We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
8
11
8
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
11
8
3
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Large and clean rooms, recently renovated with excellent mountain views. Comfortable beds. Good restaurant but service was very stressed. Restaurant opening hours should be extended. Nice, home-made breakfast. Sympathetic staff. Wifi only accessible in common areas which is not OK. The place is reviewed at Tripadvisor under different names which is quite confusing.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eagle_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This Gasthof was about a 10 minute drive to town, not within walking distance. The food was very good, they give you breakfast, jams were delicious, Dinner is served until 8 pm, and is very good. No elevator to rooms, though. Our shower door was strange, it was only attached to the tub at the bottom and folded over. I have never seen anything like that before. Overall a good value for the money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C_D_M06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Really liked this little Gasthof. It is a few minutes by car or bus from the Koenigsee and perhaps 15 minutes by car to the bus stop for the Eagle's Nest/ Kehlsteinhaus. Rooms were clean and decidedly "European" (simple). Restroom was clean and relatively new. Didn't care for the toilet room seperate from shower and sink but not a big problem. Nice big balcony overlooking biergarten and beyond that, the beautiful Berchtesgaden Alps. The Restaurant downstairs closes a bit early for my taste, but on the flip side, it keeps the garden quiet for those trying to head to bed early. All-in-all a great budget hotel for a couple on a budget or a solo traveler. Owner very polite and kind. Nice area to take a walk in and enjoy the countryside as well, but the walk into Berchtesgaden or from the Berchtesgaden train station would take a while.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony facing the mountains. Not sure all rooms have this.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrVarmint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We, I & my husband, rested in Berstersgaden Land not for the first time. Therefore, we choosed a hotel, considering the purpose of our trip - almost everyday hiking & relax in the evening in Watzmann Therme. For this purpose, the hotel's location is ideal.

The fact that the hotel has its own restaurant with established traditions attracted us also. But, unfortunately, the kitchen of the restaurant stopped work at 08:30 pm and we rarely have time to eat even a light dinner. We had to go down to the center of town for something to eat. It turned out that this is a feature not only of our guesthouse. The fact that our hotel has a restaurant, we learned early in the morning by the smell - room overlooks the back garden of the restaurant ......

As we were leaving for the whole day to the mountains, it was necessary to bring a small lunch (a couple of sandwiches, coffee, apples). We asked to fill our thermos with coffee at breakfast, surprising the staff very much. Hotel offer lunch for travel at entirely godless price - 7 Euros. If had a couple of small sandwiches for 2-3 euro, it could be taken. Or, as an alternative - a refrigerator with snacks and drinks for an additional fee in an accessible hotel room, as it is done in other guest houses.

Thus, the most significant shortcomings: the restaurant closes too early, at the same time, his presence is easy to guess by the smell, lunch for the traveler too expensive. It should be added that a couple of times we the towels were not changed, although we regularly follow the advice to protect the environment and asked to change the towels only once in 2-3 days. TV is too small for the size of rooms, but we certainly do not arrived to watch TV .... And more – HRS.com when booking wrote about a free bottle of mineral water. But we have not seen at check-in. Unfortunately, HRS does not ask for feedback after the stay at the hotel.

If we ignore the backyard of the restaurant, the view from our window was gorgeous - right on Kehlstein. It should be noted the hostess of the reception - a very nice, friendly woman. Overall the impression after stay at Kohlhaas Gasthof remained good!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natsap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2008

Not one of our more memorable experiences...Staff was non existent and unaccomadating. Room was freshly renovated, clean and a nice bathroom.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ThreeAREwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews