We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
129
10
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
129
10
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstea factoryfoot massageon arrivalsri lankacookery lessondining roomelephant orphanagebeautiful locationattention to detailthe hustle and bustlecolonial feelcouple of daysour honeymoonlast nightfood was amazingfirst stopegg hoppers
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 142 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2018 via mobile

I stayed here with my husband and daughter for 2 nights. It’s a lovely, peaceful hotel that truly feels like a home. We felt so welcome from the moment we arrived (and were greeted with a foot massage). The hotel is situated on a hillside with stunning views and surrounded by a lush garden and tea plantation, lots of birds and wildlife. There are many quiet areas around the grounds to sit and read, including hammocks strung between trees, and a great pool looking out to the gardens.

The rooms are spacious, stylish, clean and open out into a living/lounge area in the house.

The food was fantastic, and chef will discuss with you in advance the daily menu and any dietary requirements. We are pescatarian only and had some amazing fish and vegetable curries, and great breakfasts and juices. The kids menu has good variety with healthy options.

Altogether, this is a great hotel where you can truly relax and unwind. The staff are so friendly and helpful.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank rpan34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEIL D, Owner at Rosyth: The Estate House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Thank you for your lovely comments which we appreciate. We always hope that our guests will enjoy the natural beauty of the surrounding gardens and our Estate. We are privileged to have such natural beauty and wildlife. I very happy that you enjoyed the food which is an important part of your stay at Rosyth and our team appreciate the kind comments which you have made about them. Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018

Just browsing the photo gallery again and yearning to be back at this magical spot in Sri Lanka. A warm welcome, stunning simple boutique design, beautiful room and view (Pepper), delicious food - and peace. All the staff were welcoming and gentle. The owners Neil and Farzana were delightful and generous - even presenting my daughter with a gift on her birthday. We loved the walk around the estate - checking out spices and rubber - and also a tour of the tea factory. We only stayed two nights but will return.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diane_chandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEIL D, Owner at Rosyth: The Estate House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Thank you for your kind comments and indeed it was a pleasure to meet you. We were very happy that your daughter enjoyed her birthday with us. We look forward to welcoming you when you return to Sri Lanka. Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

A lovely small hotel in the hills, with excellent personal service, comfort and good food. Our room had no special view, but it was adjacent to the veranda and the stupendous view over the valley. It was worth getting up just before 6.00am each morning just to sit in pyjamas and see the valley mists clear and listen to the countryside waking up.

At teatime on our first day was the loudest thunderstorm I have ever experienced with a tropical downpour to match. It was part of the tropical entertainment and didn’t last long.

We were warned that quite a lot of steps were involved on arrival at the usual hotel entrance. This might have been a problem for my wife’s walking difficulty, but a back road allowed nearly level access to our part of the hotel, its pretty terraced garden and valley view. We couldn’t go on the estate walk but instead a tuk tuk was produced and we were driven down into the valley to the Buddhist temple and also up the track to the tea factory. The staff couldn’t have gone to more trouble.

A very special place and no one will regret going there.

Note: We declined the offer of going to the local elephant ‘orphanages’ as they are getting highly commercialised with questionable ethics in animal care. We went instead for a quick look at Kandy, mainly then to tour the famous Botanical Gardens which were superb.

Room Tip: Those with walking difficulty can arrive at the back as it's nearly flat
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NR16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEIL D, Owner at Rosyth: The Estate House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Than you for your lovely comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed the stay, For anyone with walking difficulties there is good access from the upper entrance directly into the main house and then all of the rooms in the main house are on the same level. We don't recommend the plantation suites or the Lime and Coconut room as they all involve steps.Witnessing the sun rise at dawn is certainly a treat if you manage to get up in time. The combination of the sun rising over the mountains and mist in the valley is quite unique. I hope we may welcome you back to Rosyth in the future. Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

We had a lovely four day stay here at the start of our trip to Sri Lanka and couldn't have been better looked after by all the staff, especially Thilina. The food was wonderful and on the last night as a special treat they set a table out in the garden for us to eat our dinner under the stars which we'll always treasure. The massage was to die for, though I'm sure whatever it was he gave me wasn't on the menu but i'm not complaining. Beautiful walks right on the door step to temples etc but best of all I just loved the peaceful haven watching and listening to all the fantastic wildlife. It was perfect!

Room Tip: We had Tea Room which was lovely with an outdoor bath.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MrshappySevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEIL D, Owner at Rosyth: The Estate House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Thank you for your lovely comments and we are delighted that your holiday in Sri Lanka got off to such a great start. We hope that the rest of your holiday continued so positively. I noted that you enjoyed the spa treatment - not all of our Ayurvedic treatments are fully described on the spa menu and the therapist is always happy to tailor a treatment to an individual's requirements. We appreciate your feedback. Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

The location is beautiful -- well outside Kegalle and surrounded by tea and plantations, and rain forest. The hotel is superbly appointed. But most of all, the staff are exceptional. There is a wonderful rapport between the staff -- they obviously love working there and working with each other. One of the highlights of our stay was a walk to the nearby Buddhist temple. Two of the staff came along with us -- for one of them it was his first trip out to the temple. It felt like an outing for the staff as well as for us. It felt that we had been welcomed into the community.

Yoga in the mornings was a treat, and my wife had a massage, which she really enjoyed. The food was exceptional, a truly superb chef.

Worth going for a walk around the plantation, and also worth visiting the tea factory, which is like something out of the nineteenth century.

We came here straight from an early morning landing in Columbo. I am so glad we stayed here and not Columbo.

Room Tip: We stayed in "Tea", which is an exceptionally good suite.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank collideorscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEIL D, Owner at Rosyth: The Estate House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Thank you or your lovely comments which the team really appreciate. We are so lucky to have a great team, who understand our vision for the Rosyth Estate House and bring it alive throughout the year, whether we are at the property or out of the country. Today we have a team of 25 colleagues and each works hard to deliver the customer experience and to support each other. Our local community is still based around a relatively simple rural living. We are lucky that people are friendly and keen to share their life with our guests. Indeed. throughout Sri Lanka this is one of the overriding comments that we hear from guests. We hope that we get the chance to host you at Rosyth again in the future. Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews