We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Neil D

Great Hotel on the Shore of Thunersee

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 Mar 2024
I stayed here for 6 nights in March 2024 and I would definitely go back for longer.

The room I selected and stayed in (booked through the hotel's own website but administered by a partner company) was a single room with balcony and lake view.

The room was a decent size - not the biggest and not the smallest - with just about enough shelf and wardrobe space to arrange my clothes. There was a small safe which was big enough for a tablet (11" screen) but not big enough for my laptop (13"). There was a table and chair and sockets below the table and beside the bed. Unfortunately, there was no fridge but, being March, I was at least able to leave my carton of milk and my butter on the balcony to keep them from going off.

The bathroom was small but I wasn't sleeping in there so no big deal. The wash-hand basin was a good size and the pressure from the shower was great.

The balcony was equipped with a table and chair (no arms). The view across the lake to the mountains on the opposite side was tremendous, especially with blue skies above and a bit of morning mist on the lake.

The hotel, which has quite a grand entrance foyer and lounge area, was in a good condition and was clean and well-presented. The grounds are very nice and well-maintained and would be a great place to spend time on warm days.

Breakfast offered a plentiful supply of food and a machine for coffees, hot and cold milk (eg for hot chocolate to which you add a sachet of Caotina or Ovomaltine) and hot water for tea (with a variety of teas on offer. If you are looking for pastries, your waistline will thank you for their absence.

On the subject of waistlines, there is a gym room which is quite small but reasonably well equipped for its size. It has an upright bike, a recumbent bike, a treadmill a cross-trainer and a rowing machine. There are also weights machines, dumbells and, I think, a Swiss ball (who would have expected that!).

The Bootshaus spa was tremendous. You need to change before you go there and wear the hotel-provided robe. Slippers are also provided but I just used my outdoor shoes which get left in a shoe rack in the entrance vestibule.
Once inside the Bootshaus, there is a relaxation room with loungers on the ground floor and a hot tub on ground floor level which is outside (though I didn't feel cold from the outside air). The hot tub section also provides access via a short spiral staircase to the lake - I got in as far as my knees and decided to return to the hot tub!

On the upper floor, there is a large Finnish sauna and a small bio sauna and a small steam room. It is necessary to remember your towel to place on the wooden slats under your body (whether sitting or lying) so that you don't drip sweat on them.
Just so that you are clear, the saunas, steam room and hot tub are to be used clothing-free and the relaxation room seemed to be the only room where robes were worn.

I was in the Bootshaus every evening but there was only one of the evenings where it was quite busy. On a couple of the evenings, I more or less had the entire place to myself.

The hotel is in a great location in Gunten Dorf only a hundred yards from the Gunten Dorf bus stop. A number 25 bus will take you there from Thun (departing from outside the Co-op across from the train station when exiting from the platform 1 side). A number 21 bus will take you there from Interlaken Ost station (exit the station on the platform 1 side and you will see a large Co-op opposite and a line of bus shelters just next to the station building so the no 21 bus departs from the right hand end of the bus shelters) or Interlaken West station (right next to the station platforms).

It is fairly easy to take excursions from the hotel because of its proximity to Thun. I went to Bern, Luzern, Gstaad, Grindelwald, Murren (and Piz Goria atop the Schilthorn). Other options: St Beatus caves which are a short bus ride away, Harder Hulm at Interlaken, the Reichenbach Falls and boat trips on Thunersee and Brienzersee (though Thunersee wasn't operational at the time I was there).
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Facade/entrance
  • Agoda.com
0.2 km from Parkhotel Gunten- Beach & Spa
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.5 km from Parkhotel Gunten- Beach & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Property building
  • Agoda.com
0.5 km from Parkhotel Gunten- Beach & Spa
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $703
  • Booking.com
3.0 km from Parkhotel Gunten- Beach & Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $573
  • Booking.com
3.1 km from Parkhotel Gunten- Beach & Spa
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $670
  • Booking.com
3.2 km from Parkhotel Gunten- Beach & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
5.9 km from Parkhotel Gunten- Beach & Spa
Free parking
Room service
Contact accommodation for availability.
6.3 km from Parkhotel Gunten- Beach & Spa
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Contact accommodation for availability.
11.5 km from Parkhotel Gunten- Beach & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
7.7 km from Parkhotel Gunten- Beach & Spa
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Gunten
Reviews (262)
Filter reviews
262 results
Traveller rating
163
66
20
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
163
66
20
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake thun three star hotel is located other hand spa dinner park views shore boathouse atmosphere massage lounge alps minimalist spirit weather
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 262 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2023 via mobile

We stayed in a suit for 4 adults, we were 3, the room is very clean and lot of space, workers are very nice and gentle, good reception, free car parking area for residents.
Breakfast was very good, although there are few varieties, but delicious and nice.
There is a very spectacular park in the backyard, facing the lake with a very beautiful site.
A very wide bath with a shower and bathtub,the bad thing about bathroom is that the shower box is a clear glass, that you'll be visible to everyone in the room while taking your shower, the bathtub also is open to the room with no door that the others will watch you sitting there, no privacy.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank tariqtaqieddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Beat Bührer, General Manager at Parkhotel Gunten- Beach & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2023

thank you so much for your review. we are happy that you enjoyed the hotel ameneties, the park and the view of the lake and mountains. We do appreciate that the new style of bathroom is not everybodies preference and we are at your disposal to help you find the room most suitable for you, should you be looking to book with us again. We do have other categories that do not have the open concept of the bathroom. We look forward to welcoming you again. your Parkhotel Gunten Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2023

Although the weather was windy and rainy we spent a wonderful short trip in the parkhotel. Especially the spirit of the people was outstanding. Very friendly, very good athmosphere. We really felt as guests! On the other hand the hotel has a fantastic infrastructure. Old but well preserved. The spa in the boathouse at the shore of the lake offers not only perfect views to the alps but also a direct access to the lake. A cold water pool of its own! The quality of the food is very good. We had dinner with a starter and a main course. Both were very well arranged and tasty. Unfortnate and this is the only sad point it took too much time to serve the maine course.

Room tip: Of course a room with view to the lake...
Date of stay: January 2023
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank markus5858
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Beat Bührer, Geschäftsführer at Parkhotel Gunten- Beach & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2023

Dear Markus

Thank you for your great review, this motivates us to keep developing.

We are pleased that you were able to enjoy your stay with us to the fullest and that you felt comfortable.
We are happy to pass on your compliments to our team.

We would be pleased to welcome and treat you again soon.

Best regards from the most beautiful place on Lake Thun
Your Parkhotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2022 via mobile

This hotel is located on the shore of Lake Thun. The views are spectacular. It almost does not look real. It is a peaceful place with large garden and many places to lounge and sit. Breakfast is included and delicious. The hotel has a restaurant- with excellent and interesting dishes. I used the spa one day and had a facial and massage. Both ladies were excellent at their craft and I came out relaxed and glowing. The staff was great and a sense of humor. The room with large balcony was minimalistic but clean. The bathroom a bit tiny. The hotel building itself is a beautiful building from the early 1900‘s. I really can highly recommend a stay here.

P.S. the elevator is fast and fun!

Room tip: Parking is available and no charge. You can get to most places around the lake by boat, bus and train.
Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Miriamvz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Beat Bührer, General Manager at Parkhotel Gunten- Beach & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2022

Dear Mrs. Miriamvz

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are delighted to pass on the compliments to our team.
Your positive response about our Hotel facility with peacefil place , the delicious dishes and the staff is a great pleasure and a huge motivation in order to exceed our guest’s expectations day by day.
We are also very pleased you could enjoy the massages. We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay at our Parkhotel.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards from the most beautiful place at the lake of Thun

The Parkhotel-Team




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2020 via mobile

The hotel occupies a stunning park setting overlooking the Thuner See. We had a spacious twin aspect room with a large shower room and balcony. The hotel was very welcoming and had a relaxed atmosphere. The reception staff were very warm and helpful and provided options and advice for daytime visits/excursions. The breakfast was very extensive. We would have liked a few more cooked breakfast options but this was not essential given the overall choice available. The spa occupies an exceptional location and very calming and relaxing space together with views beyond the lake to the surrounding mountains. The grounds adjoin the lake and provide a beautiful open space and setting. We would certainly wish to re-visit when next in the area - all in all a very comfortable hotel.

Date of stay: December 2019
1  Thank W123Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ParkhotelGunten, Front Office at Parkhotel Gunten- Beach & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2020

Dear Jan

In the name of the whole team, we thank you very much for your feedback. Your positive response is a great pleasure and a huge motivation in order to exceed our guest’s expectations day by day.

We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay at our Parkhotel.

We would be delighted to welcome you for another stay at the Parkhotel Gunten.

Kind regards from the most beautiful place at the lake of Thun

The Parkhotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2019

The 3 of us spent 4 night in the hotel in a "large double room". We had a double bed and an extendable armchair, which was reasonable for our son. The room was indeed big enough and had two balconies, next to each other. One very small, but the other one was just great, with a direct lake view, shadow, table and chairs (1st floor).
The other great thing about the hotel was its park. Not big, but great for a short promenade, or for a lake-side coffee when the weather permits.
Also a gym, and even a table tennis room in the basement.
Easily accessible by car, plenty of parking.
Unless the breakfast, which was modest than expected for such a place, it could be a perfect place to spend a week.

Room tip: Check on which floor your room is, especially if you want a proper balcony.
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Greg Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ParkhotelGunten, Trainee at Parkhotel Gunten- Beach & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2019

In the name of the whole team, we thank you very much for your feedback. Your positive response is a great pleasure and a huge motivation in order to exceed our guest’s expectations day by day.

We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay at our Parkhotel.

We would be delighted to welcome you for another stay at the Parkhotel Gunten.

Kind regards from the most beautiful place at the lake of Thun

The Parkhotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews