We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great views of New Zealand

Our helicopter flight was amazing and completely worth it! Scott took us up close to a glacier... read more

Reviewed 13 February 2021
574clarac
,
Wellington, New Zealand
via mobile
Simply Awesome

Based on the favourable weather forecast - we booked online the evening before - and when we woke... read more

Reviewed 31 December 2020
slhinlondon
via mobile
Read all 33 reviews
  
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
33
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
33
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great flight an amazing experience milford sound helicopter trip return flight new zealand fox glacier franz josef fantastic trip scott chamois landing valley pilot seals coastline tasman
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2019 via mobile

With a terrible weather forecast but only one week up our sleeves, we decided to commit and book a Heli trip out of Haast to try our luck on West Coast hunting.

On arrival Pilot/Manager Scott was more than helpful, advising on possible spots and likely outcomes etc. Awesome flight into Thomas Hut, spotting some good Deer and Trout from the chopper on way in!

At the end of our trip, with weather closing in fast, Jason (Pilot) made a late evening flight out in average weather before we got stuck in there.

Highly recommend if going on a hunting trip, both very experienced Pilots and legends to boot!! Cheers guys.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank jortre
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael N, General Manager at HeliServicesNZ Haast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2019

Hi jortre and thank you for your fantastic 5 stars rating and excellent review. I am very pleased you were able to spot some good animals while you were flying into the Thomas Hut and thank you for highly recommending HeliServices.NZ Haast. I will be sure to tell Scott and Jason to read your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2019

Took a short flight with two friends along the coast to see seals basking, then back over the bush. Felt in very safe hands at all times and loved the whole experience. Excellent value for such a brilliant opportunity

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael N, General Manager at HeliServicesNZ Haast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2019

Thank you Wendy B for your great review and 5 stars. We are pleased to have offered you excellent value and brilliant opportunity for you and your two friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2018

We had an amazing experience with Haast Heli. Staff were all extremely professional, they planned a great flight up the coast line landing on the beach and flying in land back over the river. Scott’s knowledge was incredible, gave us a local in sight to this stunning area, pointing out landmarks and wildlife. We saw dolphins, seals and penguins. Scotts expertise in flying ensured that we always felt comfortable and safe. The coast line from the air is AMAZING!!!
My partner was very anxious of flying in a helicopter both Scott and Sheri reassured him that if at any time he was uncomfortable being in the air that they will return and land the helicopter immediately. He loved the flight and is very keen to do it again.
Great value for money. We can highly recommend to anyone wanting not wanting to just be a number on the more commercial flight like what we saw at the glaciers.
We will return for a longer flight next time we are in New Zealand. Thanks again Haast Heli.

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank LOZQLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael N, General Manager at HeliServicesNZ Haast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2019

Thank you LOZQLD for your wonderful review and 5 stars! Very pleased you felt safe with Scott who is a knowledgeable Haast pilot for us at HeliServices.NZ. I am very pleased your partner was at ease with the flying and keen to do it again! Thank you for your comment "Great value for money". Haast has much to offer for those discerning travellers looking for something out of the ordinary! Well done to Scott and Sheri for looking after your needs, i will let them know. So glad this was the highlight of your holiday in New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018 via mobile

Could not recommend this any higher, we took a quick flight along the coast to see a seal colony and also landed on top of one of the hills to take in the amazing views.

Great value and amazing service!

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank JamesR1556
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael N, General Manager at HeliServicesNZ Haast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Fantastic review thank you James R

And thank you for your high recommendation of our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018

Amazing views over the mountains and shoreline. Loved every minute of it, worth every dollar. Friendly and professional service made it all even better. Highly recommend to anyone wanting to experience something truly memorable. Thanks Haast Heli, we will be back someday!

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank TeemuTa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAASTHELIFLIGHTS, Front Office Manager at HeliServicesNZ Haast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Thankyou so much for your review and for flying with us, we look forward to seeing you again in the future, our backyard is truly spectacular.
The Team @ Haast Heli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews