We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (540)
Filter reviews
540 results
Traveller rating
457
77
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
457
77
5
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 540 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2020 via mobile

We arrived a little later than planned but were greeted warmly by Jo and had a gorgeous 2 night stay in cottage 6. We didnt have a seaview but that didnt matter as we were out and about during the day. The 2 bedroom cottage had everything we needed, spotlessly clean, beautiful decor, even the portacot had a very fun The Very Hungry Caterpillar blanket! We woke to lovely birds each morning and we saw them at the bird feeders in the garden. Conveniently located 15-20min away from the Royal Albatross Centre and Penguin Place. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank AmMoNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 March 2020

I traveled for 2 months through the South Island and this was the best place I stayed in. I so wish I had more than 2 nights. First of all you are in your own little cottage so you don't hear anything from the places next to you. The moment I walked in It felt the like home! So comfortable and tastefully decorated, the beds were covered with beautiful cotton spreads, not the slick nylon types. Everything I needed was there and the place was spotless. I think what I loved the most was how much light came into the studio...windows everywhere and sliding glass doors to a little balcony. PLUS, the Tuis and Bell birds were singing outside my balcony!! The owner was incredibly hospitable. This is the kind of place you want to stay in when you travel...and you don't want to leave!!

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kayaklover456
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 March 2020

We stayed for 3 nights in one of the studios. It was clean, comfortable and very well equipped. The kitchen has a fridge, microwave and electric hob and everything you need. There is parking and good WiFi. For us the highlight was sitting on the balcony and looking at the view over the harbour. The restaurants and cafe are only a couple minutes walk away; we tried the local fish and chip shop which was really good. The Royal Albatross Centre is only 20 minutes drive away and is well worth a visit. Highly recommended!

Room tip: Choose a studio if you want a view over the harbour
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Debra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 March 2020 via mobile

We had a delightful stay at the Portobello Motel. We were in cottage 5 which had its own small garden, kitchenette/dining/living room, separate bedroom and shower room. The hosts were very helpful and friendly. Thoroughly recommend this motel and a great spot, just 15 mins drive to the Albatross Centre/Blue penguins.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 March 2020 via mobile

Stayed two nights in a Studio King Cottage which had everything we needed for a pleasant stay. Our cottage was tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean and quiet. The King bed was probably the most comfortable on our two week trip of NZ. The shower had great pressure plus heated lights and towel warmer. The kitchenette was well equipped. It even had a teapot for tea lovers like myself. Bonus!
Enjoyed relaxing in the two stylish lounge chairs, taking in the harbour views and birds in the garden.
The location was great as a jumping off point of the Otago Peninsula’s attractions. The pub at the end of the driveway was also convenient. Good counter meals.
Recommend.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank 21girlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews