We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
57
28
12
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
28
12
5
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2016

The bedrooms were kept very clean and, particularly in the newer annexe, were of a good size with nice balcony and powerful shower. Dinner was not the feasts we have become accustomed to in Swiss and Austrian hotels. There were 4, sometimes 3, average-sized courses and no salad buffet. The quality was generally good - there was always a fish option - and the meals satisfied the appetite without leaving one feeling bloated. Breakfast was adequate but would have benefited from more variety. There is a child's menu which our 9 and 12 year olds had to choose from. This included good quality spaghetti bolognese, sausage and chips, schnitzel and chips etc. but unfortunately without vegetables. We were very surprised that the child's menu doesn't include a dessert, which I felt was not welcoming for the children. The location of the hotel is a little stuck out and it's not as quiet as one might expect because it fronts a main, albeit not busy, road (request a room overlooking the garden at the rear if you wish to avoid traffic noise). After a few days doing the scenic 20 minute walk to and from the village we started to make use of the free village bus which we found very handy. It's not frequent but we found we could plan our days around the timings quite well. The staff were helpful and efficient, and readily met our request for bedrooms next to each other after having originally been allocated rooms at opposite ends of the hotel. This is a small hotel with no lounge or bar area so is not suitable for those who like to have a livelier atmosphere, however it suited us fine.

Room tip: Rooms overlooking the garden at the rear are quieter in terms of road noise. There is poor sound insulation between the bedrooms.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 415Reb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016

We have had one of the best holidays ever, and the Landhotel Maiergschwendt was the main reason why. The staff, especially Evelyn, Angela and Helga in the restaurant, were brilliant, friendly, attentive and helpful in every way. They may not have a late bar, but that did not detract from the holiday experience. The food was delicious and varied, the room was comfortable and clean, and we can't rate this hotel highly enough!

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Just returned from a 1 week family trip in the Bavarian Alps at Landhotel Maiergschwendt, we had a great time! The location of this hotel is great if you are looking for a quite place to recharge.

What we liked: location again, views are fantastic, walking into Ruhpolding is a pleasure if the weather is fair. Lots of things to do near Ruhpolding. If the weather is not great you can visit Vita Alpina, free of charge with your travel card issued by the hotel reception.

Delta: Be prepared for a cultural shock, especially if you are unlucky enough to deal with the chap at the reception. He is indeed quite rude and his customer manners are almost non existent. Hotel is dated, a bit dirty but close enough to a 3 star. as rated. Food is ok, we were on half board basis and the of consommes put me off the stuff for the rest of my life. One annoying and disgusting this were the number of flies in the restaurant from breakfast to dinner. They are everywhere, in your salad and on your salami etc.
Also, if you are travelling with children transport to and from this hotel could be a problem especially in bad weather when you can't really take your kids in the rain for a 25 min walk without getting soaked. Buses are rare and if you're stuck in the hotel there is nothing to do except playing with some 19 century German toys or going for a mandatory naked bavarian sauna. Taxi costs around 8 eur one way.

Richard, the Thomson rep was very helpful and he is there for you in case you need him.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank opus75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016

This hotel must have changed a lot,as there is now no bar or cafe. You cannot get anything to drink from 9 pm until 8 am when the breakfast starts to be service. It is a long walk in the evening to get a drink in the village. We came to this hotel after reading good reviews,same there now not up to date.

Room tip: No 1 room as good view and lots of room
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 452jame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2016

The Landhotel Maiergschwendt was a well run hotel with lovely friendly staff and a very good cook who all spoke good English. Breakfast was continental style with a good selection of meats, cheese, cereals, breads, fruit, yogurts and also a small hot buffet. Evening meal was four course, salad, soup, two choices of main course or vegetarian option and a dessert.
The location of hotel was a 20 to 30 minute walk into town but set in beautiful countryside with stunning views of the mountains from our room balcony.Our room was clean and adequate, only thing missing was a kettle and fridge. The hotel also had a great sauna area.
There were lots of well sign posted walks to suit all levels and near by chair lift to top of Unternberg and cable car to top of Rauschenberg .
A bus called The Mozart Express goes to Salzburg Mon to Friday and only costs 5euros. The train station is also very handy and we went to Munich on two separate days.
We were here for two weeks and could easily have stayed longer. Wonderful holiday and would highly recommend it.

Room tip: there are no lifts in the hotel. We were in room 10, top floor with stunning views
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews