We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Nice little hike

This is a very cute hike that goes along with a story. We didn't follow the story, but I recommend... read more

Reviewed 28 August 2018
msmoothie6
,
Tel Aviv, Israel
Loved it

Had an amazing hour or two with our 2 1/2 year old following the trail and reading the little story... read more

Reviewed 8 August 2018
littleprettyhelen
,
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 65 reviews
  
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
43
17
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
17
3
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 65 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

Had an amazing hour or two with our 2 1/2 year old following the trail and reading the little story searching for Anthony the capercaillie.

Our little girl, who had been moaning about walking and wanting to be carried up until the second we stepped in the woods, then walked the whole way round singing “Anthony, where are you?” She really engaged with the story and loved finding the scenes and little houses.

Although the story is perfect for young children, they do need to be steady on their feet and able to follow the story with a good 5-10 mins in between “scenes”. You can’t take a pushchair as the path includes a mixture of rough ground, planks and stepping stones to walk along and tree root steps. Apparently you can hire a baby carrier from the Haus der Nature.

I had downloaded the story in English on my phone, but there was also a laminated folder with all of the translations which we found at the start and took with us. It was missing the last couple of pages though, so I was glad I’d downloaded it first.

The start of the trail is a little tricky to find. We asked at the Haus der Nature and followed their directions, but still weren’t sure until we got to the start. You have to go behind the big hotel, follow it round past the high ropes course and up a hill. There are German signs directing you.

The 1.8km trail ends at a lovely play area which was a nice welcome treat and the perfect spot for a drink after our long walk.

Overall we had a fantastic time and our little girl is still talking about how we found Anthony. A great part of our holiday (and free!)

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank littleprettyhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018 via mobile

6 year old and 2 year old both really excited and happy to complete the whole walk. Difficult for a stroller to get around but whole thing takes around an hour.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank clartkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016

A great option of walking by the forest and read a story. The kids liked the story and the activities by every chapter. You feel the foest in a different way.

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank yarivitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

Easy walk .. Should be prepared with the story translate for the kids to fully get into it. Great way to spend an afternoon

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Maayan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

The path is very nice with forest fruts along the way. The story is in german but you can ask for an english translation

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank shamashk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews