We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,531)
Filter reviews
1,531 results
Traveller rating
831
407
170
79
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
831
407
170
79
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews micro brewery afternoon tea eden room stables bar classic room period furniture open air museum sandwiches visited beamish premier room stable restaurant stately home brewery tour real ale wedding venue beautiful building evening meal
Filter
Updating list...
410 - 415 of 1,531 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Stayed here for 4 nights, which enabled us to explore the area, but enjoy a superb room as well as good food in The Stables Restaurant, which is part of the setup.
An interesting mixture of a country house hotel using a less formal and different sort of dining experience within the same location. Initially I was surprised, but the restaurant excelled itself in its own less formal style & was clearly a favourite of locals.
The hotel was very comfortable and the Eden lounge was a nice quiet, comfortable place to sit & read.
Breakfast was within the hotel itself, unlike the other meals, in the Eden restaurant, which was perfect with its traditional settings, nice views across the grounds. The staff were first class with a high level of service given on each occasion. We really enjoyed the range of superbly cooked food.
Our stay was very memorable for all the right reasons.
Magnificent

Room Tip: We had room 101, which was a huge executive room overlooking the front grounds
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graham r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beamish1, General Manager at Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2016

Dear graham r,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent 4 night stay and for the five star rating. It was areal pleasure to read your review and so satisfying that you enjoyed the hotel facilities, service and food. The Stables has proved to be very popular with hotel guests and local residents alike and is set up to be more relaxed and less formal than the services within the hotel. I am pleased that you appreciated these differences and will pass on you kind comments to the team. I do hope we are able to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Chris Comerford.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Beamish1, General Manager at Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

Very nice Victorian style Hotel, located on huge green garden, quite and relax enviroment.
Friendly staff, the rooms are very nice decorated.
The English Breakfast was exellent !!
We had also the Afternoon tea that was very good !!

Things for improvement; the beds little small, for those without car would be nice to have an Hotel pick up.

The Pub behind the Hotel nice and friendly.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Shimon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beamish1, General Manager at Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2016

Dear Shimon B,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and for the five star rating. I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit and in particular the grounds, service, Stables and breakfast. I will discuss your suggestions with the management team and hope that we are able to welcome you back should the opportunity arise.

Kind regards,
Chris Comerford.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

Came here for my husband s works party . Our room was lovely full of old charm and character. Our venue was in the winter gardens room the food and service were lovely. Breakfast the next day was again faultless. The grounds are idyllic very picturesque. We have been here about 6 times staying over and we love it each time . We have also done the afternoon tea on a separate occasion and that was a truly delightful experience. Can t wait for our return visit again .

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank dornafield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beamish1, General Manager at Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2016

Dear dornafield,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and for the five star rating. It was great to read that you continue to enjoy your visits and we continue to meet your expectations in all areas. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Chris Comerford.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016

We had room 219, which had lots of great things such as massive room, view of the courtyard, quiet end of the hotel. Only issue we had the journey from reception to the room. This is an old hotel, lots of stairs going up and then down, corridors galore and one lift which I'm not convinced adds any value.
We ate in the restaurant and the food was delicious, the staff were very friendly and the atmosphere was relaxed.
The grounds are lovely and there was a bonus, a mini "go-ape" area for the kids - zip-wire and screams.

Room Tip: room 219 if you manage the walk
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jaceLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beamish1, General Manager at Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2016

Dear jaceLondon,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. It was good to read that you enjoyed your visit and in particular the Stables restaurant and the children's play area. I do hope that we are able to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Chris Comerford.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews