We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (299)
Filter reviews
299 results
Traveller rating
41
88
74
54
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
88
74
54
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sliding glass negative reviews main building stayed one night the pub franz josef glacier jackson bay coast purpose route
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 299 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2018

Unfortunately found our stay very disappointing.
The photos of the room we booked are not exactly true to form - the room we had was extremely small, not at all as it was portrayed in the picture which was very deceiving (didn't have this problem with any of the other hotels/motels over our 2 week travel around the South Island, and this was dearer than some others?!). No bar fridge and need renovating.
The guy at the bar who served us at dinner was brilliant - a nice happy friendly guy - other staff were not as warm and quite distant.
The food in the restaurant was ok/average, although a little unnerving having a female sitting in a corner constantly staring at us whilst drinking/not eating who appeared to be connected with/waiting around for the chef ? Strange.
We tend to relate to the other review on here titled 'Bates Motel' ... we felt uncomfortable and couldn't wait to leave the next morning and did so without breakfast ... Haast in general is what one could describe a strange area which we'll bypass next time.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bronwen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey D, General Manager at Heartland World Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Hi Bronwen

Thank you again for taking the time to place feedback on your recent stay with us, I am sorry that we did not met your expectations, I am not sure who the female would be or associated with, but I will investigate into this matter and ensure that this does not occur again.

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay on the Westcoast and we wish you safe journeys

Best wishes
Tracey Dinan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018

1 night stop travelling from Hokitika to Wanaka. Glad I wasn't staying here alone. Long empty corridor on one side and a sliding door to the car park on the other. Used the single chair to jam this door shut for extra security. Plastic clad bathroom. Limited food choice in the restaurant and no atmosphere. Left without breakfast even though it was included. If you don't need to stay here then don't.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey D, General Manager at Heartland World Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Hi Karen

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your recent stay with us. You have my apologies that your stay with us has not met your expectations - this certainly is disappointing to hear. Maintenance have checked all rooms and we do have chain locks on all doors including peep holes.

I do hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay on the West Coast

Kindest regards
Tracey Dinan
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night on way down the West Coast. The room was very basic and could do with an upgrade. One strange thing was that there was not a bar fridge in the room but rather it was out in the hallway? Basic accommodation and did the trick for 1 night but wouldn’t want to stay here for longer than that.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey D, General Manager at Heartland World Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Hi Jeff

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on your recent stay with us. At this stage we only have fridges in our Queen/Single units. We are in the process of adding more fridges to our other room types once our soft refurbishment has happened which will be soon.

Wishing you safe travels
Tracey Dinan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018

After driving from Fox Glacier we drove into Haast, needing to stop for a coffee, we where drawn to the Heritage hotel due to the roof have "CAFE" painted across it.So we stopped for coffee, the restaurant was warm and had a large fire burning, so a nice feel as we walked in, but unfortunately the TV's where on with the chase totally removing from any atmosphere created by the wood fire.

When we left we tasted the fresh coffee to find the milk was well over temperature and the coffee was very bitter I was not able to drink mine, wasted money unfortunately.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ColinM3080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey D, General Manager at Heartland World Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2018

Hi Colin

Thank you for letting me know your comments on your recent stop with us for a coffee, I do apologise that when you came in that the TV channel was not atmosphere appropriate, in the morning our breakfast guests like the good morning show and then staff forget about the TV. We now have on the checklists when they should be turning the TV to the music channel, or a channel that a guests asks to be change to. I also apologise that the coffee was bitter and have asked the Cafe Manager to run another coffee course for the staff.

Thank you again
Tracey Dinan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

We were promptly checked in by the polite gentleman in reception. Parking was not near the room so we had to carry six suitcases to the bedroom! Not fun. The front door opens to a hallway which has three reasonable sized bedrooms with very comfy beds. Downsides included terrible heating and we could only get two heaters (my husband and I went without); no sitting area; a tiny shower; a doorway to the main room which was difficult to open; and a noisy fridge (which we unplugged as we were hot using it). Restaurant onsite serves reasonably priced meals and a buffet breakfast.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank TravelMum84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey D, General Manager at Heartland World Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Hi Travelmum84

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on tripadvisor.co.nz, we do appreciate all comments. I apologise that the room you were allocated did not have parking outside of it, but these rooms are the first to be booked. Great to read that you found the beds to be comfortable and the rooms reasonably sized.

I do hope you enjoyed the rest of you time on the Westcoast

Safe Travels
Tracey Dinan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews