We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
7
4
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
4
0
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 12 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2017

I have stayed one night at Hotel - Pension Alpenstern with my parents, and we were very upset with their service.

Comments:

1.i have sent twice inquiries about the price of extra bed to them, as we booked one night for 3 people. It seems to be possible acc. to house rules, but I never received any feedback.

2. we arrived at shortly before 7pm. We had a long and exhausting 4-hour drive journey from Schwagau to get there. The last thing that we would like to hear is the complaint: acc. to Germany hotel rules, we should have arrived before 6.30pm. The lady at the reception was very unfriendly, and i tried to argue with her that I have NEVER heard of such rules since 10 years living in Germany, and nothing was stated at booking.com. She responded: good for you to live so long in Germany, but you should have arrived at latest 6.30pm. In the last hotel that I have stayed at Schwagau, I overheard that the reception was calling the late-arriving guest at 9pm, informing them that the reception closes at 10pm. In the pension Alepnstern, we didn't even hear anything back about the price inquiry (ref. to point 1) ...

3. here comes the payment: at the reception it says : we only accepts Germany EC card. When I took mine out, she insisted that they only accept cash. I would doubt some tax avoidance issue? Luckily after insisting on this topic, she let me pay with EC, but was moaning there. Also she walked away a couple of times while doing the check-in, just because she needed to bring beers to the restaurant guests.

4. Also we did not receive any guest card for hotel guests. Next morning we went to Koenigsee, and for parking and the tickets, we paid more than having a guestcard.

My parents come all the way from China, and they like Germany a lot as they think Germans are very polite and friendly. They also got very upset after I translate all what have happened to them.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank YingqiS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016

We stayed for a week at Alpenstern. Booking of the hotel and correspondence with the hotel was very smooth.

The hosts are very friendly and will do everything for you to have a nice stay.

The rooms are nice - and as in most places in Bayern "rustique". Good beds. The breakfast and dinner is in the hotel first floor with the other guests - a good way to meet other people and get tips on places to go. We were there for skiing and got some good tips on where to head with the kids.

There is also a little bar, where the parents can have a beer (or two :-)).

I would recommend this place both when travelling as couples or with children.

Room Tip: Standard double or single rooms. There is also one appartment.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jens T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2016

The location and setting was idyllic, the Berchtesgaden is a beautiful part of the world. Our balcony overlooked fields and mountains, and was just off the road so was very quiet. The staff were friendly and spoke English.
There is onsite parking, and the hotel is a very short drive from a few nice pubs and restaurants. We only took breakfast here, which was pretty standard. There was enough choice, as it was included in the price we couldn't quibble.
The downside is it's location can make it a bit difficult to find as it's down a short single track, and they only accepted cash - no card facilities.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timgoesonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We were referred to the Alpenstern by the tourist office in Berchtesgaden, and it was a great recommendation. We very much enjoyed our 2 days there, and would have stayed longer, but the B&B was booked for the weekend. Our room had a balcony with a lovely view over the Bavarian Alps and was very clean, comfortable, and quiet. The owners are friendly and speak English. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews