We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sunset Cottage

Sunset Cottage awaits your arrival....
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunset Cottage awaits your arrival....
Relax in the lovely garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Sunset Cottage awaits your arrival....
Relax in the lovely garden
A very well-equipped kitchen
The beautiful, open aspect garden - perfect for watching the sunset
Your hosts - Pat & Ian
Mont St.Michel at night......
One of the beaches at St.Malo
A beautiful Brittany beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Mont-Saint-Michel, Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Maartje M
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best!”
Reviewed 4 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We stayed here for a week at the end of the summer season, and despite the weather, had a wonderful time, both through staying in this very comfortable cottage and exploring the local area. Very conveniently situated for day trips to Mont St Michel (of course), but also historic towns such as Dol de Bretagne, St Malo, Dinan, Fougeres -all within easy driving distance about an hour or less. We would pack up lunch, borrow their flask, pick up the bucket and spade (they had everything!) call in at the boulangerie in nearby Beauvoir or Pontorson for the daily baguette and off we'd go. It was very helpful to have a welcome pack on arrival after our long drive with small child , with some basics so we didn't have to go out again. Pat and Ian were very friendly and helpful always.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the cottage and its convenient location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanne M
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Little bit of heaven..”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Just back from 2 glorious weeks at Sunset Cottage. I would have no hesitations in returning to or recommending this property to friends & family. Very comfortable, spotless and very well equipped Gite in a stunning setting. Its not called sunset cottage for nothing!
Pat and Ian are excellent hosts full of tips for your stay. Nothing is too much trouble. The are incredibly accommodating to young children which I really appreciated.
There is loads of local information in the Gite - supermarkets/restaurants- local beaches - nearby towns and all the must see attractions of Normandy.Would definitely return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful setting and Pat and Ian were very helpful hosts
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groupy
Somerset
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 9 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Sunset Cottage was a wonderful find. Friendly owners but they didn't intrude. The cottage is spotlessly clean and well furnished. The kitchen had everything one could ask for in the way of equipment. The beds were comfortable and we really felt at home here.

The area is quiet and peaceful with stunning views and interesting towns and villages. We had one of our best holidays at Sunset Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage was so comfortable
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate S
Brechin, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place for a lovely family holiday”
Reviewed 25 July 2012 for a stay in May 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at sunset cottage for two weeks at the end of May and the begining of June 2012. The cottage was lovely, well laid out and very comfy indeed. The children loved the garden to run around in. Pat and Ian were great and nothing was too much trouble. They were very informative and helped us out when ever we had any queries. The house is in a great location, with lovely views from the garden and in easy reach of many interesting places. I am sure we will be back when the kids are older and take advantage of the flat roads and go cycling, especially to Le Mont Saint Micheal, which is literary just around the corner. Wonderful place and a wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet location
Liked least: No coffee maker?
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janzil
Cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent home comforts”
Reviewed 8 February 2012 for a stay in September 2010
1
person found this review helpful

We spent 2 weeks at the cottage and loved every minute of our stay.
The cottage provides all home comforts with lots of thoughtful touches, making it a very comfortable place to stay.
The bedrooms are wonderful and everything you could possibly need is provided for in the kitchen. The lounge area is tastefully decorated and has a beautiful fireplace (although we didn't need this during our stay)

The location is excellent for anyone wishing to sightsee throughout the area and is an ideal location for Le Mont St Michel, Rennes and Dinard. Try to visit Le Mont St Michel during the day and after dark for 2 very different sight-seeing experiences.

We travelled by ferry and drove from Calais, making the journey down part of the holiday. The travel directions provided by the owners were detailed, accurate and very easy to follow. The owners also provided an information pack detailing restaurants, local villages, best beaches etc. This was another thoughtful and welcome addition.

There is a supermarket, petrol station and restaurants in the nearby village and the whole holiday felt very much as though you were in the heart of France.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and home comforts
Liked least: Not enough time spent there. We both thoroughly enjoyed our visit and will definitely return
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing