We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
$133
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Anneke G
Cosy hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Jun 2021via mobile
The staff were amazing, helpful and very friendly. Our room had everything we needed, it was very clean and warm which we appreciated. The food at the restaurant was excellent. We will be back for another visit.
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Heartland Hotel Haast
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $161
  • Hotels.com
2.4 km from Heartland Hotel Haast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Haast Beach
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
3.1 km from Heartland Hotel Haast
Free parking
Beachfront
Queen Studio - Full Kitchen
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
2.6 km from Heartland Hotel Haast
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
3.1 km from Heartland Hotel Haast
Free parking
Aufenthaltsbereich im Wilderness Backpacker
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
2.5 km from Heartland Hotel Haast
Free parking
Beachfront
Booking.com
    11.4 km from Heartland Hotel Haast
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Priceline
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Agoda.com
      $124
    • Lol.travel
    10.6 km from Heartland Hotel Haast
    Aerial View
    Expedia.com
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      $133
    • Official Hotel
    0.0 km from Heartland Hotel Haast
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Tripadvisor
    $3,098
    • Hotels.com
    • Expedia.com
      $3,098
    • Vio.com
    61.6 km from Heartland Hotel Haast
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Haast
    Reviews (458)
    Filter reviews
    458 results
    Traveller rating
    75
    143
    116
    68
    56
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    75
    143
    116
    68
    56
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews hotel restaurant whitebait haast pass the pub jackson bay west coast route
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    72 - 77 of 458 reviews
    Reviewed 31 May 2021

    Arrived thinking, is this a good idea?
    Room is small but ideal for our 1 night, food and atmosphere was great in the onsite bar/restaurant.
    Neat to meat some local people and the staff, not NZers.
    Had a fantastic drive through Hasst Past, could have carried on to Fox or Franz Joesph Glacier. Glad we didnt.

    Date of stay: May 2021
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank AlanG3288
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Tracey Dinan, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Haast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2021

    Thank you very much for having taken the time to share you experience with us. Haast Pass has some spectacular scenery especially the waterfalls to stop and take in.

    Warmest regards
    Tracey

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 17 May 2021

    We received a warm welcome. Although the hotel is older the room was immaculate with newer carpet and lovely comfortable bed with excellent bed linen.
    Very quiet despite a West coast tinder storm.
    Could have stayed longer and would definitely stay again.

    Room tip: Rooms very quiet despite a Westcoast tinder storm
    Date of stay: May 2021
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank louisehA5346CJ
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Tracey Dinan, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Haast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2021

    Hi Louise

    Glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us and that the team were helpful. We look forward to your return trip to the Westcoast.

    Kindest regards
    Tracey

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 16 May 2021 via mobile

    Rooms smelt like grandma's house. Old.

    Double bed was very soft. If not dead centre, there was a lean outwards. The edge of the beds were ridiculously soft.
    Toilet had a strange musky smell at times..
    Heater placement made the top end of the fridge quite warm.

    Dont even attempt a continental breakfast. Paid for on entry.
    Went in almost an hour after service started.
    I had to uncover the cereal from the previous day myself.
    Then I had to ask for milk.
    Then i had to ask for tea (bag), which was not out. No juice out.
    I didn't want to seem like a nag so I left after 2 pieces of cold toast,served with ice cold butter, a bowl of stale cereal and warm milk.

    Certainly will NOT use or, have the company use in the future.

    Stayed at a different hotel the next night, which was cheaper price but far far nicer.

    Date of stay: May 2021
    Trip type: Travelled on business
    Thank buddyray69
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Tracey Dinan, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Haast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2021

    Please accept our sincere apology Buddyray that your experience was less than perfect. At Heartland Hotel Haast, it is our priority too make every stay a memorable one and I am sorry to read that on this occasion we were not up to the standards we pride ourselves in. I have passed along your comments to both Food & Beverage Team and Housekeeping and are taking appropriate measures to improve the areas you have pointed out.

    I do hope that you try us again one day in the future, and once again my humble apologies.

    Tracey Dinan
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 25 April 2021 via mobile

    Reception were friendly and organised, the room we had was nice-spacious, comfortable and clean with great outlook over the fields, we had dinner in the restaurant and sat close to the wood fire- very pleasant and good service and food, thank you

    Date of stay: April 2021
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank David T
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Tracey Dinan, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Haast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2021

    Hi David, I appreciate you taking the time to offer feedback on your recent stay. This is always fantastic to hear especially when guests enjoyed themselves.

    Kindest regards
    Tracey

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 24 April 2021 via mobile

    It was late in the day we had not booked a place to stay, we drove past Heartland Motel and went through Hasst Town, ended up back at HL and booked a night. The room was warm and comfortable, but the highlight was the staff running this “in the middle of no where” hotel, they were so warm and welcoming and our pub meal was so delicious. This place is a gem .

    Date of stay: April 2021
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    1  Thank ngairem2014
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Tracey Dinan, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Haast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2021

    Hi Ngairemn

    It is wonderful to hear our team looked after you and you enjoyed your time with us here at the Heartland Hotel Haast. I have also passed along your comments about our food the the chefs.

    Once again thank you for these wonderful comments.
    Kindest regards
    Tracey

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews