We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (787)
Filter reviews
787 results
Traveller rating
388
261
86
38
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
388
261
86
38
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool private beach sea view the bus il paguro salt water half board mins from the airport wonderful hotel kept spotless pasta set menu peace and quiet no lift friendly hotel alghero town hotel guests
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 787 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2016

The room was perfect, clean and nice space : a sea view room is well worth it! The breakfast & bar places are well organized and the staff are very friendly & helpfull. The pool was cleaned every day and we have to say it is probably one of the cleanest hotels we have stayed in and we do a lot of travelling. It is only 10 minutes from the airport so absolutely ideal for a quick week away. it is very quiet with stunning views, if you are looking for somewhere to get away from the maddening crowd then this is it! You are a bit limited on where to eat but that didn't bother us as the restaurant provided the most excellent menu and food, from the local caught fish to Italian pasta. The wine choice was good and the bar was well stocked. The staff spoke good english, and were always willing to help. Overall can't fault any thing and can't wait to go back!!

Room tip: Go for the Sea view
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buzzybees16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNAlghero, Reception at Hotel Punta Negra, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2016

Dear Buzzybees16, we thank you for choosing Hotel Punta Negra for your recent stay.
We are glad that you can not wait to come back to our hotel. It is really important for us that our guests spend a lovely and happy stay; our efforts in improving the facilities we offer at the hotel are focused on the guests satisfaction.
We hope to welcome you again next year.
Our best regards,
Paola and Hotel Punta Negra staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

This hotel has some amazing ocean views. None more than when you watch the sun set over Alghero.

Our room appeared some what modern but for a family room we would have expected to see a bathtub in the bathroom like what many other family hotels offer in a room of 40sqm.

Room service was prompt and staff were very helpful and dedicated. We couldn't understand why we couldn't have a meal in the terrace area under the umbrellas though, and were actually told to move.

Our room was located on the Fertilia side, on the top floor, it had been two rooms in former times now converted into one large room - so the plan on the back of the room door showed . One side was over the rear entrance of the hotel kitchen and close to the main road. If you like to have the window open at night you can forget that thought. As for comments from another reviewer, I agree you step outside on to the tiny balcony(sea view) and see a moun of dead seaweed. Yes we had the smell too, for half the stay. However looking the other way and the views were breath taking.

The pools were amazing and the whole area was well kept and picturesque, particularly the view from the infinity pool.

As for value, we stayed 10 days and were offered a discount for upfront payment. Still we thought, after staying there it was on the higher side compared to quality of some other family/hotels we'd stayed. For what we paid inclusive of breakfast we could have stayed with full board else where.

Not sure if you could say this is a family hotel. Staff were great with our children but there wasn't really that much for young children to do there, even though we were informed by writing that from July there was. There's not even a playground! Our decision to book this hotel was based on ability of having children activity readily available. In the end we took them to a play ground in Fertilia and got on a bus to visit the adventure parks.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank frankd765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2016

The room was perfect, clean and nice space : take a sea view, worth it ! The breakfast & bar places are well organized and staff friendly.
The swimming pool very large and clean and great spot on the sea.
Negative : the beach under the hotel, filthy and close to the garbage.
The hotel is close to Alghero (5mn car) but very few buses available and taxis take a long time to come... If you have a car it is best, or a bike ! Or hitchhike !
You will enjoy being out of Alghero at night, the view is amazing on the city from the hotel. Also go and discover the little Fertilia city next to the hotel.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FabParis75010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNAlghero, Reception at Hotel Punta Negra, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

Dear Fabsofab75010,
we thank you for reviewing our hotel Punta Negra. We are glad that you found our staff friendly and breakfast and bar places well organized. It is very important for us that our guests feel comfortable during their stay relaxing at the pool and on the beach. Our staff takes care about the cleanliness of the common areas and of the beach. We are sorry that you had the impression that the hotel beach was filthy; maybe you consider sea weed as garbage which is not. Sea weed is really important for the ecosystem; in fact it grows in a very clean and healthy water. In Sardinia there are strict laws regarding the removal of sea weed; removing sea weed means removing sand too, destroying this way the echosystem.
That is the reason why our staff pays attention removing sea weed. Hotel Punta Negra was officially recognized the "Environmental High Quality Brand" of the Regional Park of Porto Conte because its environmental, social and economic quality reached over the years.
We hope you share our "environmental philosophy" and we will be glad to wwelcome you again.
Paola and Hotel Punta Negra staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016

Happy to recommend this hotel - excellent facilities, reasonable prices and very helpful and attentive staff. The smell from the beach can be a bit rough but it's no worse than anything you might experience at a hot spring. The staff work hard to clear the beach every morning and place the seaweed on the bank to the far left of the hotel. Once dried it doesn't smell of anything and so please don't image a steaming rubbish dump of rotting vegetation. We had a sea view balcony and whilst there was an odour occasionally, the trade was a fine fine view across to Alghero made even better with the beautiful full moon. The pool is excellent - plenty of loungers and towels. The real win for me was the staff who clearly enjoyed their jobs and were always willing to help or assist.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spacemanfunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNAlghero, Reception at Hotel Punta Negra, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2016

Dear Spacemanfunk, thank you so much for your kind review.
We are glad that your stay was lovely at Hotel Punta Negra and that you are very happy with the staff. We are glad to assist and help our guests to make their holiday as pleasant as possible. Concerning the sea weed, the posidonia oceanica is an aquatic plant which grows in a very clean and clear sea. Every day our staff is busy in cleaning the beach and remove the sea weed. Our guests can enjoy the beautiful sight on Alghero town (a few km away from the hotel) lying on the beach or at the swimming pool just relaxing.
We hope to welcome you again. Our best regards.
Paola and Hotel Punta Negra staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

everything is super in this hotel but the beach is not useful because of the smell of the marine herbs
half of the beach is public
water is very cold
the personal is trying to clean the beach of herbs but without big results

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank petrescucristi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews