We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
95
49
9
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
49
9
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews charming hotel lake constance steep hill sleep quality hotel baeren the chef owner beds were comfortable a lovely stay traditional german style small town room was large car ferry perfect location breakfast room no elevator garage gasthof
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed for a 2 night break last week on our way down to the Italian Dolomites. Meersburg is a pretty little town on Lake Constance, well worth a visit. The Gasthof is perfectly situated in the centre so everything is within walking distance. It benefits from an offsite secure car park which has to be pre-booked and is very reasonably priced.

The Gasthof is very traditional, the food is plentiful and very good and the staff friendly. Our room was large and clean and the bathroom very modern (bearing in mind the age of the hotel).

We would definitely recommend a visit to Meersburg and the Gasthof Zum Baren!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank tracyc59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

We had a lovely stay, dinner and wonderful breakfast at the Hotel Baren. We arrived late after a terrible traffic issue and detour. They could not have been nicer, making sure we had a lovely dinner even though the restaurant was about to close. The room was in the tower and very quaint and spacious with a little table & chairs in the alcove. Breakfast in the cozy dining room was delicious. Talked with the chef/owner and got stories about the history of the building and ownership. Meersburg is such a cute little town and well worth a stay.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank LAN2404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

Great room. Very friendly reception. The rooms are all decorated differently. The building was built in the 600s so... no elevator. But the eclectic sense of the are and hotel definitely make up for that small inconvenience. The dining room is very small and homey

Stayed: May 2017
2  Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2016

We come every autumn to Meersburg and never fail to eat in the cosy dining room of the Gasthof zum Baren. This year we ate here twice, with favourite dishes of Schnitzel, farmers' omelette, Rinder- and Schweinegeschnetzeltes. The side salads are the best we have ever had - great variety and with such a tasty dressing. The atmosphere is very homely, and one often sits at a big table with other guests, which leads to interesting conversations. Nice choice of local wines. The staff are friendly and recognise us from year to year.

Room Tip: Didn't stay here - but it has a great restaurant.
Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
3  Thank TheNoseyBears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

We stumbled into lovely Meersburg, Germany, without knowing how delightful it'd be, and found this small hotel right in the car-free center of town. We enjoyed our room above the cobbled street, the breakfasts (included), and the town's location on Lake Constance. Meersburg is accessible by public transportation: Take a train to Konstanz (easy from Zurich), then catch the bus just outside the train station which takes you to the ferry crossing to Meersburg. It's easy. Ask about alternate ways to get from the ferry to the hotel. We walked, which took about 15 minutes, but a bus will get you closer or you can get a taxi. If you enjoy a longer walk, try the route beyond the ferry to the archaeological site where ancient floating lake houses have been reconstructed. You might also choose to stay in Meersburg, like we did, before starting a multi-day hike on the Via Rhenana.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews