We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
gandt2000
Canary Islands, Spain

Heartland Hotel Haast, New Zealand

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Mar 2024
Liked · Spacious accommodation, brilliant setting, friendly and accommodating staff. Property is older but still very pleasant. Great value for money. Food in main bar excellent.

Disliked · Sorry but to be blunt and factual: Our quiet stay at this property was interrupted from middle afternoon to around 2030 by a family with young children occupying room 9 and another nearby room (s). Number 9 had persistent opening and shutting of the door, knocking on the door, and verbal dialogue in the room with the room door fully open. Plus, there were children playing outside room 9 in the main corridor directly outside our room. Past experience has proven that complaining about day time noise is normally completely fruitless hence we tolerated it. Shame the parents were not far more responsible.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tracey Dinan, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Haast, responded to this review
Responded 9 Apr 2024
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us! We are pleased you enjoyed the hotel. Although we do apologise for the frustration of your noisy neighbours and we do hope to welcome you back one day in the future.

Warmest regards
Tracey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$157
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
    $157
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Heartland Hotel Haast
Free parking
Queen Studio - Full Kitchen
$196
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
    $196
  • Vio.com
2.6 km from Heartland Hotel Haast
Free parking
$119
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Vio.com
  • Hotels.com
    $133
2.4 km from Heartland Hotel Haast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
3.1 km from Heartland Hotel Haast
Free parking
Beachfront
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
3.1 km from Heartland Hotel Haast
Free parking
Aufenthaltsbereich im Wilderness Backpacker
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
2.5 km from Heartland Hotel Haast
Free parking
Beachfront
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    $114
  • Lol.travel
10.6 km from Heartland Hotel Haast
$126
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $119
  • Official Hotel
0.0 km from Heartland Hotel Haast
Free Wifi
Free parking
$523
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $523
44.2 km from Heartland Hotel Haast
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $120
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $147
44.3 km from Heartland Hotel Haast
Free parking
View more hotels in Haast
Reviews (461)
Filter reviews
461 results
Traveller rating
76
144
117
68
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
76
144
117
68
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel restaurant whitebait haast pass the pub jackson bay west coast route
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 461 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2024

Clean, comfortable, warm space. Good beds. We paid for breakfast which was fine except we were disappointed there was no proper fresh coffee to be had, only sachet instant coffee.
A convenient stop over when travelling long distances through NZ.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank francesbW5639HQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tracey Dinan, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Haast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2024

Thank you Frances for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us, we appreciate your feedback and have passed this along to front of house.

Warm Regards
Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2024

The hotel was nice except you weren't able to turn off the heater so it got hot in the room. There was a fan provided that helped while we tried to sleep. The dinner we had at the restaurant was good -the fish and chips were great. The breakfast buffet was way over priced and was terrible. They only provided packets of instant coffee...and you had to pay if you wanted fresh brewed coffee. I would recommend the hotel for the price but I suggest finding some place else for breakfast.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 454christip
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tracey Dinan, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Haast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2024

Thank you for taking the time to touch base. My apologies that your breakfast was not as what you were expecting. I will pass along your comment to the chef.

Kind regards
Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2024 via mobile

We had a comfortable night in a double room which was clean, quite small but had everything. The room opened onto a central lawn area.
No fridge in the room but a shared fridge available for use down the corridor.
Coin operated laundry available.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tania R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tracey Dinan, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Haast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2024

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us Tania! We are so pleased you enjoyed the hotel, we do look forward to welcoming you back one day soon to the West Coast!

Warm regards
Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2024 via mobile

Heartland Haast hotel was clean and the staff was friendly and accommodating. The room was very small, The king size bed took up most of the two person room. There was one chair and no table. The attached restaurant was very good. Would be okay for one night stay.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Birgit L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tracey Dinan, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Haast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2024

Thank you for your feedback Birgit. It is wonderful to hear our team looked after you and you enjoyed your time with us. Wishing you all the best for your remaining time in New Zealand.

Kind regards
Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2024 via mobile

Clean, comfortable. Room we were given had a view of green open space. Sliding glass door was perfect to view this restful space. Glad we chose this hotel. Sorry that I cannot babble aimlessly to fulfill the 200 word count request. I’m done writing!

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tracey Dinan, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Haast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2024

Thank you for the kind review Jeff , if we have the opportunity we look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Haast.

Kind Regards,
Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews