We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Little Restaurant”
Review of Le Doyen

Le Doyen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 20 December 2017

Really tiny place, just off one of the main squares in Boulogne. Only a few covers and very busy as it was Friday night. Very nice decor. Don't be put off by the seemingly gruff waitress as some have been, after all this is France and we English do like to complain about them.
The menu is short, as it should be in a restaurant like this, but the food is absolutely wonderful. We both went for the filet boeuf. Cooked to perfection, with excellent accompaniments. Ditto for the wine, excellent quality and not overpriced.
Our best meal during a few days in and around Boulogne. As for the waitress, well try a little French, be friendly. We found we had a joint love of dogs. The lovely lady gave us a handful of doggy biscuits to take back for ours. Merci beaucoup Madam!

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank SteveR26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2017

We visited at lunchtime, and had an ok table,but the greeting was not very warm.
We were given plastic menus, without any explanation or description of the specials.
The female server was unfriendly,and looked grumpy as if she preferred to be elsewhere...
We waded through the menu, ourselves with our school French,and decided on the set menu.
Eventually we ordered starters and mains,and house wine.
The starters came out after a short wait piping hot, and were ok.
We were given dry white sliced bread,but no aioli,oils or butter.
The bread was pretty standard,and as we had no help with the menu decided not to ask for butter.
We waited then more than half an hour for 2 mains, which when arrived were the same except for a sauce, and not as described.[ now using google translate].
It was all tasteless, bland and soggy!!
The veg was on the plate, not in a bowl as we saw other diners had.We were given rice with the fish {?}....no choice of potatoes, just a cop out, but worst of all it was cold !
Cold food on cold plates..........no thank you.
Mine was sent back, it returned the same on a cold plate....soggy and bland.
No conversation from the server, no apology,no nothing...!!
We were a bit upset, it was a special occasion,and the reviews on here led us to believe this would be good / great ....it is over rated,and gets just 2 points only really for location.
We paid,[ too much], didn't / couldn't eat the food, and left hungry,without any bat of the eye of the server.!!

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Suzi197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

This place is very small and you feel a bit crowded. The lady waitress appears to be a bit miserable. I dont think we got the quality we expected for the price.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

I regularly read other people's reviews, especially those whose criticism seems far-fetched and unjust. It seems to reflect upon people's perceptions based upon what they eat at home.
We dined early, just after 7pm, there were four (English) diners already in situ. We were greeted by Madame and chose to sit at the window seat. I chose to start with chicken liver salad which was big enough for a main course. My wife chose the prawn and avocado salad which was equally delicious. Because my wife needs gluten-free food, Madame instantly produced rice crackers for her. We both chose fish mixed grill for our main course. It was a delight, perfectly cooked and presented. I chose a jug of the House white wine from the Ardeche which went very well with the food. Dessert and coffee followed, both as good as what had preceded it. Next time we are in Boulogne we will certainly return to le Doyen

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank Alec H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

As hadn’t booked, was slightly embarrassed to be placed upstairs in solitary splendour, but Mme unfussed. Excellent fish soup, with all the trimmings, followed by mixed fish grill – rather too much for me – and then beautifully presented plate of four sorbets. With kir, half bottle of Muscadet and a coffee, around €38: good value.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Traveller10071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Doyen also viewed

Boulogne-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
Boulogne-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
 
Boulogne-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
Boulogne-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
 
Boulogne-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
Boulogne-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to Le Doyen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing