We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$84
Booking.comUS$84
CheapTicketsUS$84
PricelineUS$84
eDreamsUS$84
TravelocityUS$84
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (395)
Filter reviews
395 results
Traveller rating
62
117
103
63
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
62
117
103
63
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews venison pie bar and restaurant whitebait single bed bed was very comfortable jackson bay coast fox
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 395 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2021 via mobile

What you’d expect from remote country hotel, rooms tidy and comfortable, heater in my room didn’t work but rooms included hot water bottle and bed with blanket was warm enough for me
Nice meals and good bar and cafe, helpful and friendly staff , warm fire place in winter

Was there with group of over 100 people and internet struggled due I think number of people and remote location limited what available so don’t expect lightening fast speeds
No mobile coverage in rooms, so good if you want to switch off
Would go back again when in area, place tidy and look well kept
Petrol station across road with small store in it for last minute supplies, couple minutes walk to airport

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Daz233
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey Dinan, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Haast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2021

We appreciate the time you took to provide us with your feedback Daz. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. I do apologise about the slow internet but you are correct that the internet struggled due the old systems within an remote area like Haast and the number of people using it.

We wish you safe travels
Tracey & the Team at Heartland Hotel Haast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2021 via mobile

The staff were amazing, helpful and very friendly. Our room had everything we needed, it was very clean and warm which we appreciated. The food at the restaurant was excellent. We will be back for another visit.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Annekeg95
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey Dinan, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Haast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2021

It is wonderful to hear our team looked after you and you enjoyed your time with us. Wishing you all the best and we look forward to your return visit.

Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2021

Arrived thinking, is this a good idea?
Room is small but ideal for our 1 night, food and atmosphere was great in the onsite bar/restaurant.
Neat to meat some local people and the staff, not NZers.
Had a fantastic drive through Hasst Past, could have carried on to Fox or Franz Joesph Glacier. Glad we didnt.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanG3288
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey Dinan, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Haast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2021

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share you experience with us. Haast Pass has some spectacular scenery especially the waterfalls to stop and take in.

Warmest regards
Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2021

We received a warm welcome. Although the hotel is older the room was immaculate with newer carpet and lovely comfortable bed with excellent bed linen.
Very quiet despite a West coast tinder storm.
Could have stayed longer and would definitely stay again.

Room tip: Rooms very quiet despite a Westcoast tinder storm
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank louisehA5346CJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey Dinan, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Haast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2021

Hi Louise

Glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us and that the team were helpful. We look forward to your return trip to the Westcoast.

Kindest regards
Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2021 via mobile

Rooms smelt like grandma's house. Old.

Double bed was very soft. If not dead centre, there was a lean outwards. The edge of the beds were ridiculously soft.
Toilet had a strange musky smell at times..
Heater placement made the top end of the fridge quite warm.

Dont even attempt a continental breakfast. Paid for on entry.
Went in almost an hour after service started.
I had to uncover the cereal from the previous day myself.
Then I had to ask for milk.
Then i had to ask for tea (bag), which was not out. No juice out.
I didn't want to seem like a nag so I left after 2 pieces of cold toast,served with ice cold butter, a bowl of stale cereal and warm milk.

Certainly will NOT use or, have the company use in the future.

Stayed at a different hotel the next night, which was cheaper price but far far nicer.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank buddyray69
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey Dinan, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Haast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2021

Please accept our sincere apology Buddyray that your experience was less than perfect. At Heartland Hotel Haast, it is our priority too make every stay a memorable one and I am sorry to read that on this occasion we were not up to the standards we pride ourselves in. I have passed along your comments to both Food & Beverage Team and Housekeeping and are taking appropriate measures to improve the areas you have pointed out.

I do hope that you try us again one day in the future, and once again my humble apologies.

Tracey Dinan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews