We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Frances B
Switzerland

convenient overnight

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Mar 2024
Clean, comfortable, warm space. Good beds. We paid for breakfast which was fine except we were disappointed there was no proper fresh coffee to be had, only sachet instant coffee.
A convenient stop over when travelling long distances through NZ.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tracey Dinan, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Haast, responded to this review
Responded 23 Mar 2024
Thank you Frances for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us, we appreciate your feedback and have passed this along to front of house.

Warm Regards
Tracey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$144
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $144
0.8 km from Heartland Hotel Haast
Free parking
Queen Studio - Full Kitchen
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
2.6 km from Heartland Hotel Haast
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
3.1 km from Heartland Hotel Haast
Free parking
Beachfront
$127
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.4 km from Heartland Hotel Haast
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
3.1 km from Heartland Hotel Haast
Free parking
    11.4 km from Heartland Hotel Haast
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Aufenthaltsbereich im Wilderness Backpacker
    • Priceline
    • eDreams
    • Agoda.com
    2.5 km from Heartland Hotel Haast
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Agoda.com
    • Lol.travel
    10.6 km from Heartland Hotel Haast
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $120
    • Expedia.com
      $126
    0.0 km from Heartland Hotel Haast
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Expedia.com
      $549
    44.2 km from Heartland Hotel Haast
    View more hotels in Haast
    Reviews (461)
    Filter reviews
    461 results
    Traveller rating
    76
    144
    117
    68
    56
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    76
    144
    117
    68
    56
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews hotel restaurant whitebait haast pass the pub jackson bay west coast route
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    6 - 11 of 461 reviews
    Reviewed 22 March 2024

    The hotel was nice except you weren't able to turn off the heater so it got hot in the room. There was a fan provided that helped while we tried to sleep. The dinner we had at the restaurant was good -the fish and chips were great. The breakfast buffet was way over priced and was terrible. They only provided packets of instant coffee...and you had to pay if you wanted fresh brewed coffee. I would recommend the hotel for the price but I suggest finding some place else for breakfast.

    Date of stay: March 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank 454christip
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Tracey Dinan, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Haast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2024

    Thank you for taking the time to touch base. My apologies that your breakfast was not as what you were expecting. I will pass along your comment to the chef.

    Kind regards
    Tracey

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 11 March 2024 via mobile

    We had a comfortable night in a double room which was clean, quite small but had everything. The room opened onto a central lawn area.
    No fridge in the room but a shared fridge available for use down the corridor.
    Coin operated laundry available.

    Date of stay: February 2024
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Tania R
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Tracey Dinan, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Haast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2024

    Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us Tania! We are so pleased you enjoyed the hotel, we do look forward to welcoming you back one day soon to the West Coast!

    Warm regards
    Tracey

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 11 March 2024 via mobile

    Heartland Haast hotel was clean and the staff was friendly and accommodating. The room was very small, The king size bed took up most of the two person room. There was one chair and no table. The attached restaurant was very good. Would be okay for one night stay.

    Date of stay: March 2024
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Birgit L
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Tracey Dinan, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Haast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2024

    Thank you for your feedback Birgit. It is wonderful to hear our team looked after you and you enjoyed your time with us. Wishing you all the best for your remaining time in New Zealand.

    Kind regards
    Tracey

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 9 March 2024 via mobile

    Clean, comfortable. Room we were given had a view of green open space. Sliding glass door was perfect to view this restful space. Glad we chose this hotel. Sorry that I cannot babble aimlessly to fulfill the 200 word count request. I’m done writing!

    Date of stay: March 2024
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Jeff G
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Tracey Dinan, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Haast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2024

    Thank you for the kind review Jeff , if we have the opportunity we look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Haast.

    Kind Regards,
    Tracey

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 24 February 2024 via mobile

    Good location for anyone looking to break up a long drive over the Haast Pass. Friendly, helpful staff, clean rooms and a very nice breakfast buffet. Would have appreciated a mini fridge in the room but staff were happy to provide a bucket of ice.

    Date of stay: February 2024
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank karen s
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Tracey Dinan, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Haast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2024

    Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us Karen! We are so pleased you enjoyed the hotel and our excellent staff!

    Wishing you safe travels and warm regards
    Tracey

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews