We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,541)
Filter reviews
1,541 results
Traveller rating
833
412
172
79
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
833
412
172
79
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews micro brewery afternoon tea eden room stables bar classic room period furniture open air museum sandwiches visited beamish premier room stable restaurant stately home brewery tour real ale wedding venue evening meal beautiful building
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 1,541 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2018

Very small room. Bed was at best a Queen size, not a double and mattress was soggy and lumpy. Dinner in the Stables restaurant was very poor value and quality and staff just stood around talking. Good choice at breakfast but we were kept waiting over 30 minutes, even though the room was nearly empty, and then they brought the wrong order! Not impressed!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank bluegirl398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for my friend's wedding day. The surroundings were absolutely stunning. The wedding went really well and credit to the staff for making the day as special as they can for the bride and groom and all the guests. I'd definitely recommend this place if you ever want a nice venue for your wedding. The catering was spot on and all the staff were helpful and friendly.
My low point has to be the hotel room itself. We stayed in the family room as we took our 1 year old son. The bath with the jacuzzi facilities was a particular highlight and nice touch. The taps in the bathroom were loose. We had to scan the room looking for the kettle and found it eventually in the wardrobe. The rooms are very hot and the windows are old fashioned so only open slightly but you are provided with a fan which again was in the wardrobe. A lot of attention to detail still needs to be done with the cleaning as I found an awful lot of dust on top of the wardrobe.
All in all we had a very good day and I would definitely look forward to coming back. Special mention has to be made to the staff at breakfast time. Not only was the breakfast delicious and there was so much choice to have. They were also very very good with our 1 year old son and they interacted with him a lot which was a nice touch.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank dezertbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

Attended Beamish Hall for a family wedding, first impressions when you turn into drive, impressive, but there are no designated blue badge parking bays and as the hotel was very we had to park in a secondary car park which isn’t much further than the main part but when you have a mobility disability any extra is a struggle. I went to check in and when the receptionist saw I was using two walking sticks changed the room we were allocated to a closer room for easier access without being asked, 10/10 for that, the wedding breakfast was nice, food was hot reasonably well presented my only criticism was the soup, it was lacking in both flavour and seasoning. The bedroom was easily accessible, reasonably well appointed, no view from the window apart from a brick wall, window wouldn’t open but there was a large floor standing fan available but that just circulated the air in the room doesn’t give you fresh air, I feel Best Western needs to look at the basics like think of peoples needs a bit more, simple things such as easier access to parts of Hotel such as restaurant

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank cheffee9491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

We stayed a couple of nights here and were very impressed with the service provided by friendly staff. Rooms are in keeping with the building and, as a result, guests should not expect Scandinavian style furniture, etc. They are however, very comfortable. Breakfasts choices are extensive and the food is excellent. we would have no qualms about revisiting in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm-scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018

We stayed here for two nights and it was most enjoyable.
Our room was facing South - South East, it was very spaceous with a contempary bathroom. Althoug the room was warm mind you that you can always open a window or use the fan in the closet.
Breakfast is delicious and more then enough, we had breakfast at the stage facing West - North West view splendid views overlooking the garden.
Staff is extreemly helpfull in any way they can, I want to make a shout out to one of the members but can't remember the name. This young lady was extreemly helpful during our breakfast on Thursdaymorning the 26th of July, we felt treated like a duke and duchess.

The hotel is close to Beamish mining museum, there are plenty activities that can be done on the hotel grounds or should I say estate grounds. Further there's Durham, Newcastle and ofcourse the lovely countryside.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Huurman1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews