We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
17
56
42
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
56
42
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hard antler small town place to stay small kitchen fly spray hot shower comfortable bed reception staff en route stayed here for one night south island motel unit break microwave stopover supermarket
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for one night, just for a stopover. But it was pretty good. We had a really warm welcome from our host. She was lovely​. She gave us a lot of information about the region and what we can do and what is good to see.
The room has everything you need. A kitchenette with all stuff, a really good hot water shower and a header, which does a great job - awesome for this temperatures.
The beds are comfortable and have heated blankets. We enjoyed it and would definitely recommend it. Thank you Michelle and Inke

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Miche B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2018 via mobile

Pros -
1) Reasonably cheap rates (~NZD 120+ a night)
2) Clean with a heater in the room and heated beds. Small kitchen as well if you need to cook (there are very limited dining options in Haast)
3) Friendly service
4) Parking just outside your unit

Cons -
1) Toilet lacked heating so showering in winter can be a challenge
2) Heater in the unit took quite a long time to sufficiently heat up the room

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank feizhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Unit was rather small and dated and was too expensive given the rather basic setup. Heating was sufficient with two radiant heaters but slow and basic. When we left we accidentally left behind a bag of food and drink which contained two bottles of whisky as well as some other items. We called the motel when we reached our next destination and realised we had left the bag behind. Apparently the bag had disappeared with no sign of it. We know for sure it wasn't at the next stop and we also know for sure it was with us at the motel so we were very disappointed to lose a significant value ($200) of food and alcohol. Is possible we left the bag by the car in the car park when we were packing - though more likely we left it in the room. It is possible a another guest found it and did not return it or perhaps the cleaners took it. We have no way of knowing but either way we were very disappointed that someone has not done the decent thing and return it. Will never stay again - has been a disappointing low light on an otherwise fantastic winter tour of the west coast.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Djhifisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AspiringHaast, Owner at Aspiring Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

We are sorry that this happened at our motel. When you rung we searched the room and found nothing. No other guests had been in that unit since your departure. As I explained all left behind property is reported to us (the owners) and we in turn contact the guest to organize return. Both staff members on that day have been with us for over a year and are very thorough cleaners and we have no reason not to trust them in fact they were very upset over this matter as are we.
Possibility that you left your unit unlocked at some stage of your stay? or as you say left in car park while packing and another guest has taken?
Thank you for your comment re the heaters. We have only owned the motels for 18 months and are in the process of updating the units and more efficient heating as time allows.
Again we are sorry that this has happened but we can offer no other explanation than mentioned above.
Kind regards,
Viv and Les


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

I was here for one night on travel between Nelson and Queenstown.

Warm room, very good hot shower, good and warm bed, parking , frigo and microwave, clean room, satelite TV.

It was just enought for sleep in your trip. For me it was fine.

Keep in mind that you do not have many options in Haast and other city in 2/ 2.5js driving south or north.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank jorgeotavio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018

We stayed here on a 1 night stopover on our way to Queenstown and it was comfortable, clean and close to - what there is of Haast. The tavern up the road had decent meals and a good atmosphere. Our hostess gave us some fishing tips but the sandflies were too much for us and we didn't last long.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rozzymelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews