We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,385)
Filter reviews
1,385 results
Traveller rating
733
356
167
70
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
733
356
167
70
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kids club liberty tree leisure centre fourth floor family break food was lovely lovely hotel next morning both nights family room a great deal steak night stay bar food great value for money staff were very friendly enjoyable stay
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 1,385 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2018

Had a lovely time here. Staff were so friendly and helpful. Food was very nice and a good choice on the menu. Will go back. Room was very clean and lots of space. Will go Back again. The meal and Bowling deal is very good offer.

Date of stay: April 2018
Thank fi12018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTHC, Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Dear fi12018,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Talbot Hotel Carlow. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you come back and visit us very soon, we would be delighted to welcome you.

Kind Regards,

Talbot Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

Just back from an amazing 2 night weekend stay in the Milford Suite to celebrate my boyfriends birthday. The suite was out of this world. Very modern, spacious, spotless and the decor was to die for. Our favorite part was the huge bathroom with 2 rain showers and a deep bath. There was two flat screen Smart TVs in the room and one of them was impressively at the end of the 4 poster bed. The coffee machine was a nice touch too!
The leisure center was very good, we really enjoyed the jacuzzi.
We also had food at the bar and staff service was excellent, even when it was very busy. We had breakfast both mornings with the fabulous 4th floor view overlooking the countryside. Food was always fresh and tasty.
Every single staff member was excellent, attentive and always tried their best to make our stay amazing. Could not fault this hotel.
Will definitely be returning again soon. I will be highly recommending the Talbot to friends and family!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Leen17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTHC, Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Dear Leen17,

Thanks for taking the time to review the Talbot Hotel Carlow. We are thrilled to hear you had such a lovely stay. We love the Milford Suite and always get some fantastic feedback.

I will be delighted to pass on your wonderful comments to our dedicated staff.

Kind Regards,

Talbot Staff


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018

We booked a dinner and 1 night stay for a surprise Birthday for my Mother. From the moment we checked in to the moment we left, our stay was excellent. The rooms were good quality, clean and the food was excellent. But the most enjoyable part was the staff. From the moment we checked, the staff were friendly and polite. Also a special thank you to the staff in the restaurant who helped with pictures and joined in on some of the banter we were having.
Thank you to all.
The Lawlor Family.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken_Law14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTHC, Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Dear Ken_Law14,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Talbot Hotel Carlow.

We are delighted to hear you were well looked after by our dedicated staff. We will be sure to pass on the lovely comments. We hope to see you again very soon.

Talbot Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018 via mobile

Front desk staff very pleasent and helpful. There was a wedding on when we stayed there and we were given a room on the far side of the hotel away from the noise.

The room itself was large and comfortable. It was bright and very clean with flat screen TV and complimentary toiletriesy. Always a nice touch, especially in a 4 star hotel.

We had a drink in the bar during the day. I was served a pint in a roasting hot glass fresh from the dishwasher, I was not impressed! The bar man looked quite young and was a bit nervous so I guessed new, not yet trained staff,and said nothing.

The resteraunt wasnt open for dinner, however the menu was available in the bar. We had a set menu which came with a complimentary bottle of wine. The food was all delicious and the waitress was lovely and friendly. Such good value would highly recommend it.

We had a cocktail after dinner and it was delicious. Made by an older more experienced barman. It was a lovely endto the night.

The only real negative with our stay was breakfast. The food was awful. The scrambled eggs made me physically ill to look at. I seen them being brought out so they were "fresh" but only half cooked, swimming in raw egg. Vile.
There was delicious homemade stylebrown bread on the continental table so we had that with beans. Such a let down considering the quality of our stay up until that. Also saw a breakfast staff member wipe a table with a napkin and then put a knife and fork on it for for the next customer. It was only crumbs but still unacceptable. This breakfast experience is the reason for the 3 stars.

Would definitely go back but probably leave the breakfast out next time.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Terballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTHC, Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Dear Terballs,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Talbot Hotel Carlow & each department, it is very helpful. We are glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry to hear the hotel breakfast was not satisfactory to you. We do appreciate the feedback given by guests and I will be sure to pass this on to management to make changes where necessary.

I do hope you visit us again so we might be able to change your opinion.

Yours Sincerely,

Talbot Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018 via mobile

When we checked in was told, music from small function wouldn’t effect us as we were on the other side of hotel but music kept us & small kids up. Our room was disgusting & filthy, chocolate under single bed, Rice Krispies under double bed. Room only seemed to be cleaned in areas that were in view, such a let down, we won’t be back

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank LolHol9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTHC, Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Dear LolHol9,


Thank you for your feedback in regards your recent stay at the Talbot Hotel, please accept my apology for the sub-standard experiences you have received in this regard.

We take pride in our hotel and we are measured by how guests evaluate our services and facilities, we have taken note of the issues encountered and these are being addressed with the utmost concern.

Please be assured that we take all complaints seriously and that the issues raised have been addressed and appropriate action will be taken.

Kind Regards,

Talbot Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews