Free parking
Pool
$1,643
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $1,760
  • Vio.com
    $1,524
  • Official Site
    $1,600
4.2 km from Ikurangi Eco Retreat
Free parking
Pool
$704
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $692
  • Vio.com
    $584
  • Priceline
    $639
4.6 km from Ikurangi Eco Retreat
Free parking
Pool
$1,030
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $1,115
  • Vio.com
    $941
  • Priceline
    $1,029
4.7 km from Ikurangi Eco Retreat
Free parking
Pool
  • ZenHotels.com
    $501
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
5.0 km from Ikurangi Eco Retreat
$500
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $500
  • Hotels.com
    $442
  • Priceline
    $500
5.3 km from Ikurangi Eco Retreat
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Matavera
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveller rating
184
24
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
184
24
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free bikes every morning outdoor bathroom back roads out door bathroom provide advice second honeymoon would recommend hiring a car an amazing place to stay delivered breakfast the salt water pool real highlight daily breakfast muri beach a short scooter ride no air con thoroughly enjoyed our stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 210 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2020

Ikurangi was a great base for my stay in Rarotonga. The flight from LA arrives very early in the morning, and Ikurangi offers an option for early checkin so I was able to go directly to the property and settle in. Later that morning Alan brought breakfast and showed me around the property, as well as giving me information about the island and getting around. The breakfasts were always excellent, taking full advantage of the amazing fresh fruit available on the island :)
There ended up being some nasty weather while I was there, and I had to redo my schedule. Vicki and Alan were incredibly helpful, and got me sorted out with new reservations and activities very efficiently so I was still able to do and see a lot in my time there. During the bits where there was heavy rain, I enjoyed sitting on my deck and watching the weather!
It's located about halfway between Avarua and Muri, with both being about and hours walk or a quick bike (bikes are available on the property for free). It's well back from the main road, so it's quiet except for nature sounds (like roosters!) and there's a lot of greenery around. It's a very pleasant location and I slept fabulously

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zymm658
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vicki and Alan Candish, Owner at Ikurangi Eco Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2020

Kia Orana Anne, we appreciate your review. We always say there’s as much or as little as you want to do in the Cook Islands and you got the balance just right. As Ikurangi is set in nature, keeping dry and warm on your private deck watching the moody weather over the mountains is certainly relaxing. Kia Manuia Vicki & Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2020

We originally set off for a Fiji holiday with our 2 adult daughters but became stranded in Auckland after our Fiji flights were cancelled due to Cyclone Sarai. In a snap decision, we decided to divert our holiday and try Rarotonga for the first time and we are so glad we did.

We booked into Ikurangi Eco Retreat for 9 nights and always up for trying something different, we chose "glamping" in their African safari tents complete with comfortable beds, fridge, electricity, tea/ coffee, eco-toilet, private outdoor shower, outdoor deck for dining, set in beautiful tropical surroundings with a pool. Our tents had a beautiful mountain view (see attached pic) and we used the beautiful covered decking area for evening drinks, eating in and a couple of game evenings when we didn't want to go out. On one of these nights, we ordered the "platter" which Vicki and Alan organise with a local business to be delivered - superb is the only way to describe this platter (see pics)

This is not really out of the way - its a nice distance from the road, a short walk or ride to good coffee and a comfortable ride to Muri. We hired a small car to be able to travel to all the different beach spots and restaurants each night.

We loved the complimentary and healthy breakfast - something different every day and delivered to our deck each morning.

Vicki and Allan (retreat owners) are great people and wonderful hosts, they give guests a full briefing of things to do, places to go and where to eat (Allan is a chef so knows his food and all the best restaurants).  He also ran us into Muri to pick up and drop off the rental car.

So if you are up for something a little different, we highly recommend you try Ikurangi Eco Retreat. 

Having been staunch Fiji supporters for many years, we will now be splitting out pacific holidays and coming back to Raro - its such a welcoming place.

Thanks for a wonderful experience - Marty, Liz, Emily and Charlotte from NZ.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizbeth3055
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vicki and Alan Candish, Owner at Ikurangi Eco Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2020

Kia Orana Legge family. Thanks for taking the time to write a detailed review and sharing your photos. It was our pleasure hosting you and we are so glad you enjoyed your special holiday together at Ikurangi. See you next time you visit Rarotonga! Kia Manuia Vicki & Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2020

I understand the importance of writing good, honest, and accurate reviews. I 100% agree with most of the reviews placed on here that speak in glowing terms of just how good Ikurangi Eco Retreat really is. I was a little skeptical about booking my stay here as it looked a little bit off the beaten track, but worry not its just 5 minutes away from the main road and once there its only a 5-10 minute bike ride to several cafes which serve great coffee (Yes you have access to free push bikes and helmets too!). I would recommend hiring either a scooter or a car if you are staying here it helps you to get around the entire island and gives you that added flexibility to do just that.

When I arrived I was made to feel welcome from the moment I arrived. Ive stopped at hotels, resorts and AirBnB properties in some 30 different countries, often feeling that im an individual with no name and a room number assigned. Vicki and Alan took the time to greet me, pass on their local knowledge of where to go and what to do. They also made sure that I had everything I needed when I arrived at my room. I was a "person" to the owners which is a refreshing change to the often one line of "heres your room key off you go" How many times have I heard that before!

The room was clean, tidy and immaculately presented throughout. Theres tea, coffee and fresh milk along with plenty of fresh bottled water. One of the real bonuses of staying at this resort is that they deliver healthy breakfasts each morning which are different each day. Each breakfast was definately fresh,tasty and wholesome food that is sourced locally. If you like coffee Neil Dearlove's place is just a 10 minute cycle away; Neil is considered as Rarotonga's Mr Coffee as he roasts his own coffee beans on site, I visited each day and it didnt dissapoint, in fact the standard of coffee is good around the island.

If you want to spend time away from a highly populated resort for some peace, quiet and tranquility this retreat is your place. The grounds are also immaculately presented as is the on site swimming pool.

The Ikurangi Eco Retreat is most definately recommended, thank you for such a hassle free stay. I will come back when I next stay at Rarotonga.

Ka Kite kōrua👍

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank RobCh84
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vicki and Alan C, Owner at Ikurangi Eco Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2020

Kia Orana Robert, you certainly are a "person" - a very kind one. Thank you for writing such an informative review, we really appreciate it. We are so happy to have been able to provide you with a restful space to unwind and recharge. See you next time! Kia Manuia, Vicki & Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2020

This was one of our most relaxing vacations we have ever taken and it was large in part due to our stay at Ikurangi! The devil is in the details and this place takes that to heart. Some of the details that we loved:

-We arrived early before the reception office opened and were led to our room by our shuttle driver. We were given a warm welcome by Possum the cat!

-After a short nap (with new cat friend) to recover from the long flight, we were greeted with a beautiful tropical healthy breakfast and met Vicky and Alan, the friendly owners of the property.

-Daily healthy and delicious breakfasts varied for all 7 days we were there.

-Free bikes to explore the island added so much fun to our trip! We rode to the needle, all around the circumference of the island, and explored off the beaten path!

-Wonderfully spacious and clean rooms serviced every day (except Sundays)

-Lovely smelling natural shampoo and conditioner

-Fresh flowers placed on the patio table and inside the room

-Environmentally conscious hosts and business model

-Excellent coffee (trust me this can be hard to find on this Island)

-Incredible view of the mountains

-Our cat friend named Possum who visited us every day but was such a smart cat that he was conscious of other guests who may not appreciate visits ;)

-Our amazing hosts Vicky and Alan who went above and beyond to make our stay as relaxing as possible. They were extremely considerate in all ways, offering us a ride into town on multiple occasions when we needed to pick up something. Or just free to chat about anything that comes to mind. By the end of your trip, they will be your friends :)

We had such a wonderful time here that we were sad when we moved to a rental on the beach! HA! It was lovely too but Ikurangi makes you feel like you're home. We can't wait to go back.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karniki403
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vicki and Alan C, Owner at Ikurangi Eco Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2020

Kia Orana Karen and Jonathan, thanks so much for your review it really was our pleasure meeting you both - forgive the cliche but we felt you arrived as strangers and left as friends. We hope to see you again some day! Kia Manuia, Vicki & Alan & Possum -^.^-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2019

My Partner and I recently stayed in one of the tents at Ikurangi for 4 nights and absolutely loved it.
Beautiful and quiet setting with a beautiful garden and a wonderful view. The owner Vicki and Alen are so friendly and helpful whether you just want to have some tips or actually need help to book restaurants, events or transportations, both are very knowledgeable about the island. We loved the breakfast every morning which was so lovely prepared and very tasty. One night we ordered a platter for dinner which was served on our terrace and it was absolutely fantastic!!!! It was too much food but we nearly finished everything and stored some leftover in the fridge, you don’t want to waste this:-). Good quality and tasty Coffee in the room as well as Bikes and snorkelling equipment are complimentary and it is easy to get around the Island. We felt very well looked after but still enjoyed our own time!
Highly recommend! We definitely would come back.

Thank you Vicki and Alen, we still talk about our stay in Ikurangi.

Note: I did not realised and considered 20hrs time difference when I booked my stay on the Cook Islands. Luckily Vicki helped me to adjust the bookings.
In addition, we had some Visa problems at the airport in Rarotonga on our way back. We are foreign pass holders and apparently, in October, New Zealand had a change in transit visa requirements . We and some other guests did not know this and had issues to check in, as we booked our flights back in September. Worth mentioning it was midnight and we had no internet access. If you fly via New Zealand make sure you have a transit visa. Anyway the staff at the airport where extremely helpful and at the end we all could board.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank NicoleZ1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vicki and Alan C, Owner at Ikurangi Eco Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2020

Kia Orana Nicole, thanks for your thoughtful review. We enjoy sharing our knowledge to ensure our lovely guests like you get the most of their stay here at Ikurangi and in the whole of the Cook Islands. Kia Manuia, Vicki & Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews