We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

HeliServicesNZ Haast
Ranked #5 of 12 things to do in Haast
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The stunning Haast World Heritage Area is one of New Zealand's top attractions and provides a once in a lifetime opportunity to experience incredible views of New Zealand’s last frontier. We specialise in scenic flights over this region’s spectacular and varied scenery, including alpine areas, waterfalls, hidden lakes and the stunning West Coast of the South Island. Haast has a temperate climate so hunting is available all year round. We specialise in hunting and fishing trips and we customise every trip to meet your needs and offer guided trips. Walk-ins welcome.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
Reviewed 12 January 2018

After staying overnight in Haast we came across Haast Helicopters and having missed out on a helicopter trip over the glaciers, we decided to take a short tour down the coast. The lady on reception was very helpful,without being pushy. 10 mins after arriving at the office we were in a small helicopter flying down the coast seeing dolphins and seals. Absolutely fantastic. The icing on the cake was on landing we were taken through the back door of the office to see a little mountain goat, which had just been rescued, sitting on the desk!

Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAASTHELIFLIGHTS, Front Office Manager at HeliServicesNZ Haast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Thankyou so much for your feedback, we are pleased you enjoyed your flight and the wee surprise of our little baby chamois, such a privilage to see these little guys up close.
Regards
Sheri and The Team @ Haast Heli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"hunting trip"
in 4 reviews
"worth every dollar"
in 2 reviews
"small helicopter"
in 2 reviews
"staying overnight"
in 2 reviews
"seal colony"
in 2 reviews
"great pilot"
in 2 reviews
"milford sound"
in 2 reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 2 reviews
"great trip"
in 2 reviews
"new zealand"
in 2 reviews
"scott"
in 11 reviews
"chamois"
in 4 reviews
"mt"
in 2 reviews
"trophy"
in 2 reviews
"snow"
in 2 reviews
"dolphins"
in 5 reviews
"deer"
in 2 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2017 via mobile

It was sheer serendipity as we stumbled on Haast Heli on our way from Fox Glacier to Wanaka. The Helicopter pilot Scott brought us to the “Hanging Lakes” in mountains. This is the best kept secret in South Island and not yet popular with tourists. The view was terrific, the ride exciting and safe. We did not know that helicopter rides can be so “addictive” and exhilarating at the same time. Thanks to Ari and Scott, we had a truly memorable time in New Zealand. Highly recommended for all who made the trip to New Zealand.

Thank 595gany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAASTHELIFLIGHTS, Manager at HeliServicesNZ Haast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

Hi there
My pleasure to take you up there yes it is a very nice piece of New Zealand and yes not many people know about it. Thanks again and enjoy the rest of your trip.
Regards
Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2017 via mobile

Very motivated team, even on the chrismas weekend!! Scott seems to be a veery experienced pilot. Felt absolutely save!!

Thank SimonB6718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAASTHELIFLIGHTS, Manager at HeliServicesNZ Haast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

Thanks guys you are very lucky to have awesome long holidays fishing in a different country! Happy fishing all the best catch you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Scott, and indeed all from Haast Heli, were extremely helpful when I wished for my 11 year Grandson to experience his first helicopter flight, and first time in snow whilst on Queensland school holidays.
Truly a wonderful experience for him, and one he is STILL taking about!
Thank you.

Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAASTHELIFLIGHTS, Manager at HeliServicesNZ Haast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Thank you Heather for your feedback we are Glad that Aiden enjoyed his flight and hope the rest of your holiday went well catch you next time.
Regards
Scott & Sheri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

We were so lucky to find Haast Heli as it was a very personal experience, tailored to our interests! The staff and the pilot were extremely friendly, helpful and went above and beyond. Loads of interesting facts about the places we saw, the pilot helped spotting deer and sprout and even directed the helicopter so we could see the deer better. We landed twice in stunning locations, got amazing pictures taken and back in the office the staff even printed the best picture of us with the heli in the background which the pilot took.

An amazing experience which I'll never forget and I can highly recommend it to everybody who would like a more private flight (we were only the two of us in the heli) and who likes to decide where to go and how long to fly (=how much money to spend) themselves.

Thank Ina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAASTHELIFLIGHTS, Front Office Manager at HeliServicesNZ Haast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Hello Carina and Mark,
Thankyou. You are very welcome, we are pleased that you flew with us and got that personalised experience, thats is what we specialise in at Haast Heli, the look on your face Carina made our day, to see the thrill on both your faces is the best feedback ever for us as staff. Safe Journeys, come back and see us soon.
Kind Regards
Sheri and Scott and Ari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed HeliServicesNZ Haast also viewed

Haast, West Coast Region
Haast, West Coast Region
 
Haast, West Coast Region
Haast, West Coast Region
 

Been to HeliServicesNZ Haast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing