We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Horizon_The_Island
Dunedin, New Zealand
Beautiful Views
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Aug 2017
This was my second stay here. An adequate solid motel. It has beautiful views of Latham Bay and the Otago harbour. Delightful and sublime to wake up to in any weather, especially in the early morning, mist or with sunshine and clear skies.

Close to delightful walks and excellent eateries and restaurants.

While our room had a heat pump (reverse cycle air conditioning), it did feel somewhat cold around the edges, though it warmed up after a while and was perfectly fine. Bathroom was cold to walk into first time in the morning.

There is also an unusual rule about not being allowed to use oil when cooking. I presume this even extends to shallow frying with olive oil. I was aware of this so brought ingredients that did not require oil for cooking. However, it is something that would deter me from staying long term as I enjoy cooking lots of different kinds of dishes. I'm really wanting to find somewhere I can stay for a month while my house is being renovated and was thinking of Portobello (and this motel in particular), but this rule would probably put me off from doing so. On the positive side though, the kitchen is spotlessly clean (as if it's hardly ever used).

Decor, furnishing, fittings and bedding is slightly dated, but acceptable.

I've stayed in a room with a spa bath (jacuzzi) before (this time not). Would give this place 4 Stars if staying in the spa bath room again.

Would stay again for the beautiful views and relaxing atmosphere, though not long term (anymore than a few nights). A good place to stay for one to three nights while touring the idyllic Otago peninsula.
Date of stay: March 2017
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
0.2 km from Otago Peninsula Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Booking.com
0.3 km from Otago Peninsula Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Our comfortable bed.
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
0.7 km from Otago Peninsula Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Hotels.com
    $177
  • Agoda.com
    $146
  • Expedia.com
    $180
3.0 km from Otago Peninsula Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Bedroom
Booking.com
$176
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
3.3 km from Otago Peninsula Motel
Tui 2 Macandrew Bay
Booking.com
$115
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
4.9 km from Otago Peninsula Motel
Harbourview Stadium Hotel
Booking.com
$125
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
8.3 km from Otago Peninsula Motel
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
$107
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
9.0 km from Otago Peninsula Motel
Free Wifi
Booking.com
$165
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
9.2 km from Otago Peninsula Motel
Free parking
Booking.com
$154
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $125
  • Vio.com
10.5 km from Otago Peninsula Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Portobello
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
87
41
8
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
87
41
8
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 138 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2017

Located in the center of town with a beautiful bay view. We stumbled onto this motel and were impressed with the personal service, we booked immediately ! The room was spacious,extremely clean,great mini kitchen, coffee and tea, a self service laundry ( also very clean),comfortable bed,large bathroom and great wifi. We used the laundry machine to wash our much traveled clothes and purchased soap from the front desk. The view of the bay was relaxing and there's a restaurant right next door. Has off street parking. Highly recommended place to stay !!

Room tip: For best views chose upper floors, however if you need wheelchair access the bottom is a must
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cwiltens
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MaryOtagoPeninsula, Owner at Otago Peninsula Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2017

Thank you for your lovely review. Yes the view is wonderful from all the units and excellent WIFI.
Over the winter months while closed we are newly renovating all our units for the 2017/2018 season exciting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017

Mary provided very nice, friendly and prompt service and was very welcoming. The rooms were nice and scrupulously clean. They were also very quiet. I will certainly stay here again on my next trip.
The Royal Albatross Center was certainly worth a visit, as was the short climb to the Soldier's Memorial.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Yoyodyne7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MaryOtagoPeninsula, Owner at Otago Peninsula Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Thank you for your lovely review, so pleased you had a wonderful stay out in paradise on your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

This Motel has spacious rooms and good beds. You have basic cooking utensils at your disposal and there's gear to make some tea and coffee. The bathroom and room decoration is a bit dated. Everything is very clean. I appreciated the milk provided for breakfast.

The situation on the Otago Peninsula is nice. The view from our room (4) on the bay is beautiful but for some electricity poles. Dunedin Centre is 17 km of pretty, winding coastal road away.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Willem K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MaryOtagoPeninsula, Owner at Otago Peninsula Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2017

Thank you for your review. Yes the view is wonderful from all the units as being just across the road to the water. The road out to the peninsula is windy but beautiful right beside the harbour plus the Highcliff Rd we have too the views there are the best on a good day you can see for miles over the sea and as you get closer to Dunedin all over the town. Unit 4 has a spa bath which are very popular so we aren't in a hurry to change sorry, and its only been a couple of years we decorated the units which we like.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017

We had to put my parents here last minute as the motel we booked turned out to not fit everyone in our large group. My parents were very satisfied with the stay. Their room even had a view of the peninsula. The owner gave us great advice on where to visit and which tours were considered the best value for money. She recommended Allan's Beach to us and it turned out to be the best part of our Dunedin visit. The motel is well located on the peninsula if you wish to be closer to the wildlife and away from the city. It's also walking distance to relevant stores and restaurants.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank chewyyyyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MaryOtagoPeninsula, Owner at Otago Peninsula Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2017

Thank you yes all our motels have wonderful harbour views as being just over the road from the water. Disappointing for you the motel you booked up the road could not hold you all when they said the unit would, so yes we loved having your parents and telling you a few good places we enjoy going to on the Peninsula.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017

My partner Patrick and I stayed at the property for 3 nights in Jan this year.. Mary & Gerrald are fantastic hosts so welcoming. The view from our units was lovely. We had one night on a ground floor and then moved upstairs for the last 2 nights. The size of the room is fantastic, very comfortable bed and good size TV. The shower was fantastic, great pressure. Good laundry and parking.
Really nice location, really nice drive from the city centre.
Would stay again if visiting the area.
Debbie & Patrick Dunne

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank refuge
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MaryOtagoPeninsula, Owner at Otago Peninsula Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2017

Thank you for you lovely review, Gerrald and I are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, yes the view is certainly lovely from all the units esp the top floor. When cleaning we do have trouble some days to clean and not just sit and enjoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews