We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Graham N
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Peaceful and comfortable
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 Mar 2018
The Otago Peninsula Motel is comfortable, clean, efficient, well appointed and good size rooms. It suited our needs and they had lovely views from the rooms. Reception were friendly and helpful. About 25 minutes from Dunedin.
Date of stay: January 2018
Room Tip: Sea facing room. They are all quiet and peaceful
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
0.2 km from Otago Peninsula Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
0.3 km from Otago Peninsula Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Our comfortable bed.
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
0.7 km from Otago Peninsula Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$180
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Agoda.com
3.0 km from Otago Peninsula Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
10.9 km from Otago Peninsula Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
1.3 km from Otago Peninsula Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
11.4 km from Otago Peninsula Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
11.1 km from Otago Peninsula Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Small studio
Contact accommodation for availability.
11.1 km from Otago Peninsula Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
13.5 km from Otago Peninsula Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Portobello
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
87
41
8
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
87
41
8
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 138 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2018

Made very welcome by the owner at check-in. Room was spotlessly clean and well appointed. We had an upstairs room and had a great view from our deck. The bed was very comfortable and there was no noise from other rooms or traffic.

Room tip: Best views from upstairs rooms
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MaryOtagoPeninsula, Owner at Otago Peninsula Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2018

Thank you for your nice review so pleased youenjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018 via mobile

Lovely motel. Very warm welcome. Clean, comfortable and quiet.
Perfect location away from the hustle & bustle, but still with all the amenities in Portabello.
Will definitely stay here again if in the area.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Lin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 January 2018

Everything in our experience with Otago Peninsula went fine. I had a great contact with the manager, Greg, over email to book accommodation, ultra-reactive and friendly. Check-in went on smoothly although we were a bit early to take the room. The one bedroom unit - number 5 - was very comfortable, very clean, well equipped with usual tea, coffee (including French press doses, thank you very much) and more for cooking meals. The Motel itself is perfectly located at the heart of the beautiful Otago peninsula, with three eating places and one deli just one minute away. It is a wonderfully quiet place with a nice view on the Bay. Nature lovers, this is the place to be to explore the Peninsula.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edmerich
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

Hubby and I, booked a king studio (room 4 )on the 9th of December 2017. The room was spacious, the bed was very comfortable and a large bathroom with spa. Everything is very clean and up dated. The view from our room of the bay was stunning.

Mary and Gerrald, are very nice hosts and welcoming. They even booked us into the 1908 Restaurant for our tea. The 1908 restaurant was very nice and the food was very delicious. My hubby had lamb shanks.

We really enjoyed our stay at this motel. Highly recommended place to stay around Otago Peninsula

Danny & Rowena Steel

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Cupcake_oo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MaryOtagoPeninsula, Owner at Otago Peninsula Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Thank you Danny and Rowena so pleased you enjoyed your night away and 1908 still has delicious meals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

This was my second stay here. An adequate solid motel. It has beautiful views of Latham Bay and the Otago harbour. Delightful and sublime to wake up to in any weather, especially in the early morning, mist or with sunshine and clear skies.

Close to delightful walks and excellent eateries and restaurants.

While our room had a heat pump (reverse cycle air conditioning), it did feel somewhat cold around the edges, though it warmed up after a while and was perfectly fine. Bathroom was cold to walk into first time in the morning.

There is also an unusual rule about not being allowed to use oil when cooking. I presume this even extends to shallow frying with olive oil. I was aware of this so brought ingredients that did not require oil for cooking. However, it is something that would deter me from staying long term as I enjoy cooking lots of different kinds of dishes. I'm really wanting to find somewhere I can stay for a month while my house is being renovated and was thinking of Portobello (and this motel in particular), but this rule would probably put me off from doing so. On the positive side though, the kitchen is spotlessly clean (as if it's hardly ever used).

Decor, furnishing, fittings and bedding is slightly dated, but acceptable.

I've stayed in a room with a spa bath (jacuzzi) before (this time not). Would give this place 4 Stars if staying in the spa bath room again.

Would stay again for the beautiful views and relaxing atmosphere, though not long term (anymore than a few nights). A good place to stay for one to three nights while touring the idyllic Otago peninsula.

Room tip: Choose a room with a view on the second story.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Horizon_The_Island
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MaryOtagoPeninsula, Owner at Otago Peninsula Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

We have now renovated all our units for the 2017/2018 season come and stay and enjoy the excellent view from all our units. Off course we would allow cooking with oil for extended period of time ie two to four week etc. But for that length of time I would suggested staying in a home which there are a few on the Peninsula. But we have had families and couples stay for three weeks often and thoroughly enjoyed our motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews