We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful view”
other travellers have booked this property
Neuschwanstein Castle/lake & Alpine surroundings
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Neuschwanstein Castle/lake & Alpine surroundings
Living area ground floor apartment
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Neuschwanstein Castle/lake & Alpine surroundings
Living area ground floor apartment
Bedroom top floor apartment
Dream kitchen ground floor apartment
Ground floor apartment
Bathroom 2 with walk-in shower Birkeneck 2 (1st floor)
Large sun deck
Sunny dining area top floor apartment
Living room first floor apartment
marvelous cycling around the lakes
Living area top floor apartment
Hiking Tegelberg Schwangau
Dining area ground floor
Large sun deck on ground floor
Bathroom ground floor apartment
New Kitchen First Floor
Bathroom top floor apartment
Glorious sunny winter days
Winter wonderland for walking/hiking
Bedroom 1 (of 2) first floor apartment
Bedroom 1 (of 2) first floor apartment
Lake Alpsee
Bedroom 2 (of 2) first floor apartment
View to mountains opposite side
Skiing
First snow on castle Neuschwanstein
Birkeneck Luxury Holiday Apartments
Bathroom 1 with shower&bath tub Birkeneck 2 (first floor)
Bedroom Birkeneck 3 (ground floor)
Wellness massage chair bedroom Birkeneck 3 (ground floor)
our area: mountains, lakes and castles
castle Neuschwanstein
Neuschwanstein Castle and lake/alpine surrounding
Birkeneck Luxury Holiday Apartments
lovely lakes for sailing, bathing, enjoying the panoramic views
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Schwangau, Upper Bavaria, Bavaria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
KateBen21
Tring, Herts, UK
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We booked this property as it said there was a view of Neuschwanstein Castle. It wasn't just a view it was an amazing view. We had the apartment on the top floor and the balcony directly faced the Castle and mountains. Sun, cloud or lightening storm, with forks coming down over the Castle, the view was just stunning.

The rest of the facilities were brilliant and access to the restaurants, supermarket and Kristal Therme was so convenient. We hired bikes from the local shop Todos for 4 days and rarely used the car – easy to cycle to the town, Castles, Fussen and other lakes.

Bedding was a bit soft for me, but none the less all very cosy and comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Can't think of anything we didn't like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Winter Wonderland in Luxury!! ”
Reviewed 10 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Just back from an amazing stay in Birkeneck Haus a gem of a place!!! It's everything it say on the tin, it was beautiful and very comfortable for two adults and two small kids. It was no distance from all the wonderful sights and activities in the area. Will definitely be back to explore the area in the summer months and hope that Birkeneck will be available for another amazing family holiday!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie-No...
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“The perfect mix for walking and relaxing!”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Oh we had such a fantastic time! We couldn’t have drawn a more perfect picture of both the apartment, the view, and the lovely setting of Schwangau. We stayed in the top floor apartment. It also comes with parking :) And cows to wake you up in the morning!!!!
All of Cornelia's help was much appreciated, and we went on 2 of the walks they suggested – including twice to Fussen actually. We loved it there.
The apartment itself was flawless – the bathroom was great and the shower was incredible. Everything worked perfectly, and we enjoyed cooking in, and sitting outside on the balcony enjoying the breathtaking view, or snuggling up in the evening and relaxing to a DVD. It’s a super place to stay really, whether you are a couple, friends, or a small family!
Thank you so much for your help Cornelia, and for letting us stay at Birkeneck – I will definitely be recommending both the apartment and Schwangau itself to all my friends and family.
Have a lovely day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Unknown10...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We have just returned from the most wonderful stay in these apartments.We travelled in a group of young, active adults with a small baby. The accommodation was everything we could have wished for and more. It was spotlessly clean, very spacious and comfortable and left us wanting for nothing. The location was ideal and we thoroughly enjoyed exploring the castles and lakes without even having to get in our car. Cycling along the immaculate cycle paths which leave from the front door was a highlight! We rented bicycles (with a baby trailer) from the local bike store.

Thank you very much for your wonderful hospitality. We would love to return again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunsoaker...
newcastle
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fabulous second stay”
Reviewed 15 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We have just returned from our second stay at Birkeneck and have once again had a fabulous time! The apartment really does have everything you could need for a relaxing family holiday. The bedroom has a lovely comfortable 4 poster bed and there is plenty of wardrobe space. There is also a massage chair which is great when returning from a busy day out.
The kitchen has everything you could need and it was a pleasure to cook in! The living area was great for relaxing and there was a TV/dvd which was great when you just want to have a night in. The views from the apartment are just fabulous, and you get lovely views of both of the castles. There is also a patio area right outside with tables and chairs . Lovely for enjoying breakfast outside with castle views.
There really is so much to enjoy in the area. There are several local bike shops which are great for getting around. The trails around the lakes start from right on your doorstep. There is also the Crystal therme close by which has indoor and outdoor heated pools.
I would certainly recommend Birkeneck for a family holiday. The manager Cornelia was also very helpful and gave us lots of tips on where to eat and places to visit. We are already planning to go back next October.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views from apartment
Liked least: having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing