We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great Tour, Beautiful Castle

We went on the English language guided tour and it was a great excursion. The guide was very... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
melissakay_15
,
Rodenbach, Germany
via mobile
Great Guided Tour!

Wow! First castle tour and it was amazing! This was the reason for us heading to the lovely village... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
racinereviews
,
Algoma, Wisconsin
via mobile
Read all 1,664 reviews
  
Reviews (1,664)
Filter reviews
1,664 results
Traveller rating
927
620
98
14
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
927
620
98
14
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour mosel river beautiful castle shuttle bus steep walk nice tour english speakers different languages gift shop takes about minutes hill overlooking well worth the effort town centre worth the climb nice walk per adult burg eltz
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1,664 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2018

I visited this castle several times. It is worth it. tours are about every 30 -60 minutes but not always English is available.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank I T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018

This was an amazing experience. The tour bus took us up to the castle but then you do walk up hill to the entrance. Once you are there it's incredible - views FOREVER of the valleys, the river, the town, the vineyards. They have several tours that are in English which we were lucky enough to take part in. Our guide was wonderful, she was full of unique information on the history, the owners, the interior and little tidbits of unpublished information. She was a delightful. We toured many rooms with the guide pointing out all the unique features that we would not have otherwise known. Gorgeous stained glass, artwork, furnishings, armour etc. etc. etc. I WOULD GO BACK IN A HEARTBEAT!!!! A MUST!!!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank mrskemosabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Beautiful Castle (after years of renovations), currently still being worked on to bring her back to her original glory. Luckily we had a shuttle bus that took us up to the gates, as otherwise it is quite a hike for anyone coming up from the little town. It contains some great artifacts from the original era of the castle. The little town will bring you back to medieval times.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank pete m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

Not only are there great views of the city and suroundung area the castle has been restored. There is 50 rooms in the castle, tour is through seven furished rooms. Through time furishing have been lost. In 1978 the castle was bought by the local town goverment. They where able to recover enough furishings to restore seven rooms. The tour guide was informative. If you are in the area the castyle is a must see.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank 1sonnybo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

An amazingly beautiful medieval castle with stunning views over the vineyards and the Rhine.

The castle is well preserved and very very pretty. Well worth visiting!!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank deebee1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews